We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Luxury”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We booked the suite and were pleasantly surprised. The view is spectacular. Construction and materials are top grade. Interior decorators paid attention to detail and spared no expense on the kitchen. Only top quality items appear in the fully equipped kitchen which make dining-in a real bonus…you can enjoy the exotic view within the intimacy of your own quarters. This little gem is located in the right place. Beach and pool are impeccably clean. Local wildlife abounds nearby - Giant Iguanas and Hammerhead Sharks are just an exciting breath away near the adjoining pier on the west side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to request a suite on top floor beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thanks so much for your very kind review and your experience being expressed so well for others to read. We appreciate it and so do the readers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    173
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
281
334
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back! This hotel really did have everything we were looking for. Nice modern rooms, beautiful clean pool, a tranquil beach that was so refreshing to float in, tiki bar and restaurant, and I could go on and on. Oh, did I mention a GREAT happy hour?! The staff was so friendly and engaging. Deanna served us drinks poolside and she laughed and kidded with us like we were old friends. Really enjoyed chatting with Mark Langley each morning on the pier at sunrise where he told us so much about the local history of the area. All the staff really took the time to make us feel like family. We've stayed many times at a chain hotel up the street for the same price, but never again as there is no comparision. Thanks again and hope to see you see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maybaby1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
So glad you had a great time! We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
281 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I had high hopes for this resort based on the hotels.com reviews, etc, but alas it was not great.

It started off fine - the girl at the counter when we checked in was nice, helpful, and perky for 1045pm.

We got to our room and it was tiny, borderline dirty, and just not resort quality. For example there was a box of damp aid on top of the TV stand. The TV stand (white) had scuff marks all over it and was now a dirty white color. The beds creaked when you sat on them. The pillow covers were dirty (not sure if they ever pull those babies off and wash them) and the shower had someone used old washrag hanging over the shower head (YUCK!).

The towels were questionably clean....I mean they seemed clean but the material was old and yucky and they were dingy. One had some sort of stain on it - not sure - we didnt use it!

The pool was old - you could see cracking and grime in the corners. It was also HOT! So, if you want to sunbathe and then cool off - dont jump in the pool! I know, I know people say you cant help it because of the sun....well damn - throw a hose or some ice in there or something!

The "hot tub" was nasty. There were leaves, some sort or fruit from the trees in the bottom, floating hairballs, you name it. Oh, and NO BUBBLES to help you relax - just warm water. The hot tub was actually about the same temp as the pool.

The elevator is like some sort of hot box torture device! No ventilation at all. If that thing gets stuck someone will die of heat stroke. You can fit two people and their bags in there!

The restaurant next door was a total joke. Will write a separate post on that one!

The beach area had WONDERFUL lounge chairs and umbrellas which was REALLY NICE, but you go to cool off in the ocean and you quickly realize they have not cleared away ANY of the rocks and stuff.....so your feet are just torn up. You cant tell if you are stepping on a rock fish or a rock! No thank you!

The pool also had NICE CHAIRS and umbrellas, but they NEED MORE UMBRELLAS....we got there and they were ALL TAKEN so I roasted. NEED MORE SHADE! THE LILY WHITE PEOPLE (like me) ARE BURNING!

I wouldnt mind paying $79-80 a night for this hotel, but this is NOT a resort. This is a hotel with the word resort in the name charging a LOT of money.

Sorry to the family that bought it - I am sure you are trying to renovate and make it better, but as a first time visitor - never again. Not at your current rates.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rfuchs0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We accept all feedback, including the negative and we look to what truths are contained in them so we may continue to improve every day. In that spirit, I thank you for your comments and extend my apologies for any way we actually fell short of your expectations. An error can occur anywhere and the odds of all of these occurring is certainly not in the norm for us and I urge you to try us again so that you can experience what most everyone else encounters. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the room, about 2 hours out on 95. Found it on trip advisor and was not disappointed. Traveling with our 2 older teens, the suite was perfect for the four of us. Room was super clean, and very modern updated. Suites all face the ocean, with a pool and lounges all beachside. Hammocks to chill and look at the stars, sunset, or sunrise. Pool and hot tub right next to the tiki bar and package liquors next door.
Perfect spot, would return if we plan another trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal5177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay! Its always nice when we select something online that actually DOES live up to the words and pictures in ads! :) Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Great place to relax and enjoy the beach and pool, the rooms are beautiful and clean, service is the best, staff is friendly and courteous. One of the best weekend's I've had come check it out. You have everything here you'll need no need to leave the property. Great food next door the happy prices are amazing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MNunez48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thanks for reviewing us and we appreciate all of the recommendations! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Bravo! Glynn takes to traditional seaside hotel to a whole new level. Wonderful staff, fantastic beach location with pool overlooking the ocean. Really, just the thing for diving, mud-key locations, etc.! Only the restaurant could use some improving -- but was great for bar food.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We appreciate hearing from you! Thanks for your feedback and thank you for visiting. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Positives:
Upon arriving, we were greeted with open arms and lots of smiles. The staff were extremely helpful with area attractions, places to eat and activities to do for adults & children. The suite we stayed in was very clean (no sand anywhere to be found, which is amazing considering you are right on the beach), had all the amenities and the best part steps away from the ocean/beach. We took advantage of shuffleboard, corn hole, lounging on the beach in the beach chairs, the pool, walking the pier and listening to the music from the restaurant. The restaurant offered a happy hour from 3-5pm which had drink specials and appetizers were 1/2 off. We ordered pizza for the kids one night and other items that were excellent. Traveling from afar we weren't able to bring with us sand/pool toys. Not wanting to buy any, we were certainly pleased to see that this hotel offered many flotation toys for the pool & sand toys to play with and use freely for all the guests. The ocean views from the room are just amazing! Lots of wildlife to see (birds, lizards, crabs, etc.) The beds were extremely comfortable and the hotel accommodated our family with a crib/pack n play for my youngest. Two thumbs up indeed. I would highly recommend this hotel and would be happy to come back again. Thank you Glunz staff and family!

Negatives:
The only thing I can say is there is a lot of sea grass that comes up on shore. With that said, this is just what happens in the keys. The hotel has no control over what the ocean brings in. They are diligent at removing it every morning and keeping the beach clean as much as they can. Sea grass is just part of the keys and if you don't like it than you probably shouldn't visit the keys.

It would have been nice to have had a bath tub in our room because of our little one but we certainly were able to accommodate ourselves with the shower. Not really a negative but more so information to understand what is in the room.

Room Tip: Room 119 (suite) was a fabulous room. Steps away from the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feldkjod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrysse L, General Manager at Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
It is wonderful that your family got to enjoy everything we have to offer and we are all very happy that we could help with that experience. I know all of the readers appreciate your detail so thanks for that response and a great big THANK YOU for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.6 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort

Property: Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Address: 351 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful newly renovated beach hotel. This Key Colony Beach hotel is on a small island, nestled on a private sand beach, within easy reach of area attractions such as Conch Air, Island Hoppers Aerial Adventures, Bahia Honda State Park, and Curry Hammock State Park. Area attractions also include Sombrero Beach, Sombrero Reef, The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, Dolphin Research Center,The Turtle Hospital, Florida Keys Aquarium Encounters, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Key Colony Beach
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort Key Colony Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing