We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly good food”
Review of Verandah

Verandah
Reserve with OpenTable
Verandah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 162 Restaurants in Amelia Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the tranquil Racquet Park tennis facility, diners view the natural canopy of live oak trees from their table at the Verandah restaurant, specializing in southern inspired fare and fresh traditional seafood. Bringing the bounty of the local Atlantic Ocean and neighboring farmers directly to plates of members and guests, the Verandah features an array of the areas freshest seafood in an inviting, family-friendly setting. Take a seat in the bar for the perfect place to end your day or begin your evening with a selection from our approachable list of wines. Gather at the Verandah for happy hour after a day of professional instruction on our acclaimed Har-Tru clay tennis courts or before sitting down to the bounty of the sea in our dining room.
Webster, KY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistantly good food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were at AIP for a family trip last week and ate at the Verandah two times. Both times the food was very good (the corn chowder was excellent), as was the service.
Omni has performed a major (and much needed) facility upgrade and has totally revamped the menu, with the only hold over being the Crab Encrusted Grouper, which I ordered. It was as good as always. The oysters and deviled(sp) were really good.
I was very pleased that even though we were seated after the cut off time for a special, they still honored the pricing.
I do wish that they had continued to offer a few more of the old specials, such as the Verandah Salad and the Fish Platter, at least for a limited time to make the transition easier.
But with that said, it is still the Verandah, and I will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pharmboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    84
    57
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, KY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Missing some of the older menu items”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When you walk into the Verandah, you can truly appreciate all of the effort Omni has put into renovation of the restaurant. It had become old and dated and needed an update.
The bar area when you walk in is really attractive, but I was kind of surprised that the TV was off with the US playing in the World Cup.
I think that the only carry over from the old menu was the Crusted Grouper, which I had and it was excellent.
My issue is that they replaced the entire menu in an effort to create a new ambiance. Some things, however, like the Verandah Salad and the Seafood Platter could have been retained in some form to make a better transition.
With all of that said, they offered a Peach Cobbler Martini which was absolutely awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pharmboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We won't return”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We vacation on Amelia Island on a regular basis, alternating between it and St. Simons Island. We always make a point of dining at the Veranda. But no more. We had a terrible experience last night and are striking it from our list of dining options on the island. There are always large parties with children at the restaurant, but with appropriate seating that disruption can be minimized. But despite requesting a table by a window when making the reservation and again asking the hostess to sit us as far as possible from large groups with children we wound up at a booth facing three tables with a total of 25-30 people, all with small children. It ruined the evening, along with the bar's bungled attempt at preparing a cocktail. We are on to better options.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive price tag”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I agree largely with the other reviews. The wait staff was pretty good-- but not great and the food was also "pretty good" but not great. For the price tag, they need a better menu and snappier ambience. There are better restaurants at this hotel, but also in the area. My daughter had the seafood pasta, and I'd say that was the best thing we had. Also, good, traditional key lime pie.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great menu selections. The staff was amazingly friendly, which is why I gave it four stars. It's worth gong in just to experience the wonderful staff. They make you want o go back. Food was good and tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VailChic02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verandah also viewed

 
Amelia Island, FL
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
Fernandina Beach, Amelia Island
 

Been to Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing