We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Richfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

The motel was very clean- good breakfast - staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerrichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysBound0316, Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
The staff of Hampton Inn Key Largo would first like to thank you for taking the time to review our newly renovated property. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring our guests complete satisfaction. This Hampton Inn is conveniently located in the center of Key Largo just a half of a mile south of the Florida Keys main attraction, John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. There are plenty of great restaurants in walking distance or even a mile or two away. I hope that you will join us again soon and thank you for such positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,790
    1,056
    282
    105
    56
See reviews for
1,066
1,607
63
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We pre booked 3 days at the Hampton as part of a holiday that started up in cocoa beach and ended up down in Key Largo. As we were travelling from the UK, we wanted to ensure that we had somewhere to stay. That was our fatal first mistake - we missed the small print on the booking that stated "Your reservation is non-refundable, non-cancelable and non-changeable. "
We were not expecting anything terribly luxurious, but we had booked a "garden view" which ended up being a strip of manicured grass and some flowers about three feet wide, leading on to the scenic car park. My wife mentioned to the front desk that she had expected a view, and the lady on the desk promptly and helpfully "upgraded" us to a room with a view out over the small beach area and the tiki hut. Note, this isn't a tiki bar - they don't serve drinks there, it's simply somewhere you can sit. Breakfast is available, but they don't serve meals in the evenings - for that you have to venture out (which is probably fine as there's plenty of excellent places to eat - we lucked out with Mrs Mac's).

The "heated" pool was too cold to comfortably swim in for myself, and definitely far too cold for our young boy (10 months old). After swimming in the pools at Vero Beach, Animal Kingdom Lodge and the Marriott in Key Largo, they all managed to have pools at a temperature that wouldn't give a baby hypothermia. When we went to the desk to confirm the pool was heated, we were told it was, but it would come on when the temperature dropped below 70 degrees. It's good to know there's a reason waiting, even if that doesn't warm the water up.

Both rooms smelled strongly of mould. The room interiors were nice, AC worked, beds were comfy. We probably would have had a decent night's sleep, but the room next door decided to watch TV at ear bleeding levels at 2am for half an hour (obviously not the Hampton Inn's fault, but it didn't help our mood). Free wifi was available.

Breakfast was complimentary, and that's the nicest thing I can say about it.

After deciding we'd like to stay somewhere where we could swim with the boy and where we could get a drink by the pool, we plumped for the Marriott instead. Of course, when we went to the front desk (where there's a prominent sign saying "If you don't like it, you don't need to pay") we were told in no uncertain terms that we wouldn't get the money back for the remaining two days. Sure, a contract is a contract - but that was enough to make me write an honest review. Sorry, Hampton Inn - we'll definitely not be recommending you or returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I booked this hotel as a first night lodging as we drove down to Key West. The price seemed right for what looked like nice rooms, clean grounds and a decent little beach. It turned out to be a great hotel. My economy room was impeccably clean, spacious and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was great with a wide variety of items from which to choose. The best part is the beach area. It's well kept and inviting. We were surprised to see manatees and all kinds of fish. We even saw a 3+ foot iguana in the parking lot. People were feeding the manatees, but I believe the rule of thumb is not to feed or approach wildlife -- especially threatened species. So, please be considerate of these amazing creatures when you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysBound0316, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
We, the staff of Hampton Inn Key Largo would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete this review. The feedback from our guests helps this company to grow and stay consistant. One of the unexpected perks to our property are the occasional visits from the manatees on our private beach area, which were glad to hear your family was able to witness. Surrounding the property are lush tropical plants and trees that the iguanas and geckos love. We are also excited to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Our breakfast consist of hot items such as eggs, sausages, bagel toppers, "make your own waffles", etc. cereals. breads, fruits and yogurts 7 days a week between 6-10am. Again, the staff of Hampton Inn would like to thank you such a positive review and we are excited to hear that we met your needs throughout your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We decided to plan a trip to the keys for kayak fishing. This hotel is on the bay side with waterfront that you can launch a kayak off of. Florida Bay Outfitters has a free delivery for all day long rentals. We were unable to get from the bay to the ocean side. First night out back of the hotel we caught bait fish, tarpon, snook, and even had a manatee sighting. If kayak fishing, the possibility exists to catch a trophy sized tarpon. The rooms are very comfortable with all of the typical Hampton Inn amenities. The location is great! We did not need to drive to get dinner. The Fish House, although a bit pricey, was awesome. My boyfriend loved the coconut ice cream!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjones9854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hechtel-Eksel, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

first of all , great front desk , verry friendly and helpfull , thank you
and so were the cleaning ladies verytime i asked something

the rooms were newly done and were big really big ,verry clean and comfortable
all rooms have a balcony or terrace wich i loved , the pool was nice and clean and so were the gardens , the beach was a bit small but served its purpose
to bad the tiki,s on the propertie were not used to it,s potential , but that might have been the season.

the best thing there was the comp. breakfast , with lots of choice of good foods wich changed every day i was there ( 4 nights) and a verry friendly lady that welcomed everyone each morning what made it nice to eat there

the business center was verry nice with a brand new and verry fast Apple computer
never seen that before in a hotel ,just GREAT , and it seemd like it was open for 24H
i will be comming back here without a doubt

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oakleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysBound0316, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn in Key Largo. The staff and I want to personally thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience with others. Here at Hampton Inn Key Largo the entire staff strives to provide outstanding customer service and enjoy hearing the positive feedback of our guests. Each spacious room is equipped with refrigerator, microwave, coffee pots and complimentary Wi-Fi. The guest computers and staff are available 24hrs a day 7 days a week. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiddenite, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

My husband and I felt extremey welcomed when we walked in the front door of the motel...The service by all was excellent...The motel was very clean inside and the landscape was beautiful....Truly a tropical setting...Enjoyed the pool area and the beach area...The rooms were beautifully decorated with the tropical decor...The bed was very comfortable...Housekeeping did an excellent job cleaning and keeping supplies stocked in the rooms...The breakfast was great..many choices of food each morning..The general manager was on top of everything; very helpful and made sure our trip was the best ever...Great central location to many places of interest...We will go back to this motel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekerus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysBound0316, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
On behalf of the entire staff I’d like to tell you how excited we are to hear that we were able to help make your vacation special. Our staff strives to provide oustanding service and it is very rewarding to know that we were able to make such a positive impact on your vacation. We were very pleased to hear that the staff member greeting our guest added a special touch to your stay.The housekeeping staff takes pride in our rooms and strives to give 100% cleanliness every time. Our staff would like to note how excited we are to hear that your stay was a fantastic one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. What a gem! Front desk staff was wonderful, breakfast was very good and a nice big room for it. The pool was nice and the small beach area too. The vegitation and landscaping was the best. It reminded me of old time Florida. My husband loved all the fish in the waters around the hotel and the iguanas and geckos were fun to watch. The rooms were so nice, 4 star quality, nice soft beds and pillows. Great decor, very Tommy Bahama. Room alos had a great desk area, a couch and nice glass table and sink microwave and mini fridge. Just really comfortable and relaxing. Nice ticki huts on the grounds and an excellent place to watch the sunsets. Went to the Fish House across the street for dinner. Good food but the service was horrible. Went to Alamama Jacks well worth the drive, great conch fritters and fish. Both recommended by the great staff.
This hotel really is a hidden gem. I loved, loved, loved everything about it. I can't wait to return with the rest of the family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelsnob4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeysBound0316, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
The staff of Hampton Inn Key Largo would first like to thank you for taking the time to review our newly renovated property. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring our guests complete satisfaction. This Hampton Inn is conveniently located in the center of Key Largo just a half of a mile south of the Florida Keys main attraction, John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. There are plenty of great restaurants in walking distance or even a mile or two away. I hope that you will join us again soon and thank you for such positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
9.6 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
9.9 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Key Largo

Property: Hampton Inn Key Largo
Address: 102400 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2747 (Formerly Key Largo Resort at Manatee Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Key Largo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Hotel
Key Largo Resort Manatee Bay
Hotel Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing