We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turtle Watching Tour a Must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loggerhead Marinelife Center

Loggerhead Marinelife Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a great seaturtle conservation organization. They have a turtle hospital and small education center. The most notable thing with this organization is the during seaturtle nesting season (May - August), they take you on guided walk to watch the turtles up close.
miami
Level Contributor
234 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Turtle Watching Tour a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We remembered that you have to sign up months in advance and found ourselves taking the Saturday night beach walk to see loggerhead turtles lay their eggs. Very, very cool. Tour started at 9 pm with a look around the facility to see the turtles being rehabilitated there and a very interesting talk about the different kinds of sea turtles, their habitats and how they lay their eggs. The guides had scouted the beach and radioed up to us once a turtle started laying so we could watch. It was easy and informative. Late night for younger kids though since it ended around 11:45 pm. Highly recommend. Remember the weekly tours sell out early so check the website in Spring to pick your date.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cbarney2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    127
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Behind the Scenes Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were lucky enough to have a behind the scenes tour. Our guide was fantastic! He was informative, funny - my kids were engaged the entire visit. Their turtle recovery program left a lasting impression...we support their endeavor and ask others to do the same.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must for turtle lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I traveled to Florida with my Girl Scout troop (five 17 year old girls) and they were eager to visit this place. It was a great experience. The volunteers were all very friendly and knowledgeable. The girls were inspired to see how this place is helping injured turtles. Will definitely recommend this to everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a facility where they rehabilitate injured sea turtles. It is a great experience and is free with a suggested donation of $5.You can view the turtles close up and all donations and gift shop purchases go towards this most worthy cause.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackstraw862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice trip esp for young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We took our 7 yr old here and he was very interested in the inside exhibits but really enjoyed seeing the different turtles and their various stages of recovery in the outside tanks. It if rebuts donation is expected. The volunteers are very friendly and informative. It would be better if there were a few more exhibits or possibly another section on sea life to prolong the visit. It is such a great program I wish everyone would take the time to walk through and support the endeavor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loggerhead Marinelife Center also viewed

 

Been to Loggerhead Marinelife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing