We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management office stinks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amelia Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Condo okay, but first impressions are huge with me. The management services, especially at the front gate were unacceptable. Lady who speaks over the intercom should be a prison guard. Made us feel extremely unwelcome. She could definitely use a course in the proper way to treat people, especially those paying tho stay at your facility!!! I will not be returning for this reason.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Amelia Surf & Racquet Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We came to Amelia Island with my grown daughter to escape from this cold winter in Ohio. She goes to Grad school and had Spring Break. We stayed in unit A-109, second floor. The proximity to the beach and view from the living room and balcony is breath taking. Just what I had hoped. The price was very reasonable and Debbie helped patiently and proffesionally sending information and pictures for different units. This is a one bedroom apartment with a huge bed, living room,fully equipped kitchen and bathroomAnd great view and full of light. They also gave us information to rent bikes and an umbrella that would be delivered and picked up every day. Seamless and wonderful stay. Our only complaint is that the window in living room needed a good cleaning ! We will come back

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mava11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in unit B118 the first week of October 2013. It was a gorgeous, 2 BR/2 BA second floor unit with a washer/dryer, double balconies, one king, and two doubles, with a spectacular oceanfront view. We really liked how the sidewalk went perpendicular to the buildings so that people weren't traipsing below your balcony all the time--it felt quite private. The ocean was still warm enough to swim and so was the pool. The sand and shells were great--my little ones had never seen so many shells and had a great time collecting them. There were only about 6 other families on our stretch of beach. We will definitely stay here again. The complex is far enough from the city center to feel private and secluded but close enough to pop by for groceries and Starbucks and Barbara Jean's. :-) Oh, and we've stayed at the Ritz-Carlton next door before and the Surf & Racquet Club beats the pants off of it for view, room closeness to beach, peacefulness, and value.

Room Tip: The bottom floor may not have an ocean view, so go 2nd floor or higher. I would have been nervous on...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredandkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed there October 19th thru the 26th.

Property was well maintained. Was in unit A121. 4th Floor building A. Rented straight from the user through VBRO Site. Things could not have gone smoother. Owners were great and they have thought of just about everything for the rental. View was spectacular from the 4th floor. No view obstructions. Looks out over the pool and the beach. Seemed to be a great time to visit. No crowds on the grounds or the beach. Beach was very clean and great for walking. Plenty of dining option on the island.

if you are looking for a nice quiet get away for families and the non-party crowd then this is the spot for you.

Remember these are condo and is not a hotel. No daily turn down service and such

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have been staying at the Amelia Surf & Racquet Club with my family for over 15 years now, and can’t imagine staying anywhere else on Amelia Island. We love the casual, down to earth feel of the property and other guests. We always rent through the on-site rental office, Florida Properties. Their knowledge of the individual units and property is always spot-on. As all the units are individually owned, they differ from room to room. We have spent the last six years in a Two Bedroom Oceanfront in Building B, and were disappointed to find it had been sold recently. We were informed that our usual unit was potentially being rented by the new owner personally, but chose to stick with Florida Properties because we have been so consistently pleased over the years. With help from Debbie, and all of the lovely photos that are posted on the Surf & Racquet Club website of each room we were able to easily choose a new room and were not disappointed in the slightest.
When we arrived, check-in was a breeze and as always our condo was very clean and well equipped, not to mention exactly as it was described. I found the kitchen to be very well appointed, which is a big deal for me since we eat in alot. As always the grounds and pools were very well kept, and the beach was great! Other than going out for a meal and enjoying the shops in the Historic District, we spend all of our time in Amelia at the condo.
When we stay in Amelia we always return to our favorite eateries. We love The Surf and Sliders for dinner and drinks, both have live music most of the time. We always have lunch at Brett’s downtown and then walk down Centre Street to get ice cream at the Fantastic Fudge. We also enjoy, Café Karibo, and just tried their newest restaurant Timoti’s, which was awesome! It will definitely be on our list of regular stops from now on! Overall, Amelia Island is great, Amelia Surf & Racquet Club is great and Florida Properties and staff is great! We have already booked our unit for next summer!
I must also add that I was rather shocked to read some of the recent reviews, with complaints, as we have never had any issues that weren’t courteously resolved right away. I can only remember a few instances when we have ever had to complain about anything, once our A/C was not cooling very well and the office had someone out within the hour to repair it. And one other time I needed a really large pot, and a brand new one was brought to my unit, only moments after requesting it, as the office keeps an inventory of extra items for when thinks need to be replaced. I’m sure that there are other rental options, such as renting through an individual unit owner, as mentioned in one of the other reviews. But it has always made more sense to me to rent from someone who is actually on-site, working with the individual units every day. Not to mention that the on-site rental agent holds the majority of the rental units, which affords them the ability to have extra rooms in the event of an emergency. If you rent through an individual owner, and there is a mishap or problem with your room or reservation and it becomes un-rentable, where will they move you? Back home? No thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLGA2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a great place for a family vacation. We rented multiple condos, 3 families were in Building A, which is closest to the Ritz in the complex, and the other family was in building B, a really nice 7th floor 2 bedroom. Overall we had A-127, A-126 and A-133, then B-something… All the condos were clean and more than adequate for our week on the beach. Some had a few more items like beach chairs than others and all were pretty well stocked. They were also very, very quiet. Whatever they use for soundproofing works great - even within the condos.

The location is great if you want to spend a lot of time on the beach. The walkway was convenient and the beach is excellent hard packed sand for walking. The two pools were not crowded, even on the holiday and we were always able to get a seat. We enjoyed boogie boarding and hunting for shark's teeth on the beach and used the grill by the parking lot more than once. Another great thing the condos had going for them was the wonderful Kaitlyn who worked with all of our families to get what we needed for all of us to have room and be close together.

There were a couple of "downers" while we were there. The people they hire to guard the gate do a really great job, especially on the holiday, but there is no reason for them to be nasty. We had an extra parking space at one of the condos and wanted to use it for a friend who was also visiting the family and we gave him the wrong condo number. You would think they were going to shoot him and his wife they were so mean to them. All they asked was for a minute to call and clear it up, once they were able to do that all was OK. The other was a "funny" jerk in our building who thought it was hilarious to pull the fire alarm multiple times. We didn't know it was a false alarm, the fire trucks came, when we called the office they didn't know. Well, those jerks (and yes, gee the office did find out it was someone staying there on the 6th floor - they should have been evicted) made my 72 year old handicapped mother cry. She had to slowly walk backwards down 5 flights of stairs while the alarm was blaring and was terrified. And, of course, had there been a real fire later that week, no-one would have evacuated after that so the people that were responsible should have been kicked out. I guess they didn't care and thought it was funny, but it was traumatic for our family and they should be ashamed of themselves.

Would we stay again? I would say we would although we probably won't get back that way for a while. Overall the stay was a good one with mishaps that were not really the properties fault (although they should change their policy on kicking out people who are evil and think fire alarms are there for their enjoyment).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodi_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great property with most units in fairly good shape. Short walk to beach and nice poolside areas. Leasing office and receptionist are helpful but fairly rude and not as focused on customer service as you would expect from a place such as the Surf and Racquet club. Overall I would recommend this to friends but forewarn of the cold nature of the leasing office and hope that you don't have to interact with them outside of check in and check out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amelia Island hotels
2.4 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
5.3 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
673 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,429 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
880 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 4800 Amelia Island Pkwy, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5737
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Amelia Island
Price Range: £104 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Surf And Racquet Club
Amelia Island Surf Racquet Hotel
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club Amelia Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing