We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 16 May 2006

We stayed in a 1 bedroom ocean front suite for a week and it was amazing! The suite was beautifully decorated, large, and very clean. Having the full kitchen certainly made it easy to entertain! The grounds are perfectly manicured and the staff was extremely attentive (one example- when I returned from a jog one morning the doorman ran up to me with me a bottle of water). Plus, the morning and afternoon snacks (usually fresh fruit and/or nuts) they brought around the pool and beach area was a nice treat. The restaurants were all very nice, and I would highly recommend the lobster quasadilla with a Black & Blue Mojito for lunch!

There is a lighthouse at the end of the island which is a nice walk from the Ritz along the beach. We also rented jet skis which was a fun way to pass a few hours. South Beach is a 15-20 minute drive, but we appreciated being out of the city. It made the trip more relaxing.

We look forward to returning to the Ritz- Key Biscayne very soon!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SammyRaeHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    460
    208
    116
    57
See reviews for
656
637
35
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 May 2006

We have never used a Ritz-Carlton before, being Starwood members we normally stay in Westons and W's where we can find them. This time we decided to try something different.

After having to cancel our reservation for this property in 2004 due to Hurricane activity we were very excited to finally get away for a much needed romantic weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were offered some cold bottled water as soon as we pulled up to the portico. We were greeted at the front door and quickly checked in.

This was an all out weekend to make up for a lost one the year before. I chose to book a room for 2 nights on the concierge level. We were shown to our room then brought to the level room to meet our concierge. We were offered champaign as we sat and chatted with him.

On Friday night we dined in the Hotel Restruant and it was delightful. We were congratulated over and over on our anniversary making us feel special that word had traveled through the staff. The food was great as was the wine. The service was attentive yet not intrusive. I once noticed the waiter hanging back looking for a lull in the conversation before approaching.

We had decided to head to The Forge on Saturday night. The concierge made our reservations and arranged for a towncar to pick us up. The concierge also offered to get us on some lists at some nightclubs if was wanted to aviod the lines. This is not our scene so we declined.

I made sure to catch up to him before we left for dinner, I would not see him again, we were checking out the next morning. I gave him a very large tip for all his attention. This is what drives this industry and to feel you have it coming because you paid a lot for the room will get you run of the mill service. I was so impressed that he was going the extra mile for us to make sure our stay was nothing less than perfect I made sure to express my gratitude.

When we returned to our room there was a complimentary bottle of champaign and chocolate covered strawberries layed out for us along with a note congratulating once again.

The room was huge and appointed wonderfully.
The staff was very polite and helpful.
The grounds were beautiful.

Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 April 2006

I am assuming that the hotel is listening to the reviews that members have been writing because our experience was overall very wonderful. The food, although a bit costly, was great. We enjoyed a beautiful beach - no seaweed - and fantastic service no matter where we were on the resort. My only negative experience was found in my room. The room was as clean as it could be. There was a stain (possibly coffee) on the carpet that looked as if it wasn't even attempted to be cleaned up. The resort claimed that all rooms have a balcony. Well, the balcony was about 6 in. off the side of the building. Regardless of these small issues, overall a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2006

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Key Biscayne for 5 days in April. The location was great, however we encountered numerous problems. After being shown to our room we found cherios on the floor and a light broken in the bathroom. Housekeeping came and vacummed the cherios however it took a day and a half to get the light fixed in the bathroom. One day during our stay (during Easter break, a busy time) they decided to drain the pool and then could not get it refilled so our kids were not allowed to swim. In addition, the whirlpool in the women's spa was broken, and not available for use. Housekeeping while cleaning one day must have broken a glass in our room. When we came in to shower and get ready for dinner both of our kids got glass in their feet because the glass had not been properly cleaned up. This hotel has a policy of adding on a 18% gratuity to everything that you pay for, decreasing the incentive for staff to provide exceptional service. Lastly, when we reveiwed our bill when we went to check out there were several large errors in the bill. This hotel and everything that you do there is expensive, we did not expect all the problems that we encountered given the prices that we were paying. We would think hard before returning. On a more positive note the conceirge was very helpful, the food was expensive but good, and the property was pretty and in a great location.

Helpful?
9 Thank dan_socc_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2006

We stayed at this hotel in Spring 2005 for a week and found it quite pleasant. It's about 15 minutes from Miami, so it's a bit removed from the action, which depending on your prefereneces, is either a drag or a relief. We were looking to unwind from work so it was just what we were looking for. It was our first stay at a Ritz Carlton after staying at many of the Fairmont properties. It exceeded our expectations.

The property is down a long drive from the main street and is located right on the ocean. When you arrive at the gate for the first time, they sign you in and when you pull up to the door they greet you by name. We arrived several hours before check in, and were nevertheless taken to our room. When we got there, the bellman was surprised to find the room was not ready. He apologized profusely and we were given a free breakfast to enjoy while a new room was prepared. We'd only been there a few minutes and seen the Ritz-Carlton service in action. Mind you, we arrive well before check in, and receive a comped breakfast because a room that shouldn't have been ready yet, wasn't. Pretty neat.

Though I keep a pretty high standard when paying rates such as these, I don't expect a hotel to be perfect. When the occasional issue arises, the hotel's response is what separates good from great. This property is great. The breakfast example is a clear example of this.

Here's a summary of my other thoughts:

PROS
-Attractive, well-manicured grounds.
-Nice restaurant choices and a neat little poolside bar. The prices are Ritz Carlton all the way, though.
-Great spa. I used the steam room, sauna, and fitness center every day. My wife had a manicure in the spa, which included a champagne cocktail. The fitness center had nice equipment and looked out onto the grounds. Cooled towels and cucumbers outside the men's steam room.
-Large, infinity edge pool with waterfall fixture in it.
-Just a great vibe. Classy without being too formal. A good mix of older types, families and younger couples like us.

CONS
-Mandatory $20/day valet parking.
-A bit of a drive to go anywhere.
-Poolside drinks yummy, but is any margarita in a regular plastic cup worth $13?

I have no substantive complaints about this property. I would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Goldie_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2006

Spent four nights in March 06 with our two children, ages 1 and 3. The reviews for this hotel are spot on - the pool and entire hotel are simply ideal for kids. If you are looking to escape children - this is not the place for you.

Service throughout the hotel, housekeeping, bar, and Cioppino's was excellent. The breakfast was outstanding, and children under 6 eat free (as we were kindly informed by one waiter on day three). Dinner was very pricey, but good. Comprable quality off-site would be less, but it is the Ritz and that's how it works.

Service at the beachside Cantina was spotty. It seemed like there was no correlation between how busy it was and the quality of service we received. It also seemed to depend on the individual.

The only other complaint we had was the selection of food at the Cantina. There was not a great deal of variety, and the quality was just so-so. The Cantina was the only disappointment of the hotel, it needs more attention from hotel mgmt.

Originally we requested two double beds, but we recieved a king. We phoned down to the front desk and they immediately relocated us to a room with two double beds and ocean view - no charge. We really appreciated this. The rooms were smaller than I expected, and smaller than other Ritz properties I have stayed at.

Our original room had a DVD player but the new one did not. If this is important to you, request a room with one. It seems the fittings between rooms are not standard.

Both rooms had balconies. Ocean view rooms are much more expensive, but the balcony lets you enjoy it.

We booked a package deal online that included breakfast (fantastic), parking, and $25 food and beverage credit (you'll blow through that fast). Beers are $6, Drinks $10, and a burger w/ fries is $15. This is before the automatic 18% tip and tax. Be prepared.

Overall, an excellent rating, particularly with the package deal we obtained.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nyquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

We just returned from this Beautiful Hotel. We took a four day weekend with out 2 1/2 year old daughter and the trip could not have been better. The the pools and beach were ideal for small children, especially the pool with the zero walk in edge. Kids could walk in to the depth they felt most comfortable without jumping in. The pools while not large are scaled appropriately to the hotel, which promoted an intimate feel. Our room was equiped with a kitchenette complete with a fridge, 2 burner range and microwave even though it was not a suite. This was very practical feature for traveling with a toddler, and totally unexpected in a luxury hotel. The only criticism was that the dining options at the hotel itself were limited to the informal beach side restaurant or fine-dining. But it was a quick drive to Miami Beach for a very wide range of dining options.
We are looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank atraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Biscayne
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,011 reviews
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami
Address: 455 Grand Bay Drive, Key Biscayne, FL 33149-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Key Biscayne
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Key Biscayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Hotel Key Biscayne
Key Biscayne Ritz Carlton
Ritz Key Biscayne
Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne
The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing