We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel is wonderfull. It has carabean feeling. Hammock on the beach, whote sand and blue water. Nice restaurant with good food and live music next to the hotel. Rooms nice, with a little smell of dampness. Room with sea view is not exactly what I expected (there is outside corridor so you can't open window widely) but still nice.

Room Tip: room with seaview if you want to hear the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalgorzataSzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the "American Caribbean" and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    187
    45
    20
    13
See reviews for
296
350
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at Glunz on two separate occasions, both times arriving unannounced. We had apartments on the 2nd floor. There was a separate bedroom with a very comfortable and attractive bed. A modern bathroom with separate makeup area. Our kids slept on the modern pullout in the living room where there was also a fully equipped kitchen. The balcony faced the sea with an exquisite view. The large pool has steps for little ones down one end and a ledge right around the pool. Otherwise it is quite deep so you have to watch children. Lots of deckchairs and hammocks. Also beach games. The private beach was lovely and swimming in the sea was divine. We enjoyed the very well equipped gym. There is a laundry for guest use and also barbecues. The management were happy for us to relax around the pool after checkout time which we appreciated. In-room safe and lots of parking. The nearby restaurant looked good and we didn't notice any noise at night. Staff were professional and friendly and gave us good rates. I would have been happy staying there or a couple of weeks. Only thing I thought odd were the full length balconies on each level. There weren't many people around so not an issue for us at the time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water certainly have the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Christine, we appreciate all the nice things you said about your stay. I'm so glad that your family vacation experience was so great! Our building is a "grand old dame with great bones" but we were unable to extend the balconies. At least there is seating outside your room door and you can spend as much time in our chaise lounges on the beach as you like and soak up all of the ocean breeze! We'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel was clean and staff very friendly.
Elevator very small and hard to move luggage cart in and out without getting in elevator first.
Would stay there again, but would request room facing the water.

Room Tip: Rooms very small for two beds, king size might give you more room to maneuver around. Suites that g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
It's good to hear from our guests; thank you for giving us feedback! We are currently in process of converting a few of our rooms to King size beds which sounds like it would be perfect for you! It is true that it gives you a little more room. I'm happy you enjoyed it overall and we look forward to having you back! (Ask for the King! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A friend found this property for a couples weekend and it was a tremendous value. The suite was spacious and immaculate. It was appreciated that there were some essential coffee and paper products along with a fully equipped kitchen. It is right on a beach that the property maintains beautifully. They've thought of everything; lots of on property activities; gym, pool, spa, beach, beach toys, beach shoes, shuffle board, corn hole, and other games both outside and in a common area near the lobby. The staff knows the area and from food to activities recommendations, they were right on. We are already planning our next trip. It's also a nice location; close enough for a day trip to Key West to the South or to Islamorada for diving and plenty of fishing, jet skiing boating right on Marathon.

Room Tip: If you want quiet on at the weekend, ask for a room a little further away from the restaurant/bar bu...
See more room tips
Green Features: There were the usual signs about laundering sheet and towels and you are in the Keys and fresh water is a precious commodity.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler100Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed such a great surprise on your first visit with us! Thank your friends for letting you in on our secret and we'll look forward to your return visit. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and it certainly helps others to make lodging decisions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My organization had blocked a group of rooms for a meeting and my wife and I decided to go down a few days early and take a little vacation time as we were also celebrating our anniversary. They had regular rooms and a 1 bedroom suite which is what we got for the stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all the local surroundings and gave us good options for eating as well as activities. The grounds were well maintained and the room and accommodations was better than expected, as it was very clean and all nicely renovated with Granite counters, nice wood cabinets, new fixtures, new paint and much more. I had expected an old time keys hotel and felt most are old and run down but was blown away as to how nice the hotel looked. The hotel was right on the Atlantic Ocean side with a nice beach area, pool and other amenities. Price was reasonable and I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone who wanted to stay for a night or two. The only drawback if any is they did not have a lot of the 1 bedroom suites.

Room Tip: Ocean Side, 2nd or 3rd floor, choose 1 bedroom suite if planning on staying more than 2 days.
See more room tips
Green Features: Noticed the fixtures were low water use, and are doing other things
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Larry, you're making us blush! :-) What nice compliments! We really enjoyed having your group here and hope you get to come again soon. I wish we had more suites, too, but our intimate little 38 room hotel is part of our charm! We'll look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice, clean beachfront hotel - someone cared enough to renovated it in a high quality way. Refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker - all nice. Only improveable is the shower needs a little ledge to balance your foot for shaving. Everything was done right - one small thing that would make this A+.

Room Tip: Oceanside totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikergirlzRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks for the wonderful property review! l also thought that was an interesting suggestion; have you seen that anywhere? Our gentlemen may object if they trip over a low ledge! :-). We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Nice option, just be aware it's next to a beach bar that gets rowdy late in the rvening.
Room was small but in good condition, looks like recent renovation. Pool was nice, beach loungers also new. Right on the ocean and has absolutely awesome sunrise vantage point.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feistyscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your good review and for your feedback. On occasion, the rooms closest to the tiki bar can have a little more noise on a Friday night particularly. I noticed that you did not give us stellar marks in service. Please call me at 305-289-0525 (ask for Chrysse Langley) and let me know how we could have done better in your case. We pride ourselves on great service so it is disappointing to us all when we fail and we want to improve through your input. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.6 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort Key Colony Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing