We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Colony Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key Colony Beach Motel
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The room was very clean and well maintained, except for the door! We had to struggle everyday with the door and key for 10 minutes before we could lock or open the door. Other than that, I loved it. The beach was very near to our room and we could just walk to it even in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priyanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for the input on the door. There are some that are on the list to be replaced with doors that wont swell in the humidity. I only wish we had it replaced before you arrived. Working on it now. And that ocean, nice to sit out there at night and listen to the waves and watch for shooting stars.
In this new world of electronics, I am glad you appreciate the natural beauty of our place.
Hope to see you soon, John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Clean, friendly and affordable older style motel with a great beach (groomed daily) and nice clean pool. My remodeled room had a refrigerator and a big tiled shower. Key Colony Beach offers everything you need within the community. The Cabana Breezes right next door has a cool tiki bar and restaurant. Will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Ask for any remodeled room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Cant wait for your return.
Thank you Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a terrific week at KCB Motel. Mike, the manager seems to know everyone staying at his property and makes you feel very welcome. The beach and pool are perfect. The rooms were very clean upon arrival and kept clean throughout our stay. This is a small privately owned motel, so if you are looking for Holiday Inn type amenities stay at the Holiday Inn. For the price and location Key Colony Beach Motel is great Thanks for a terrific vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi, I am very happy that you had a great time here. I try to know everyone that stays here but it is hard to do as we have many guests. You are the reason we are here. We are also trying to keep it affordable, but as you know, things are getting more expensive. For the time being, we are going to hold the line.
thank you so much Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

LOVED this motel. A little slice of heaven. The rate was only $100 for a motel room just steps away from a private beach for motel guests. ANY room you get is such a very short walk to the beach and wonderful swimming pool. If you forget something in your room, no problem! You can pop back to your room in 15 seconds.

There are ample beachside lounge & adirondack chairs and tiki huts for shade with tables & chairs under them. The motel was clean, and the staff is friendly. It's not located on a busy street, so no traffic noise. The only noise on the beach is the sound of crashing waves.

Full disclosure, there are no frills. Bring your own beach towel & shampoo, and there's just plain coffee available in the lobby. The beds could be more comfortable, but that just motivated me to get up in the morning and go enjoy the beach - where I could take a nap! These are not complaints. The great rate is totally worth giving up a few little perks you might get at other lodging options. The rate at the hotel NEXT DOOR with the same beach assets is THREE TIMES the rate of this motel. I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor will take a few more steps to get to the beach, but not a significant difference. I belie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed it here. We are only getting better and your input is greatly appreciated. Thanks again Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Been a couple of years since we have been here, and always love it. They are updating all the rooms and there always so clean and cozy, however all we do is sleep in the room the rest of the time is spent on the great beach and pool overlooking the ocean. The biggest bonus was meeting one of the owners at the next door tiki bar, had such a great time while watching Michigan State win the Rose bowl. You can search anywhere in the Keys and you won't find a better place to stay on the Atlantic Ocean at such a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks for the kind words, I enjoyed meeting you and only hope I see you soon. thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We drove to the keys and had no where to stay. We wanted somewhere with a beach or a pool. Imagine our surprise to find a hotel with both! Cute clean beach and nice pool with windbreak. The room was a tad dated but that doesn't bother me. We had a fridge and decent tv. The drawback would be the beds weren't the most comfortable of the whole trip and the wifi was sketchy at best. Would I stay here again? No question- yep!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Micastang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are glad we had an available room you. When we installed the wifi, there weren't many people streaming things. Now, seems everyone streams, and that causes the wifi to get a traffic jam. The solution is being looked into as I type this. Technology changes so fast these days and it caught us this time. Hope to see you back again soon. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great place on a great island. Very quiet, though it was a slow time. Our room was just feet from the ocean. Rooms very large and clean. Staff super friendly and informative. Definitely will be back! A real bargain. No problems.

Room Tip: Don't let the low price fool you, We would have paid more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gail l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j k, Manager at Key Colony Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks so much, we are trying very hard to make everyone's visit an enjoyable one. It makes us proud that you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
799 reviews
14.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Colony Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Colony Beach Motel

Address: 441 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Key Colony Beach Hotel Key Colony Beach
Key Colony Beach Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing