We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming 1 bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming 1 bedroom”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Returned to the surf and racquet club last month and had a great stay. Stayed at B-111 again and owner updated the bathroom. What I really liked is the shower! There is no sliding door, which means no loose handles or mildew build- up like some doors can have. There is just a glass partition! The design is very cool..... and clean looking. I liked that. Neutral colors and decorated simply, not a lot of "stuff" around. Carpets and furniture clean and up to date. And windows were clean. I have read some reviews that mention dirty, spotty windows. The older windows would get spotty but these windows are relatively new, so they are not spotty. Great weather. Owner has beach chairs and towel for guests and kitchen has everything you need. It's one of the smaller units but perfect for two people. This unit is on ground level. Pool and beach right outside the back door! No steps to climb. That's a plus for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    22
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
35
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a beautiful condo with all of the amenities. The view was amazing from our two balconies in C134. The furnishings were comfortable and seemed to be fairly new. We had 4 beach chairs and an umbrella (a second one was broken). There were also bikes to borrow and tour the island on their many shaded bike trails. The beach is wide and beautiful. Although Amelia markets its beaches as good places to find shells, you will only find pieces of ordinary shells, not the gorgeous ones they show on their website. My only other complaint was that the master bedroom had a big jacuzzi tub with no shower curtain, so when showering, my brother and his wife had water all over the tile floor, making it very slippery in there. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. Our view was amazing from the 7th floor, but obviously it's farther t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been visiting Amelia for over 30 years and have stayed at severaly locations on the Island! But by far Surf and Raquet is the best value of any place we have stayed! The last four years we have stayed in unit B103 and have been very happy with our trips. Newly updated Kitchen, Bathroom, Washer and Dryer set makes for modern feel. Great view of the Pool and Beach from your very own private back porch! Plus the staff at flordia properties who manage the condos are always eager to help and quick to address any concerns that have ever come up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here during a recent conference. The grounds are very nice with a gorgeous golf course. The service was excellent throughout our stay. The room, however, was a bit dated. It could use a bit of a renovation, but I do realize that this resort is quite old and part of its charm is in its old school vibe. Regardless, I still feel that a bit of an update to the rooms is in order. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just got back from a week there. We were in a 7th floor penthouse condo. The views of the ocean were outstanding. There were windows all across the front that provided a panoramic view of the ocean that couldn't have been better. The condo was immaculate and tastefully decorated. There were beach chairs, umbrellas, Keurig coffeemaker, all the kitchen gadgets anybody would need and much more. The microwave really grills! The owners of our condo have definitely thought of and provided everything to make for a perfect vacation spot. The master bedroom had a large master bath with a huge jacuzzi ideal for couples. :) However, there was a high step up into it that would be difficult for older couples and showering was a bit of a challenge.

There were turtles, rabbits and other wildlife we observed on the beach as well as horseback riding. We saw dolphins playing in the ocean as we relaxed on the gorgeous beach and a duck came swimming out of the surf! I had never seen a duck swimming in the ocean! According to a local, there are 3 that have made Amelia Island their home.

Deah, the property manager, was extremely helpful and pleasant. Not sure why some of the previous reviews stated the staff was difficult. The only complaint I have about this property is the sign at the pool that reads "No food or drink" in the pool area. Really?!!! I can't imagine sitting around a pool in 90-100 degree temperatures with nothing to drink. :( Obviously, few people used the pool. We never opened the gate!

Overall, this is an excellent vacation property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our first visit to Amelia Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Condo okay, but first impressions are huge with me. The management services, especially at the front gate were unacceptable. Lady who speaks over the intercom should be a prison guard. Made us feel extremely unwelcome. She could definitely use a course in the proper way to treat people, especially those paying tho stay at your facility!!! I will not be returning for this reason.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We came to Amelia Island with my grown daughter to escape from this cold winter in Ohio. She goes to Grad school and had Spring Break. We stayed in unit A-109, second floor. The proximity to the beach and view from the living room and balcony is breath taking. Just what I had hoped. The price was very reasonable and Debbie helped patiently and proffesionally sending information and pictures for different units. This is a one bedroom apartment with a huge bed, living room,fully equipped kitchen and bathroomAnd great view and full of light. They also gave us information to rent bikes and an umbrella that would be delivered and picked up every day. Seamless and wonderful stay. Our only complaint is that the window in living room needed a good cleaning ! We will come back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mava11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amelia Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach
Hampton Inn Amelia Island at Fer...
#8 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Surf & Racquet Club

Property: Amelia Surf & Racquet Club
Address: 4800 Amelia Island Pkwy, Amelia Island, FL 32034-5737
Region: United States > Florida > Amelia Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Amelia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amelia Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Amelia Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Surf And Racquet Club
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Amelia Island
Amelia Island Surf Racquet Hotel
Amelia Surf & Racquet Club Amelia Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing