We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay & relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Key Colony Beach Motel
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay & relax”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Clean, friendly and affordable older style motel with a great beach (groomed daily) and nice clean pool. My remodeled room had a refrigerator and a big tiled shower. Key Colony Beach offers everything you need within the community. The Cabana Breezes right next door has a cool tiki bar and restaurant. Will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for any remodeled room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Cant wait for your return.
Thank you Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    100
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
72
102
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a terrific week at KCB Motel. Mike, the manager seems to know everyone staying at his property and makes you feel very welcome. The beach and pool are perfect. The rooms were very clean upon arrival and kept clean throughout our stay. This is a small privately owned motel, so if you are looking for Holiday Inn type amenities stay at the Holiday Inn. For the price and location Key Colony Beach Motel is great Thanks for a terrific vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi, I am very happy that you had a great time here. I try to know everyone that stays here but it is hard to do as we have many guests. You are the reason we are here. We are also trying to keep it affordable, but as you know, things are getting more expensive. For the time being, we are going to hold the line.
thank you so much Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

LOVED this motel. A little slice of heaven. The rate was only $100 for a motel room just steps away from a private beach for motel guests. ANY room you get is such a very short walk to the beach and wonderful swimming pool. If you forget something in your room, no problem! You can pop back to your room in 15 seconds.

There are ample beachside lounge & adirondack chairs and tiki huts for shade with tables & chairs under them. The motel was clean, and the staff is friendly. It's not located on a busy street, so no traffic noise. The only noise on the beach is the sound of crashing waves.

Full disclosure, there are no frills. Bring your own beach towel & shampoo, and there's just plain coffee available in the lobby. The beds could be more comfortable, but that just motivated me to get up in the morning and go enjoy the beach - where I could take a nap! These are not complaints. The great rate is totally worth giving up a few little perks you might get at other lodging options. The rate at the hotel NEXT DOOR with the same beach assets is THREE TIMES the rate of this motel. I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor will take a few more steps to get to the beach, but not a significant difference. I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed it here. We are only getting better and your input is greatly appreciated. Thanks again Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant, mi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Been a couple of years since we have been here, and always love it. They are updating all the rooms and there always so clean and cozy, however all we do is sleep in the room the rest of the time is spent on the great beach and pool overlooking the ocean. The biggest bonus was meeting one of the owners at the next door tiki bar, had such a great time while watching Michigan State win the Rose bowl. You can search anywhere in the Keys and you won't find a better place to stay on the Atlantic Ocean at such a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks for the kind words, I enjoyed meeting you and only hope I see you soon. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We drove to the keys and had no where to stay. We wanted somewhere with a beach or a pool. Imagine our surprise to find a hotel with both! Cute clean beach and nice pool with windbreak. The room was a tad dated but that doesn't bother me. We had a fridge and decent tv. The drawback would be the beds weren't the most comfortable of the whole trip and the wifi was sketchy at best. Would I stay here again? No question- yep!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Micastang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are glad we had an available room you. When we installed the wifi, there weren't many people streaming things. Now, seems everyone streams, and that causes the wifi to get a traffic jam. The solution is being looked into as I type this. Technology changes so fast these days and it caught us this time. Hope to see you back again soon. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great place on a great island. Very quiet, though it was a slow time. Our room was just feet from the ocean. Rooms very large and clean. Staff super friendly and informative. Definitely will be back! A real bargain. No problems.

Room Tip: Don't let the low price fool you, We would have paid more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gail l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks so much, we are trying very hard to make everyone's visit an enjoyable one. It makes us proud that you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I'll keep it to this
It says Non Smoking...
However when my wife and I returned from dinner the room was filled with the smells of cigarette smoke and continued from the room next door from a hole in the walls in the bathroom

Asking the Mgt about it he said there is nothing he can do but ask them to stop

Simply put, our 4 day stay turned into a one night hell hole

Hohn...lets not forget about the fact you can hear conversations clearly through the walls through the wee hours of the night (3-4 am and kept going)



Please take warning of others reviews on the negative side. Those who write positives...I'm happy for you...but for those who experienced anything negative...I understand

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Mr. Whetstone expressed concern about his neighbor had been smoking. I said I would check it out, was going to offer him another room but he said he didn't want to disturb his wife as she was resting.
I went around looking for the offender and when I found him, asked him to stop, he said he would.
The next day I put out the smoker and blacklisted him.
When Mr. Whetstone got up, he was agitated and asked " what are you going to do for me?" and implied that if I didn't give him a 50% discount the he "would have fun with it on the internet".
At checkout, his wife brought the key back to front desk. The clerk asked her if she had a good time. She said she did and that she liked the beach.
Another guest thought that I was too hard on the smoker. We have policies in place to prevent things like this. This is a situation where no one wins, all over an inconsiderate guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Colony Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Colony Beach Motel

Property: Key Colony Beach Motel
Address: 441 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Key Colony Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Colony Beach Hotel Key Colony Beach
Key Colony Beach Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing