We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a fantastic Marriott Courtyard, pristine, quiet and well managed with exceptional ocean views ! The hotel Manager, Alex is outstanding and very delightful. Accessible and friendly with guests. Alex went out of his way to make sure our visit met all expectations. We could not have been more pleased with the staff, professional and attentive. Maid service is prompt and rooms are in good condition. The ocean views are unbelievable and the beach access is only a few steps from the pool area. Beach is great for walking, running or riding bikes. Starbucks is on site and restaurant is very good. Property is well maintained and the value is excellent. We will absolutely return to this property. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mrs. P M

Thank you for the wonderful comments, I know all our staff is very dedicated to serving the guests and truly enjoy what they do. It was a pleasure to assist you with your reservation and I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely, Alex Reitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here 05/06/14. Right on the beach with lots of beachfront to walk and we took advantage of it. Loved all of the people and their pooches walking, playing and riding their bikes. We didn't want to drive anywhere for dinner and the concierge recommended a few places relatively close by. We walked over to Salt Life Food Shack, it has a laid back vibe but is a bit more upscale. Went back to the hotel and enjoyed a few beers around the outdoor fire pit. There was some sort of business event going on and we met some very nice people. Ate at the Metro Diner (featured on Diners, Driveins and Dives) the next day for lunch before heading out. The staff at the Courtyard was great - very friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4dpkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

It’s great to hear you enjoy the hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately, during this time of year due to demand our prices will be a little higher than the typical Courtyard by Marriott hotel but very competitive for hotels within the area. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you back in Jacksonville Beach.
Sincerely, Alex Reitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

So, I was in Jax Beach to visit my brother, sister in law, and four nephews. Also doing some recon for my mother for her winter visits. Opted to stay at a Hotel vs the family, mostly to mitigate the noisy nephews family life (all are great kids) Very concerned as I walked in on a full lobby-downstairs remodel. (will there be sleep) The front desk clerk read my face like a book, assured me that the work is during the day, and would have a quiet room for my stay. Fourth floor, partial view of the ocean, and very quiet. The pool was a bit small for me, and unless you are there early, or later, it was filled with kids, which made swimming a bit dicey. But, the pool area was very nice, as was the hot tub. Excellent beach access, but the ocean was choppy and cold (End March/Early April) Satellite bar at night had Don Julio Blanco and cold beers, so happy there. I had three different bartenders on different occasions give me great recommendations. So, in short, the staff was accommodating and kind, the service was very good, the rooms clean and for me, very quiet. I must have been away from the wedding party that was there, and it is so close to Neptune's Beach and residential, and the beach itself is great for walking or running. I look forward to see how the remodel went

Room Tip: My stay was impeccable on every level, from the room, to the location, to the service. I look forwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommaso A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Tommaso A, Thank you for the great comments about the hotel and recognizing we are a certified green hotel. This is something we really pride ourselves on. You may not have been aware but want to mention that we are a sea turtle friendly hotel as well.
We officially reopened the new lobby at the beginning of April and the comments have all been really positive.
Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really like it here, the views that over look the ocean are nothing short of stunning.

I have yet, and this was our second visit, to find a member of staff in the whole hotel who goes out of their way to make one feel welcome or goes that extra mile to ensure a memorable stay but on the other hand, no-one is rude.

Basically, expect a fantastic view and nothing extra and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardOcean, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront.

You indicated in your response that the staff was not extraordinary. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect place to vacation with the family or sneak away for a romantic weekend. The rooms are very clean and the staff were great. The Buffett breakfast was a nice surprise that we enjoyed. This resort is very close to shops and nice places to eat. We will be back next month!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFowler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear AFowler31, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We love the photo and look forward to seeing you next month. Thank you for your business and if I can ever be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.
Sincerely, Alex Reitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We are currently staying at the Courtyard and we have really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself is on the north end of the beach near a residential area so it's quieter but still fairly busy. We arrived on May 23rd around 1:00 PM and upon our arrival we were checked in very quickly and with no wait; Which was good because as the day progressed there was a line for check in. The parking lot has been crowded but that's to be expected on Memorial Day weekend. We were told that we could also park at the hotel across the street if we could not find parking. The hotel itself is nice. They have an updated lobby with a Starbucks counter and an interactive screen which shows you news, weather and POI in the area that allows you to print directions also. That's a nice feature for the techy crowd, which I belong too. There also a concierge service here. She's a very nice lady who recommended "the Seafood Company" for us to have dinner. While the food was tasty, the portions are very small and not worth what they charge in my opinion. There's direct access to the beach with a resort style pool, outside lounge area, and fire pit/torches which are lit nightly. I haven't sat on the outside deck near the pool but it's nice to see at night and has plenty of tables and space.

The only drawbacks I have at this particular time are these:
1. Our door does not have a floor seal on it. So light floods under the door at all times and anyone who walks by or sings or laughs or whatever can be heard very clearly and loudly which makes sleeping in or sleeping at all very difficult at times.
2. No complimentary breakfast which is not a deal breaker but desired nonetheless. They do offer food at the cafe/restaurant in the lobby however we have not purchased anything from there.
3. One major drawback is if you have an ocean view room, there is a section of the lower part of the building that the roof is painted a very bright teal, almost white. It reflects the sun very harshly towards the upper floors that make sitting on the balcony in the daytime almost impossible. It's blinding. A less reflective color would definitely be better where heat and light are concerned.

We're in room 434.

Room Tip: Anything ocean view. You can either stay over the pool or over the roof of the lower part of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Omar A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. I also do apologizes for the drawbacks you experienced while staying with us and appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve. I do want to let you know that we will begin renovating our rooms at the end of this year, at that time we will include addressing the door gaps. As for the exterior roof, this use to be a black roof but was painted an off white to conserve energy. We are currently scheduled to paint it within the year, at that time a difference color (less reflective color) will be considered. We strive to ensure that all of our customers truly enjoy our hotel and thank you for your business.
Thank you, Alex Reitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The property is lovely. The lobby, the beach and pool area are attractive and clean. The front desk staff, however, were neither helpful or welcoming. We were celebrating our anniversary and our daughter called from Ohio to request a celebratory wine and snack tray as a surprise. She was told that our reservation was cancelled. Of course she called me and questioned this. I had not cancelled the reservation so I called. I spoke with Ashley who was curt and would only say that the reservation was called by phone by "someone". I requested that the reservation be restored and she said she didn't do thus and I should go back on line and make another reservation if a room was available. I obviously pushed back and requested a manager. She put me on hold and came back in 60 seconds and told me the reservation was restored. When we checked in I asked about the possibility of an upgrade (note-not complimentary ) and was told "we just don't do that-you need to do that on line." I heard other guests make requests which we're not received we'll by the staff. The staff in the pool, bar, and restaurant were great. Very accomodating and great food and beverages.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank helenk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Helenk19,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. It’s great to hear the positive comments regarding the wait staff and food, especially since we just opened the Courtyard Bistro at the end of April. I am sorry for the mix up of your reservation and how it was handled by the front desk staff. While I am not exactly sure what happened, I believe you may have booked with a 3rd party site. This may have been why our staff informed you they were unable to adjust your reservation. If you would like to contact me at the hotel I would be more than happy to investigate further.

Thank you for your business.
Sincerely, Alex Reitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Beach/O...
#3 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,580 reviews
1.5 mi away
One Ocean Resort & Spa
One Ocean Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Atlantic Beach
1,099 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Beachfront
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonv...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Oceanfront
Best Western Oceanfront
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
855 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#1 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Beach
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#7 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront

Address: 1617 1st St N, Jacksonville Beach, FL 32250-7409 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront)
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville Beach
Price Range: £117 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront offers spacious and comfortable guest rooms for you to enjoy, along with the many amenities and proximity to Jacksonville Beach attractions. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel's location is just a half hour from downtown Jacksonville and minutes from some of the best shopping in the area. Jacksonville Beach, Florida is a great destination for business travelers and family vacationers. All types of guests can sit on their balcony and listen to the waves crash ashore, enjoy a meal in our oceanfront restaurant, or just take in the beauty of the place from our oceanfront patio. Gorgeous weather and beautiful scenery are some of the many magical things you can experience when you visit Jacksonville Beach, FL. Our Jacksonville Beach hotel is recognized by the State of Florida as a Green Lodging Property & Most Sea Turtle Eco-Friendly Hotel. Our spacious rooms perfectly integrate business conveniences with luxurious comfort - beachside! Our junior and executive suites have a large oceanfront private balcony and a separate sitting area offering panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. All rooms are non-smoking and have an LCD screen TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, and high-speed wireless Internet access. Enjoy a reasonably priced breakfast buffet with an ocean view. Relax in our oceanfront heated outdoor pool and our whirlpool with Tiki Bar. Our hotel is equipped with an exercise room that has cardiovascular equipment and free weights. East coast Sports Rental offers surfboards, skim boards, kayaks, bikes, beach chairs, and umbrellas to rent for a day of fun at the beach. Reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront Hotel Jacksonville Beach
Courtyard Jacksonville Beach Oceanfront
Jacksonville Beach Marriott
Jacksonville Beach Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing