We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Place in Jensen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Beach Cafe

Kona Beach Cafe
Ranked #25 of 105 Restaurants in Jensen Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Stop in and enjoy our tropical outdoor cafe & tiki bar which offers a delicious gourmet twist on beach food. Full bar now available, Happy Hour 3-6 Monday thru Friday. Brunch served Saturday and Sunday 9-12! Fresh food, fire pits and live music.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Jensen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've only visited Jensen Beach twice (so far) but have been to Kona more times than we can count. The food is pretty much always great, regardless of what you order, it's not too expensive, and the atmosphere is unbeatable if you're looking for a beach/surf vibe. They have cornhole and live music (some nights) and the entire restaurant is outside but very well covered. Only problem we've ever had is mosquitos, so bring some bug spray, but it's not a dealbreaker.

Also, if you're staying at the Inn at Tilton Place you get a 15% discount off your bill since Kona's owners are the innkeeper's parents.

Seriously, don't skip over this place, it's a gem. Best fish and chips I've had anywhere in the area (or anywhere else).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    103
    32
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria Bay, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

While vacationing in Hutchison Island, my family was looking for another restaurant to try. We settled on Kona. Upon entering, we were told to seat ourselves. There were plenty of open tables, but none that seated 7. We asked a waitress if they could accommodate us and she shrugged her shoulders and seemed annoyed that we were breaking the "seat yourself policy." After some deep sighs, she began putting some tables together in the front area. We noticed several people smoking in this area and we asked if this was the smoking section. She said people can smoke out here. My wife said that we have a baby, 9 months old, with us. She responded with, "So, what do you want me to do?" This 20 something brunette waitress had the worst attitude we have experienced in a restaurant. She was completely annoyed that she had to put tables together and even more annoyed that we didn't want our baby around smokers. After feeling like a huge inconvenience in her evening, we decided to leave. I have no idea what the food taste like, we didn't make it that far. We instead went around the corner and ate at Mulligans where the food and the service were fantastic. Even though we had to wait for a table at Mulligans, they never once made us feel like we were inconveniencing them. Kona, I would re-train that waitress on how to greet customers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
konabeachcafe, Owner at Kona Beach Cafe, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
I'm sorry that you were offended by our relaxed "seat yourself" policy. Most of our customers like to decide where to sit as we have several different areas: our front bar and deck under the authentic Seminole-built tiki hut, our nonsmoking covered courtyard near our entertainment, and our Outback with it's tropical plants and rustic bar. We do allow smoking at both the front and Outback bars as we are open-air. Luckily, you left so that you would not be further insulted - we also allow our customers to move to other tables, shop in our gift store while they're here, and stay to listen to our great entertainment as long as they like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Food is awesome. Plenty of unique beer choices. Acoustic music on the weekends. A great place to have dinner and unwind.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensengirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“It's more about the enviroment, the people, and the live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

All seating and dinning is outside. Most of it is covered, so rain never really hurt the experience any. The menu has assorted foods, such as fish dip, nachos, local fish dishes, and a lot of usual things that would go nicely with cold beer, and good live music. You could look up the menu online if that is your focus, but I always enjoyed anything I’ve ordered. The servers, right up to the owner are as friendly as a family member, or in some cases, your best friend. There is live music on most days, but call to be sure if it isn’t a usual day to be out, the usual days are Thursday through Saturday night, and Sunday afternoons. I guess once I said that this was an outdoor place, I drew in some, and scared away others. I spent many Saturday nights listening to Dan and Lesley also known as DockStreet, and on other days Scott, (the one man band). Nothing is expensive, if you can’t afford to eat here, you can’t afford to eat anywhere else. This is located a short distance from downtown Jensen Beach, close to Craw Daddy’s’

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
“Very good food with an authentic atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Right when you walk in the atmosphere is very open and friendly! As for the food, it was delicious, and they had many different options.

Helpful?
Thank dkyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kona Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kona Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing