We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel dated, but facilities excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Key Colony Beach Motel
A TripAdvisor Member
“Hotel dated, but facilities excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2005

The first thing to say is that this that the rooms in this motel, are dated, basic but clean and functional. They are large and have a refridgerator and all essential needs. But it is the location and facilities which make this motel worth the stay. There is a lovely beach, with sandy swimming access ( though alot of seaweed). There is plenty of seating/shade to be had, and a quiet uninterupted view of Keys ocean life. There is a nice bar/restaurant next door, and a couple of others within walking distance. The motel is excellently placed in the middle keys with easy access to fishing, diving, exploring. I loved it so much I cancelled a planned trip to Miami, to stay another few days here. Although the owners could update the bed and bathroom linens which are treadbare.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    100
    34
    19
    18
See reviews for
72
102
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2005

You have to understand lodging at the Florida Keys to understand how special the Key Colony Beach Motel is. First it has a beach which is a very rare find in the Keys. Not only do they have a beach but a very nice beach. The beach is equipped with three Tiki Huts along with tables for those who are seeking the shade but want to enjoy the beach view. They also have beach chairs that are located near a row of palm trees that also give some shade. These chairs can be moved so you can maximize your tanning experience. The sand is very soft and not rocky, there is plenty of soft sand entering the ocean too. A very rare find in the Keys. Quite a few hotels in the keys which claim to have a beach, have a sandy area but the entrance is usually very rocky and grassy. There are two fishing piers that are located at the ends of the beach. You can snorkel to them and view the ocean life that are under these piers. There are no boat or equipment rentals of any type at this beach. The pool is located next to the beach so it also offers a very nice view of the water whether you are in the pool or just lounging in the pool area. The Key Colony also has a great location. They are located on the Atlantic waters about a mile off Overseas Highway, which eliminates the hectic traffic noise coming from the highway. You are less than ten minutes from the 7 mile bridge and about 20 minutes from the Keys best beach, Bahia Honda. If you are looking to stay at the Florida Keys to enjoy the beach along with all the water activities, this place is for you. If you are looking to stay in your room, the Key Colony is not for you. The rooms at the Key Colony are very basic and clean, If you are just planning to use the room to sleep and shower then you will not be dissapointed. The rooms also come equipped with a nice size refrigerator where you have plenty of room to store food and drinks. Please do not expect 5 star quality bedding and comforts, you will not find it here. One upgrade that I would like to see is an upgrade to their bath/shower towels. They are very close in quality to the ones I wash my car with but once again they do the job. If you want an ocean view, book early because I believe there are only four rooms with ocean view. The Colony Key Beach Motel is great little place made for people who come to the Florida Keys to enjoy all of the water activities available plus they throw in a very nice beach and pool which are very welcoming after a nice day out.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2005

It wouldn't hurt to invest a little bit of the money on a few new mirrors in the bathrooms. The frames of the mirrors were missing. Rooms were clean. Beach is small (as they ALL are in the Keys) but beautiful. Pool was VERY warm.. Pool and beach area well kept. Price very reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2005

KCB Motel was dated, and old...with mismatched bedding, curtains, but it was clean, and kept neat inside and out.
Also the staff was very nice, and friendly.
It has a lovely beach, and pool.
Has small refrigerators in rooms, and we enjoyed our stay there this March. We would go back.
Thanks to all who said to try it
We had such a lovely time there.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank COH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 January 2005

The image burned into our brains from our stay were peeling paint in the restroom, and short black curly hairs in the "cleaned" bed. Also the dark red stains in the tile grout were something to ponder as well. We got "clean" sheets from the office and didnt even get out of our clothes to sleep. Once my poor child was done crying from the horror we went a few hotels down the road that we thought we were originally booking. Ocean Beach Club. It was great. I was greatful to the KCBH staff for refunding our money.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
409 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2005

We stayed here 3 nights in January 05. Yes, the motel is vintage and shows it. But for the price, it was reasonable. Exceptionally clean. Staff very friendly. The private beach was nice, but did not stretch for miles. The pool was warm enough for a short dip even though the weather was lousy. The worst thing was an uncomfortable mattress. We would probably stay here again. (I found out that I am a distant relative of the owners!)

Helpful?
16 Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 June 2004

We stayed the week of June 23-27th in on e of their ocean front suites which slept 6. Although the hotel is vintage, it is clean and well kept. A steal of a price at $85 per night and $5 per person over 2. So we had a full house at $100 a night and right on one of the only beaches in the Keys. It's in a very quiet residential area of Key Colony. The beach stretches for miles. If you're just looking for a nice clean room to sleep and shower this is a steal compared to some of the other places in the Keys. Nothing fancy, but it does have a nice mid size refridgerator in the room. I stayed here 20+ years ago and again this summer and would stay again!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.2 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Colony Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Colony Beach Motel

Property: Key Colony Beach Motel
Address: 441 East Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Key Colony Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Colony Beach Hotel Key Colony Beach
Key Colony Beach Motel Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing