We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in area”
Review of American Beach

American Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of nine sites along the African-American Heritage Trail, this area founded in 1935 was Florida's first African-American beach.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best beach in area”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The water was clear and the crowds were missing. The bathrooms are a short drive away so I wouldn't recommend this beach for families with small children.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandBabyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Bbcrdexesebsexrsrssexetxextestextestestestestestextexdead? Sad place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 7235892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice uncrowded beach that you can drive on”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The sand is soft, so 4x4 is a must. There is a sign that says you need a permit, but there is no obvious place to buy one. The beach is quiet, uncrowded and beautiful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love It”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Breathtaking beach with much history. Never anyone around. You can walk for miles. Birds, shells just great can't say enough

Helpful?
1 Thank chinapalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Friendly People, I love this Beach and I never see a crowd”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I've been going to this Beach every May for about 4 years and I will be going again in May 2012. I misplaced the address of the Lady that I talked to a few years ago and she lives on Lewis Street and grew up in the area. We talked for along time and she was very Helpful. I Metal Detect ( in the Water ) and she would remember me if anyone knows whom I was talking to. please let me know her address. I took her a Gift last year but could not find her, she might be in her late 40's. I park at Burney Park and never had any problems. I was scared the 1st time ,since I didn't see anyone at the Main Entrance to the Beach around Lewis Street where the Metal Plaque used to be on the Building. It's too sandy for me to drive on the beach since I only have a 2 wheel drive. gosports1@aol.com

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank walker1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed American Beach also viewed

 
Amelia Island, FL
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to American Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing