We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Inn Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayside Inn Key Largo
Ranked #15 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
north of Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2007

After spending a week on a cruise ship we headed to the Keys and had a chance to stay at this great little property. We were very pleased with the helpfulness of the staff and our room was perfect - especially after spending a week in a box. Nice pillow- top mattress, air conditioning that worked well, and a great little patio.

Not much of a beach - you probably wouldn't want to swim in it - but that is why there is a pool! Pictures really don't do it justice.
Excellent value for your money, I would not hesitate to send clients there or visit again myself. We also had dinner at the Pilot House (ask about it at the desk they will give you a coupon for 20% off and directions) and it was great !

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tripdesigner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    195
    198
    198
    237
See reviews for
278
397
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2007

Based on various sources of information, we booked this stay expecting a "beautiful hotel" (as promised in the see-floridakeys brochure) and paid the rate to go with it, yet we found an ageing budget motel that was far removed from the descriptions. For reference, the night before we stayed at a Best Western Motel in West Palm Beach which was similar but better, and paid a third of the rate charged by the Bayside Cay Club. Our "landview" room offered no view and virtually no daylight, because of dense vegetation in front of the window. This appears to be the case for most of the rooms. The "continental breakfast" consists of a small selection of danish pastries (which had gone on one of the two days we stayed there) and coffee. To have breakfast, there are three plastic tables outside the reception overlooking the car park, which tend to be taken by other guests. We had a minor flooding problem with our bathroom, but couldn't get assistance as the reception closes at 11.00 p.m. The brochure's reference to a "private bath" does not extend to the washbasin, which is located within the room. Also, the Cay Club website quote "Our rooms, overlooking the beach and bay, offer a small refrigerator and security safe" refers only to the three bayview rooms and the two studios, but not to the "landview" rooms. The service we experienced in the associated Snook's Restaurant was poor. On the positive side, the standard of cleanliness was generally good (although there was a cigarette stub under the bed), the beds were good, and the equipment was generally in good working order. In summary, it is o.k. for a night and for the appropriate rate if you know what to expect.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price, lack of daylight
  • Tips/Secrets — Only use this for an overnight if you get a budget rate.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key Largo hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2006

It was tough to choose between 1 and 2 for this review. Bayside Resort?????? When you visit the Cay Clubs website to learn about their "resorts," I was envisioning something quite different. The word "resort" evokes a different picture than what was experienced.

I'm embarrassed to say that we paid $199/night (during the holidays) to stay at this motel. This motel would be worth the minimum $89/night at best. The pool is tiny, and the "waterfront" is a strip of concrete on the water behind the motel with sand spilled over it.

The room was very clean but almost completely dark, even in the middle of a sunny day.

Location-wise, this motel is only good for getting to John Pennekamp State Park, which is a good thing if that's where you intend to spend your time. It would also be good if you planned to go back and forth between Miami and Key West during your stay. And, the Key Largo Coffee House nearby is FABULOUS!

We regret this choice completely and chock it up to a lesson learned. (That is, don't wait so long to reserve hotel rooms and watch out for minimum stay requirements during the holidays.) We wish we would have made the upper, middle, and lower keys day trips and stayed in Key West after our 2 nights in South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank texasaggie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bayside Resort for one night en-route to Key West, and so we could go snorkelling at the Pennekamp reef. We didn't arrive until late evening at the hotel, but the front desk was still manned and the lady on reception wes very polite. We stayed in a non smoking room (as requested) on the ground floor. The room itself was really nice, extremely clean and very spacious. It was nicely decorated, bright and airy - we were very impressed with it. Coffee making facilities as well. Very clean bathroom with bath and shower. Plenty of free parking on site. Had a look at the pool and sunbathing / "beach" area, which seemed pleasent and fronted right on to the ocean, but of course it was dark so we didn't really get the full effect of it.
As we arrived quite late we decided to go next door to Snooks for tea, which although it is a lovely location on the sea front, and the live music was quite entertaining, the food was pretty rubbish so I wouldnt really recomend it. If you have time, go elsewhere.
Snooks aside, overall a really nice motel style hotel, clean, comfortable and great value for money. Also a good location just a few minutes drive from the Pennekamp State Park.

  • Liked — Big room and very clean
  • Disliked — Snooks restaurant next door
  • Tips/Secrets — Find another restaurant!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2006

I stayed at this hotel one night with a group of students. The location is excellent. We could walk to all of our activities (Dolphin Plus and Key Largo Glassbottom boat). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and clean. The grounds are also very clean and the view is great. The pool was a little small, but the students still enjoyed it. It is one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank l0vest0travelal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

We stayed at Bayside for 2 nights following recommendations from Dolphinworld as we had a Dolphin swim booked at 'The Theater Of Sea', Islamorada. The place looked quite nice and meet our expectations for a $99 a night room. Unfortunhately there was no way that our room could handle 2 boisterous children, it was adequate just fro sleeping but not enough space for when you wasn't doing anything. My wife made the decision and asked reception if they had any bigger rooms. Those that have been there would note the building with 2 baclonies by the pool well these are the only 2 what I would call family suites that can sleep upto 5. separate bedroom, pull down bed in living, so muich more room (alt least 50% MORE space) and balcony looking diretcly over the pool, bay and Snooks. Admittedly this cost us more money but to see the relief on the wifes face was worth it. Clean, tidy, quiet, no complaints. Ok so the continental breakfast was simple but hey we didn't go there for the breakfast!. Snooks food was ok, staff gorgeous, although the food was a little too messed around for our liking for what we were looking for at that time and maybe a little pricey but no complaints. I heard that resort customers would get discount on food from the Sushi Restaurant but this wasn't offerred by the Snooks owners. Swimming in bay area ok and we had manatees feeding just off the dock one evening, fantatstic seeing and hearing them. We have been back (UK) nearly a week now since our 3 week holiday in Florida and with all the places we travelled Bayside will be amongst the best memories that we have of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2006

We stayed 2 nights at Bayside Resort, Key Largo and had a great time. The rooms are a little on the small side, but clean and sufficient for our trip. (We spent very little time in the room.) The bed was a little too firm for me. I wasn't expecting anything lavish from the posts here, but was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and good service at the resort. We also enjoyed sitting at the pool and watching the sunset while listening to Snook's live music (next door) and dancing on the beach with the kids. No real beach, but about as good as it gets in the Keys. *Best advice - you MUST eat dinner at The Fish House the Mahi Mahi matacumbe style is DELICIOUS and have breakfast at a little hole in the wall called Pennekamp diner (or something like that) - THE BEST PANCAKES EVER!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lhfisher3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn Key Largo

Property: Bayside Inn Key Largo
Address: 99490 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2460
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayside Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside Inn Key largo is located on a beautiful stretch of the Florida Bay in the heart of Key Largo. We offer some of the Keys most stunning sunsets from our private beach overlooking the beautiful Florida Bay. Bayside Inn Key Largo Florida is near the dolphin swim, fishing charters, boating, kayaking and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Bayside Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Bayside Inn Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing