We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at a reasonable price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Moon Grille - CLOSED

Marlin Moon Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Eat Drink Fish!! Is a perfect slogan for this fine casual dining spot. The cozy bar is lively with a cast of characters in front of and behind the bar, which was made to resemble the transom of a sport fishing boat, "The Pretty Work" from Islamorada, FL. The signature adult beverage is the Orange Crush. You gotta try one!! Food wise it's all about the Maryland Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, fresh local Mayport seafood with beef, pork and chicken options available. Marlin Moon Grille was the recipient of the 2009 People's Choice, Restaurant Association of Maryland's Favorite Restaurant Award before relocating to Jax Beach.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We found this restaurant on TripAdvisor as the #1 rated restaurant in Jacksonville Beach and it didn't disappoint.

If you are looking for quality seafood at a reasonable price this is your place. However, I will say that the cooking style has more of a Chesapeake flair than southern. Luckily, that's what we like.

We started with a special, a crab pretzel. I think this was a limited time thing but would advise them to add it to the permanent menu! What could be wrong with a soft pretzel topped with crab dip and cheese!

My wife had shirmp tacos which were excellent and I had the seafood special which consisted of a crab cake, fried mahi and shrimp. It was excellent as well. I just wish I hadn't eaten so much but it was so good I couldn't stop.

The kids menu is extremely reasonable. My 12 year old bottomless pit had a cheeseburger off of the kids menu and couldn't finish it and for $5 that's a bargain.

The beer selection was solid and the cocktails were inventive.

The place is a bit unassuming on the outside but the atmosphere, service and food were great. I would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks you dining with us and the great review. Bring your bottomless pit back anytime. I like to say our menu is eclectic, but you are right. Fine Eastern Sho' Casual Dining.

Stay Crabby!!
GBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had grilled shrimp, crab cake, vegetables and mashed potatoes with grilled corn. It was all very good. Our waitress, Samantha, was very nice and served us well. We will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chassc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are a Five Starr dive! Thanks for your review.

Best Fishes!
GBeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A party in my mouth"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The food is fresh, seasoned well, cooked properly and presented beautifully. Try the tuna tartar with seaweed salad and wasabi or the grilled shrimp. One of my friends at the table ordered the special, grouper, and loved it. The salad was large and fresh-none of that limp leaf sad lettuce in this bowl. Are waitress added to our experience by being friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The owner, Gary Beach was very busy helping out and overseeing every order. I was impressed with his attention to detail. A great meal for a great price and there was even live music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingerly95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks so much for the great review and dining with us.

Best Fishes!
Gary Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Best value for excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I cannot use too many superlatives for such a wonderfully prepared dinner. I had grilled shrimp with lightly sauteed (still crisp) fresh veg. and mashed garlic potatoes Delicious warm bread and very friendly service. The best surprise of the night was my bill - $17.00!! Location has live piano music (one couple danced) and a well stocked bar. We sat at the bar before and after dinner and enjoyed some delicious, refreshing cocktails. If you do nothing else in Jacksonville Beach, visit this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks so much for your awesome review and having dinner with us. Don Minaird plays again every Sunday. Thanks for being our guest.

Tight Lines!
Gbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We were at this restaurant tonight, thumbs up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

The food here was exceptionally good.

The service was perfect.

The cost was reasonable considering the quality of the restaurant.

FYI . It's a seafood restaurant but my son had the pastrami Reuben, it was as good as any I've ever had.

Helpful?
Thank Loonytuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marlinmoon, Owner at Marlin Moon Grille, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks that is really awesome. Thanks for being here and for the pick up. The pastrami is made with beef flats (belly) the same cut Carnegie deli uses in NYC. Thanks again!!!

Stay Crabby my Friend,
Gbeach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marlin Moon Grille also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing