We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritzy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice place to stay, superb staff, and immaculate grounds. On the other side, over priced restaurants (cheeseburgers $25 & chicken quesadilla $18). You can stay here, just don't eat here. Lots of more affordable and better tasting options outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: The residential side is the quiet side since it is front of the adult only pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bware1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our fourth visit to the resort in the last 6 years. First off it is a Ritz Carlton so you expect the great service and the prices that go with that but this 6 day visit was more likely 3 1/2 stars. We arrived at about 9:00 AM fully expecting not to have a room ready since we knew that it was sold out with a large conference. After checking in we were surprised and pleased that they actually had a very nice room available right then. The room was fantastic. 12th floor, island view, clean and very comfortable with a great balcony. No complaints there. I can't comment on the kids pool area as we spent all our time at the adult pool. I understand that hotels live on conventions but it was unfortunate that our stay coincided with two large ones and it seemed like everyone brought family thus the pool was very crowded every day with never enough staff to go around. The food and drink choices are limited and prices are Ritz (but much more than we remembered from previous trips). $17 is the least expensive drink and you can figure $22 for a hamburger. Suffice it to say that anything you order for two will run at least $50 tip included. Breakfast was good but again limited choices, order the buffet at $30 a person since coffee and a muffin will run you about the same. Spa was very nice recently updated but again probably due to the convention, crowded and often didn't come across any staff in the locker rooms. Beach is not the nicest. Very small and somewhat dirty. Valet service expensive but good. Neat feature where you can text them for your car and we never really had to wait to long. When we called for a porter to check out we waited for about 20 minutes with no one ever showing so we gave up and took our own bags down. The hotel will never tell you if there is a convention going on during your stay so if it's sold out assume there is and go somewhere else. I'm guessing next time we will go somewhere different.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank getarounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were there on a family trip and we felt like royalty. When you walk in, you have this view of the of the ocean and it's like I am in paradise. There was plenty of seating in the lobby while waiting for our rooms.
The ocean view rooms are a delight and you feel like you are top of the world. The service was great, I just felt every time I walked out I was waited on or assisted by someone. I think it's all about your mindset and attitude,
I have read the other review yes, I agree that the hotel rooms are a bit worn but the rooms were immaculate and the hotels grounds are spotless. This place was about 10 miles from city center and a short trip to Miami Beach. We rented a car and it was worth the price to sight see around and travel throughout the island.

You will enjoy your stay as did our family. The beach was beautiful during the day and at night. The family pool was enjoyed by all.

Room Tip: Ocean view worth every price rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just got back from a short stay at the Ritz Carlton Key Biscayne. In this visit I was happy to experience some improvements from my previous stay in Novemeber. The front desk person (Lauren) that helped me check in provided excellent professional service throughout the process, she really made me feel as a valued return guest. The service during breakfast at Cioppino Restaurant was excellent, the person that took care of us (her name is Martha) was so accommodating and so attentive. A couple of the areas where the hotel still has some challenges are: 1) I had a room on the last floor (14) of the hotel and they continue to have some type of issues where the carpet gets wet, so they where running an industrial fan out in halls all day & night, which the noise was not bad, but this certainly should not be going on in a 5 star hotel, this has been the second visit where I have the same experience with the fans. 2) the beach service is really non existent, there seems to be very spotty service, it could take a good 20 to 30 minutes to get someone to take your order, this gets quite frustrating, some of the beach attendants also seem to have quite an attitude. This issue again has been something that has not changed from the past two or three visits.
Overall I am glad to see some positive changes and improvements but will really hope that this hotel could get to the level of service it had in 2009, 2010, 2011.

Room Tip: Bay view for sunset views and Oceanfront for sunrise and beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sbconsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for a large work-related event. The hotel grounds are quite nice, though the adults-only pool is small and while we were sitting and relaxing workers were using electric saws to fix something right near the pool, kind of odd for a weekend morning by a resort pool....
The family pool is nice and overlooks the ocean. My room was small and had no view whatsoever unless you looked sideways. Walls are on the thin side and we heard other guests as well as employees early morning right outside our door speaking at length in Spanish.
Had catered breakfast each morning at the hotel which was good (not exceptional, average for a nicer hotel buffet). Also had one catered dinner in the ballroom that was very good. Service during mealtimes was very good.
I would personally not return to the hotel again, unless it was being paid for by my company and I didn't have a choice. Too many other great hotels to spend $$$ on this one IMO. It was just average, and I expect much more from a Ritz-Carlton. Also the location is very very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nfowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmsua126, Executive Office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear nfowife,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We take all of our guest’s feedback extremely seriously, and use it improve our Resort and the experiences that we provide to our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies for these shortfalls, we would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss them directly with you. Please contact the Executive Offices at 305 365 4500, at your convenience, so that we may address your concerns further.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here on a time share through a family friend, the hotel was very nice, little bit of a hassle to get to. Food by the pool is very expensive. The small beach is perfect for a little getaway and not a busy or populated as south beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed one week at Ritz Carlton and were not impressed. It was definitely less impressive than other ones we have visited. What shocked us the most was the lack of activities. There was NOTHING to do, but the pool and the beach which happened to smell like rotten eggs. The pool was mediocre to say the least. You can get that type of pool at any hotel. There was nothing for the kids to do except for joining the kids club which cost an arm and a leg, and we heard it was not that great. The food choices are poor and extremely overpriced. We will never stay there again. They definitely do the minimum possible :(

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Nela636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie S, General Manager Executive office at The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Nela636
Thank you for being a loyal Ritz-Carlton guest and taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the resort. I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience that you outlined in your TripAdvisor review. We take pride in providing exceptional customer service and facilities for our guests and learning that your overall visit did not meet your expectations is truly disappointing.

We would be most grateful for the opportunity to personally speak to you about your experience. Please contact the Executive Office at 305 365-4500, at your convenience, should you wish to further discuss. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Wilson,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
The Setai
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Address: 455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range: £308 - £874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Hotel Key Biscayne
Key Biscayne Ritz Carlton
Ritz Key Biscayne
Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing