We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Restaurant Value”

El Potro Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Restaurant Value”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This restaurant is one block off the beach front area. I was in the area prior to catching a flight and I wanted Mexican food. The center hwere it is located is doing some renovations and I was not sure it was an open restaurant since so many were out of business in the area. I saw people go inside so I went in also.

The ambiance was good and they had a few daily specials listed. The extensive menu was priced very fair and offered everything I liked. The thin chips and salsa were delicious and my lunch was good also. I ordered a guacamole to take with me for later at the airport. It was fresh and very inexpensive compared to most Mexican restaurants. The service was very fast and friendly!

I didn't know that this is a chain restaurant since I'm not from the Florida area, but I'm glad I stopped to eat here as I was very satisfied and hopefully you will be also!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moose58colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
239 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A Solid Choice”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Been there a couple of times. Pretty kitschy decor and music, but always warm service, and has the feel of a family operation. Last night, the spicy chicken and soft carnitas tacos were really good. Prices very fair. Easy walking distance from the Marriott Fairfield and Courtyard. Enjoyed the prior review entitled "This ain't Mexico" who did not like the burger, a real connoisseur de la comida Mexicana!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Jax Beach Must!!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I've been to The Beaches numerous times and tried countless Mexican restaurants, but none offer the ambiance, outstanding food quality and friendly, efficient service that we enjoyed at El Potro. We were a party of 8 and started with a warm queso dip which is absolutely to-die-for. The liters of beer were ice cold, the margaritas refreshing, the refills kept coming, the entrees were delicious and cooked to perfection, and everything was provided by a highly skilled server with a big smile, and a great sense of humor. I can't wait to return to Jax Beach just to eat here again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beasey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
321 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service, Fair Price”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Food was good, not great. Well, my son thought the tacos were amazing. They certainly looked good. Service was outstanding and very friendly. Portions were generous, enough so that while we had a late lunch (2pm) it was enough that we did not need to eat dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This aint Mexico!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

They have great refried beans. The hamburger is gross. The chicken is mixed with a tomato sauce - thats anything on the menu. Service is fast and friendly. Guacamole is good!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Potro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to El Potro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing