We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,782)
Filter reviews
3,782 results
Traveller rating
2,035
1,213
341
126
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,035
1,213
341
126
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango small beach beach area manatee bay the breakfast area garden view free breakfast fish house front desk staff great place to stay first floor nice pool man made beach fitness center watch the sunset john pennekamp state park heated pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,756 - 2,761 of 3,782 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We booked a 4 night cruise out of Miami to treat our grad student daughter to some R &R. After the cruise we sent her back to school but at Spring Break time in Miami (March) we were looking for a vacation extension that was not Miami since hotel rates were sky high for not great amenities.

I had been researching where we could do some more snorkeling and came up with Key Largo. My husband booked us into the Hampton Inn for 2 nights. We were pleasantly surprised with the nice size of the room and pleasant decor. The. wide hallway, the Tiki hut bar on the beach and lounge chairs to watch the sunset, the heated swimming pool AND the baby manatee that swam all around in front of the hotel were all pluses.

We had a quiet stay even having a balconied room off the landscaped parking lot. We found the breakfast area was large enough to accommodate a large crowd and we enjoyed sharing the large "elevated" long table with other guests but there were plenty of other lower, regular tables. There were even plug ins in the table every so often for power. WiFi meant everybody was on all their devices. Breakfast was a good quality and I think our rate for early March Saturday and Sunday night was $224 which would have put us somewhere in the suburbs of Miami with no view or beach OR free parking. Taxes as expected added another $50 .

We used nearby restaurants and a local dive shop to book our Sunday snorkeling trip. Front desk staff was especially friendly and helpful. Everything was in good shape and clean.

Room Tip: We thought the 2nd level balcony parking lot side was quiet and were glad we weren't in a poolside room as everyone was out and the kids in the pool were laughing and shrieking. We walked along the poolside rooms on the path to the beach and felt like we were invading their privacy as so many people were on their patios.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisaonthegoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is a great getaway to just relax. Nice pool area and relaxing beach view overlooking the gulf side. Decent work out facility if you want a little exercise. Several very good restaurants within a short drive or walk. Staff was super friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a 3-night stay on our way back to Miami. The check-inn staff were very helpful and arranged a late chek out for us. Rooms are large and ours overlooked the hotel's small beach and waterfront. The grounds/pool are well kept and we saw manatee, herons, iguana and eagles in and around the hotel. The breakfast is good quality and there's plenty of it. The hotel doesn't have an restaurant facilities but there are lots to choose from in and around Key Largo. Overall a good quality hotel in a reasonable price bracket.

Room Tip: it's worth paying extra to have a bayside room overlooking the garden and waterfront
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat_Ric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed on a Monday/Tuesday which might be why we felt there was plenty of room for us at both the beach and pool. The beach area is VERY small, but worked for our stay. There's manatees that regularly visit that provide an interesting distraction. We paid extra for the pool side rooms, where the only advantage is having a patio/balcony - the other side faces the parking lot, but we don't spend much time in our room so we usually don't care about views. I will say though I was able to enjoy a cigar in the evening right outside our room with the patio, so that was nice (I don't think the parking side had balconies), The breakfast was very good for a complimentary hotel one, it was also nice that they had tables outside that you could take your food to. Price-wise this place is a bit more than I like to spend on a place to sleep, but it's in the Keys, and it did have the small beach we spent quite a bit of time at relaxing - so 3 c-notes a nite isn't out of line with the competition.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandCec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is situated on Key Largo close to the Pennekamp State Park. It is quite a large hotel with the lobby and breakfast room in a separate building.
Check-in was fast and friendly and we got a large, clean and comfortable room with a small balcony - nice. We used the high speed internet, which worked perfectly.
The hotel has a fine pool area and a beautiful garden. The bay is right at the hotel, and in the evening we even spotted a couple of manatees enjoying the nice surroundings.
An excellent hot breakfast with fresh fruits was available in the morning, and to sum up, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews