We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Amelia Island
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Great family vacation area of Amelia Island. Stayed in the Sail Maker properties. Had a three bedroom two floor townhome. Lots of room for our family. Clean ,nicely furnished. Sail Maker has a nice swimming pool in the middle of the complex,a nice grass courtyard before reaching the expansive dunes and the wide clean beach. Seems to be mainly family vacationers ,very few full time residents. The entrance is welcoming with trees ,flowers and a gazebo. Nice manicured landscaping. Felt very safe in the gated community. Right down from the Ritz Carlton that is only one of many properties of Summer Beach Resort. Very nice area,Will come back for sure.

Room Tip: There are seven different buildings ,four ocean front and three behind them surrounding the pool. Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheloraruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D, Public Relations Manager at Summer Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in the Sailmaker townhouses with family for a long weekend. We had an end unit 2nd floor townhouse which gave us a great ocean view. It is a short walk to the beach and to the pool.
Our unit was very nicely decorated and clean.
We had other family members staying on a ground floor unit and there unit was much darker with not as nice a view so if you can do the stairs I would stay on an upper floor. Beautiful area.

Room Tip: Would choose an upper floor for better views and an end unit if you can do the 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelkms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Ritz was overfilled for conference so took a room here as alternative. Offered full access to Ritz amenities and facility, but no daily maid service without extra fees. Condo was a little dated, but ocean front and spacious for the entire family. It was very clean and had a well appointed kitchen. I was able to have a tab at the Ritz as though a regular guest. Great place with kids, but if just individual or couple, Ritz is better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I had planned to attend a plastic surgery meeting at the Ritz on Amelia Island and the room block was full. The Ritz referred me to Summer Beach Resort. I had to cancel 24 days ahead of the meeting. Ritz had no problem with a refund. When I called they politely emailed me that since I was within their 30 day restriction I would "only be charged the deposit" which was over $450. A $450 dollar penalty for a 2 day stay cancelled 24 days in advance.

Room Tip: Just say no. They are obviously scammers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This review is on Summer Beach Resort in Amelia Island. My Fiancee and I won a stress free vacation to this resort from Central Florida Lifestyle Magazine. We were ecstatic, we have been to the area before and were looking forward to making time to visit again. We picked up our gift basket and looked at the stipulations that were stated with the gift certificate.
They had more than several black out dates, every holiday almost the whole summer and spring break, Christmas, you name it, it was blacked out. That was not a big deal we figured we would follow the stipulations and find a time that they stated on the certificate that would be available as long as they were not booked up, which is absolutely understandable. So we went ahead and called to see if they had anything available, in which they stated that they had several rooms available; we even chose a weekday. We then stated we had a gift certificate that we won from a magazine and the reservationist immediately stated that she was unsure she would be able to accept it. She then stated that we needed to speak to her manager that would not be in until Monday. After careful review we were 100% sure that the dates we were asking for were not black out dates and that they had more than enough available rooms for the time period we were trying to reserve. Monday comes and my Fiancee calls and asks directly for the manager who signed the gift certificate, to inquire about making reservations for the upcoming week. The manager comes on and is immediately short and rude with my Fiancee. She states that they are booked up, in which my Fiancee states the reservationist just stated they were not. The manager immediately states that they give out 20,000 thousand gift certificates out and cannot accommodate anymore gift certificate related rooms. She did not give anymore explanation and flatly stated we are not going to accommodate you. I don't know about anyone else, but we were truly looking forward to a stress free two night get away, we were not looking to be treated like a second class citizens. So with that said if you have any type of a gift certificate that you may have won or received as a gift from Summer Beach Resort, you may want to think twice about tying to redeem it....in fact you may just want to go ahead and give it away or throw it in the thrash.

Thank you for reading and I do hope you have a better experience than we have.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank gibby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Summer Beach Resort is a wonderful choice for location, luxury and value on Amelia Island. Views toward Summer Beach can be subjective however, due to the fact that units are individually owned. All of the units that my family have stayed in were beautifully decorated and had wonderful views of the ocean. Staying at Summer Beach allows you to feel that you are at your own private beach condo, instead of feeling as if you are in a hotel. All areas of the resort are lush and beautifully landscaped and maintained, and are all very private and gated. Our family's favorite unit has been Sea Watch, due to it's large size (three bedrooms, three and a half baths, and over 2000 square feet) and great oceanfront pools. The resort is located near the town of Fernandina, but is situated far enough to escape whatever crowd might be at the north end of the island. In my opinion, Summer Beach, due to it's accommodations and location, and th Ritz- Carlton, simply because it's the Ritz, are the two best choices for a great vacation on Amelia Island.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Acuraowner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2009

We had both plumbing and AC problems. It took the owner 24 hrs to get someone out to fix the AC and the repair guy didn't bring what he needed. The resort office did move us to another unit, thankfully, but it was an ordeal moving. The repair people both told us the owner did not have a history of keeping us his properties. This is a shame because the resort office was very helpful and the area is beautiful. The condo association clearly has low standards.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miltoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amelia Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.6 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#6 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.6 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#11 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Beach Resort

Property: Summer Beach Resort
Address: 5456 First Coast Hwy, Amelia Island, FL 32034-1802
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Amelia Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Amelia Island
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Summer Beach Hotel Amelia Island
Summer Beach Resort Amelia Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing