We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a gem!”
Review of Continental Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Colony Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Continental Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow! What a gem!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Based on other ratings, we gave this place a try and we were SO impressed...nice,clean and you cannot beat the price! It is in a great, quiet location! While you can't compare this to a luxury hotel, the Continental Inn offers many amenities, especially those traveling with family. Having a small kitchen was extremely convenient. Our family gathered every morning to watch the beautiful sunrise from the beach. Even though it is not much of a beach, there are two very nice beaches located a short drive away--Sombrero and Bahia Honda State Park. The pool is nice for those who just want to relax in the sun without the sand. Before we left, we booked time for the Christmas holidays. We will definitely be back to the Continental Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BfloChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    104
    24
    11
    24
See reviews for
99
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have been visiting the Inn for the past 10 years. We are Miami residents and consider this location our home away from home. The Inn offers our family the amenities we need. The beach is the perfect backdrop, especially with small children. And yes, I agree with other viewers...this is a hidden gem and we all have our little secrets...this is one of them!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XintiaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

On your way into Marathon hang a left at about MM53 and enter the beautiful community of Key Colony Beach.Booked a condo with two queen beds for five nights and couldn't have made a better choice. The grounds are beautiful with a nice heated pool, tiki huts and gas grills for guests' use in the beach area, and loads of chairs and lounges around the pool and at the beach. You can easily pull a lounge chair into shady spots if you don't want to fry in the sun. The place is perfect for doing nothing. Sit on the beach and watch the sunrise then be entertained watching the pelicans diving and the fishing boats coming and going. A couple of bar/restaurants (Sparky's Landing and the Key Colony Inn) and a breakfast and lunch spot(Leigh Ann's) are an easy walk away, easier than driving. Sparky's was jammed every night with parking difficult. Our room (#12) was very clean although I would prefer one king bed next time. The room had furnishings that were too large and too numerous for the space. Kitchen appliances were adequate. The AC was very good but we didn't have it on much. We slept at night with the windows open catching a nice breeze even though it was 85-86 degrees every day we were there. The place seems to be populated largely with 55 plus regulars who know each other. We stayed here several years ago in one of the rooms at the beach end of the building with a great view of the ocean and great ocean breezes.Not sure if those rooms are readily available for rental.The rate for our room was very reasonable with AAA discount.

Room Tip: Try for a king bed room if you don't need two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613GeoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just before Marathon you turn to Key Colony Beach - a nice little town with 1/2 dozen shops, Marina, Golf and a SUNSET Beach with out crazies or drunks.
Have stay 3-4 times in last 10 years. Clean, fully equipped kitchen patios, pool and on the water.
We got a discount with AAA Membership (check for other types). Nice small place where you can access all Keys offer. We were there January 20th.

Room Tip: the further you walk the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Searover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here during January of 2014. We were in unit 5, which is a one bedroom unit featuring two quen beds and one fold out couch bed. My wife and I rent a condo because we generally want to cook most of our own meals. This unit was somewhat poorly equipped for cooking. The food prep knives were so dull that they should be thrown away. A small hand mixer would also be nice (something that we have found in most other kitchen equipped condos). The stove and fridge were fine. The internet wifi was adequate when it would stay connected. The router was constantly dropping me off and would sometimes take several minutes to reconnect my device. The complex is quiet, which is nice. The majority of the owners and guests appear to be 65 and older. My wife and I are in our mid 50s so we fit right in LOL. if you are on the younger side this might not be the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goattonsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copiague, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Room was perfect for us but would be a little small for a family. Very clean. Small but adequate kitchen. Well stocked with pots, coffee pot and utensils. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Beach is small but we thought it was perfect. We stayed for 5 days and made it to the beach for sunrise everyday. Well worth getting up early for. Quiet location. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill47533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our Family has been to this resort 4 times and counting. We always stay a week and love to fish off the beach then grill our catch and have a beer in the Tiki Hut. You would think that it would be crowded as it is small but we had the place to ourselves several times. I would consider buying one of these units we love them so much.

Room Tip: Get an end unit with water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Colony Beach
0.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.5 mi away
Key Colony Beach Motel
Key Colony Beach Motel
#2 of 2 in Key Colony Beach
246 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Property: Continental Inn
Address: 1121 West Ocean Drive, Key Colony Beach, FL 33051
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Colony Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Key Colony Beach
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Key Colony Beach
Continental Inn Key Colony Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing