We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Positive Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Very Positive Experience”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at this Courtyard one night after SCUBA diving. The staff were courteous and knowledgeable about the area. The room was clean and comfortable. We booked a special which included breakfast. The bistro served a very nice breakfast, but I don't think I would have eaten there if the meal had not come packaged with the room. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    405
    176
    52
    26
See reviews for
258
419
46
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel room was clean and the location was good for the upper Keys.The staff were friendly and helpful.

Having said that, It appeared that the hotel may have some relationship with the local marina as people were coming and going from there boats and using the outdoor facilities. Our room overlooked the pool area which had an outdoor shower and were treated to the view of several people taking showers outdoors. Not what you want to see on vacation - or anytime for that matter.

I would also not recommend eating any food that may not agree with you as the water pressure for the toilets is practically non-existent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlazor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked the room in early June and arrived late Thursday, July 3rd. for the holiday weekend. The room was clean, spacious and modern. We were situated overlooking the front parking lot, Overseas Highway and the gas station/car wash across the street. Several requests were made to move to another side of hotel, however we were told the hotel was booked and no rooms were available. The pool area is small and the pool was cloudy and not very inviting. There is an area outside the pool fence, set up with lounge chairs along the canal as there is no beach or water access. There is a Starbuck's inside the lobby for breakfast and they had a limited menu for dinner. The location is good, close to the Holiday Inn on Overseas and if you are a diver or snorkeler, there is a lot of access to boats and dive schools for trips or lessons.
If you are going to dive, snorkel or spend the majority of your time on a boat, I highly recommend this hotel, primarily for it's location. If you are going on a family vacation or will spend more time off the water than on it, I suggest finding something with more amenities, larger pool, pool bar and/or water access.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the canal or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here overnight while doing a kitesurfing trip to Islamorada. Overall, this is a good spot to stay in if doing any activities in the Upper Keys. Staff are well trained, keep the place clean and operational, and are friendly. Rooms are spacious.

Some strange things is that it appears this hotel was bought out from a different brand as there are alot of signs on the property that do not conform to the actual rules and are out of sync with Marriott policy. Eg, No Parking signs where it is clear that its parking for the hotel (and the hotel staff said as much), the signs on the hot tub, etc.

Some negatives:
- Towel check in policy - really? That's not standard Marriott policy, they should just have towels at the pool area.
- Loading/Unloading is weird as the main entrance has steps or a crazy winding ramp, neither of which is suitable for loading/unloading a car. Loading/unloading from the garage/basement is much easier and it gives access to the elevator, but its a very unusual oversight for hotel design.
- Hotel seems abit aged altho the staff do a good job of keeping it clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dracop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
179 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a great location, while we did have a car, we didn't use it that often. There were quite a few bars and restaurants in the nearby vicinity. You also get to utilize all the amenities at the Holiday Inn next door - pools and pool bar, restaurants. You can room charge your items from Holiday Inn back to your Courtyard room. We found that some of the bartenders at the Holiday Inn would charge right to our room when we told them our room number then another told us we needed to have a special card from the front desk to do that. So she would not allow us to charge back to our room. We never looked into that "special" card though. All of our charges made it to our room though, so it worked. The Courtyard had free onsite parking, the pool area was very nice (not busy), and they left out snacks in the afternoon such as cookies and popcorn, apples and the like. The Courtyard's pool did not have a bar though which was the only real drawback. The other slight issue we encountered was that we booked a king size marina view room with a sofa and balcony through Courtyard, but there was no sofa in our room. The rooms were very nice. I think the cost of this hotel was a little high for what was provided, but I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This Marriott Courtyard is a very good place to stay in Key Largo. However this is not going to be B top of the line Marriott Courtyard that you have ever stayed in. The building itself is aging a bit and the staff can become overwhelmed when the hotel is full. They are nice and very friendly and very helpful as you would expect at any Marriott Courtyard. But sometimes there are just not quite enough of them. For instance the breakfast bar can be a little overwhelmed and take a little longer than normal. I think this helps to explain the wide range in ratings for this hotel. It really is a very nice place to stay but it is definitely not super luxurious. Those kind of places really do not exist in the keys unless you pay several times the courtyard rate at a very luxurious swank resort. We come here to get away and get a little dose of Island time and do a little diving. This is one of two hotels that have excellent access to the dive and fishing boats. Key Largo is a great place to visit if your expectations are diving fishing and island time. And this hotel is just right for that venue. But frankly I would not be supporting a wedding from here. And it is not where you are going to experience that "snap your fingers and it's done" high end Resort service level.

As for the specifics of the room. Ours was slightly larger than normal as you'd expecting at a Courtyard. Everything was in good working order and we had a great view of the pool in Largo Channel. The room was also very clean and had the normal high end linens. Internet speed is good at about 3 MPS. And water pressure in our shower was very good partly because of the superior Speakman shower heads that Marriott uses. The staff are also very helpful and try very hard to keep everybody happy. We found the manager extremely customer service oriented when we had a special need to test some dive equipment after the normal time that it's allowed in the pool. The pool is not extremely large and they accommodate the needs of diving and non driving guests bye limiting divers in the pool to the morning only. I think this makes a lot of sense. And if you need to do something like we did they are reasonable and accommodating you. I love it when a hotel allows its staff and management to think rather than just follow very detailed rules that only work for the average customer. One last thing I should mention is the parking. There are plenty of parking spaces even when the hotel is full. But the layout is driven by the location. This is really prime real estate right on Key Largo Channel. So some of the parking is under the hotel, and some is in areas shared by the dive companys and some in a lot on the other side. The hotel lobby itself is elevated to make the building suitable to withstand high water levels associated with hurricanes hurricanes. If you plan to cart a lot of divert équipement to the nearby boats it is best to bring one of those rolling carts with you. These are also handy to put your wet dive gear in after each dive.

So here's my bottom line. This is a very good place to stay in Key Largo. Especially if you are diving, fishing, or just want an island time get away. If you want extremely high end luxury be prepared to pay three times as much at a luxury resort several miles away. This is my second stay here and I will be back anytime we need a place to stay for diving with the family or just a dose off island time for my wife and myself.

I hope this helps.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sailright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We decided to stay here for our daughters wedding. Three words; What a Mistake!!. We reserved a king room with a sleeper sofa. They put us in a room a king room with no sofa. When we told the desk that was not what we reserved, we were informed they had only one room available. That room had a king bed with a sleeper sofa. Room was behind the reception desk and was absolutely filty. We called Marriott customer service. Amazingly, they had other rooms that were empty. The entire hotel is old and is need of serious updating. We have stayed at Marriott hotels around the country. This is undoubtedly the bottom of the barrel, never again.

Room Tip: Before you stay here, ask to check out the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wem1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,503 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,412 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
7.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
7.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key Largo

Property: Courtyard Key Largo
Address: 99751 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4373 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new Courtyard by Marriott Hotel. Experience this Key Largo hotel in the "Dive Capital of the World" featuring a marina, deep sea fishing charters, and dive tours. Only 55 minutes south of Miami, the Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo hotel is an ideal South Florida Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Ramada Limited Key Largo
Ramada Key Largo
Key Largo Ramada
Courtyard Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing