We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Hotel on the Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
DK
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Little Hotel on the Ocean”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A little hotel on the Ocean. Our room was nr. 202 with sea view. Friendly reception staff, parking and wifi is free for the guests.
There is a narrow balcony that gives access to all sea view rooms, two plastic chairs available for every room on this balcony.
The room we had was good in size, the beds very comfortable. Air-con, ceiling fan, TV, small refrigerator,microwave, coffee machine,hair dryer available. There is no closet, but only 3 big drawers between the 2 beds, and few hangers beside the refrigerator. Towels and room service provided every day. Unfortunately breakfast is NOT available in this hotel. There is a Bar restaurant just next to the hotel, but our one time experience in this restaurant was not good at all. There is no basic cutlery available in the room (just to prepare a small snack), so the only option available to have some food, is to drive somewhere else.
There is a small pool and jacuzzi pool. The beach is small but nice.
If you book there, try to avoid room 202, as it is over the pool entry area and the metal door slams every time someone access the area (really annoying).
We were surprised to find out that walking barefoot in the room is a BIG NO. Our feet got black every time we forgot it :-(
All in all, the best things about this hotel it is the location and the staff service.

A tip for Dinner: Try the "Sparky's Landing :: Fish n Cocktails"

Room Tip: Avoid beach view rooms that are close to the pool door and the restaurant. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christosDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. It is your comments that keep us alert to anything we need to address or adjust. Just by clarification, we don't own the restaurant and will pass on your comments regarding it. For future information, we do have fully equipped deluxe suites with a separate king bedroom and full closet, a completely equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. If you prefer the coziness of a smaller room, then be sure to ask our front desk for anything you may need. While we don't actually have true kitchen facilities in that room, (just small fridge, microwave and Keurig one cup coffee maker) we DO have things we can lend you for your stay; one need only make that need known. Since your corner room had an additional window, that meant you were minus an additional set of drawers for personal storage. I appreciate the mention of the "clanging"; we already took care of that on the gate so your comment helped us to improve already! In addition, we have purchased a new commercial cleaning system to help with the floors. While they are very practical and lovely at the beach, the porousness attracts the dirt, as you found out. We are putting this system into use even as I type. I would love to have you return so you can get another perspective so contact me, personally, next time. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    190
    47
    20
    13
See reviews for
303
352
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is actually not a real hotel ,and It is just a motel. It has beautiful ocean view outside, but heavy humidity. All amenities seems to be a little bit old.A little bit disappointing about this and It is not worthy for almost 200 bucks one night. I think

Room Tip: If available , choose the king suite with ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 波王
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We sincerely regret that we did not live up to your expectation. You were here at a particularly damp & windy time which certainly contributed to the humidity. Your feedback is important to us since we use it to make constant improvements. I will write to you privately. In the meantime, we hope you will consider another visit in the future so that you can join the majority of our happy guests! Thank you for providing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Wow! was my first reaction when I stepped through the door through the room and then opened the sliding doors and saw such a beautiful view! We had a suite on the 3rd floor (317). Everything was top notch, towels, pillows, bed, furniture, the whole room! We stayed during Thanksgiving, and we had a surprise present on Thanksgiving Day - A box of Chocolates and a letter wishing us a Happy Thanksgiving! Everything about this place was perfect. The lounge chairs on the beach and pool are super comfy, the hammocks, very nice. They have a very nice little beach, that is pretty rare in the Keys. This place had everything that my family had on our wish list. Pool, Water view, pier to go fishing on. We ate next door at Cabana Breezes a couple of times, including Thanksgiving Buffet, and it was very good. Next time we go to the Keys we are definitely staying here! Oh and The Sunrise - Beautiful

Room Tip: Ocean View is the best. Even though the ground floor rooms are convenient, I think the views are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmoracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We are so happy that we could fulfill your family's "wish list." Being able to really enjoy your vacation is what everyone wants and it seems that you did! We appreciate your detailed feedback since it helps others to make decisions. Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

our recent stay at the Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel was wonderful. Great location, close to Cabana Breeze, Sparky's and Key Colony Inn. And only an hour away from Key West if you are looking for a day trip. The hotel room was nice. And it was great to go lay in the hammocks on the beach each morning.
We will visit again!!!!

Room Tip: ocean side has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
It is a pleasure to hear from our guests! Thank you for your comments and hitting the high points. Other readers of reviews appreciate it! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a hotel/motel but right on the beach. Rooms are light & bright, soft fluffy towels, great shower, clean & well maintained & good AC. If available go for an ocean view room.All staff very helpful with a positive attitude towards customer requirements.Location a plus which only added to the overall rating of the property,a definite candidate for future visits.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baddbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We're genuinely happy you found our little piece of paradise on the ocean! Can't beat that beautiful sunrise every day. We appreciate your nice comments and hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

after some initial confussion by the hotel over my booking for 2 rooms we found the hotel lovely. we usually only stay 5* so our expectations were not too high as this is 3*. we loved our stay. the only 2 complaints i could have is the room smelled musky which i guess is nornal for a place with a tropical climate....tho if the hotel kept the aircon on low it would prevent this and the restaurant food tho tasty was never served hot! when we raised this with the waitress she was rather rude and said they try to get food out as quickly as possible!! am i missing something here...surely its more i portant that its hot and fresh! this put me off the hotel which is a shame as everything else was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gorgeouspaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your rooms were under 2 different names which we were not told at the outset so we are sorry about any confusion there. The ocean air was quite strong when you were here, with gusty winds. That is not the norm. We are sorry to hear that your service at the restaurant was not up to OUR standards. This is owned by someone other than us and we have very little say about their service but you can be assured that we will pass along the comments as I am certain they will appreciate the feedback just as we do. Good feedback affords us the opportunity to keep improving. Thanks again and we hope to see you on another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I can't say enough good things about this hotel/resort.
We chose our hotel based on price and beach access. We were so lucky to have chosen this place, because it far exceeded our expectations. It was newly renovated, super clean, SUPER friendly, and the beach and the pool area were wonderful. They have aqua sox, pool toys, and sand toys to use while you're there, and the beach is just beautiful with white sand and crystal clear water.
The tiki bar next door, Cabana Breezes, has an agreement with them to deliver food and drinks to your room or to the pool, or you can go right over via 3 stepping stones and you are there! The food and drinks there were great and reasonably priced, so it was nothing to just walk over mid-swim for a fruity tropical drink!
The location of the hotel mid-keys was also excellent. it was only an hour from the Florida mainlaind, and only an hour from Key West, the furthest down you can go. It was very near many of the fun places we visited, and there's a grocery store and a drug store right around the corner too.
We can't say enough good things about this place, you'll have to check it out for yourself! We will DEFINITELY be back and won't consider staying anywhere but Glunz.

Room Tip: We picked the non-ocean side to save some money, but man...the ocean view rooms were soooo nice. Ma...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel was very environmentally friendly and you can tell they go to great lengths to lower their carbon footprint without sacrificing on quality or service to the guests. Way to go!
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
You shared one of my favorite reasons for living here; the location is terrific for getting everywhere! Thanks for providing such valuable feedback. We're happy we be a part of your vacation time and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.6 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort Key Colony Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing