We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of D-Hooker - CLOSED

D-Hooker
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Overall very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I came in tonight to have a nice dinner. We were informed from friends that we could have a whole fish of our choice..it was very disappointing to hear that that is not true but overall very good food. Our waitress Amber was very sweet and nice and on top of everything, the only thing was she ran around doing a lot of things trying to help out everyone else in the restaurant while the other waitresses just stood around..its a bar atmosphere so don't go here if you want a nice quiet dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAlvarez20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManyPlacesKeyLargo, Manager at D-Hooker, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for visiting us and we greatly appreciate your review. Please know that you were not misinformed by your friends. We do carry whole yellowtail year round for our guests to enjoy and it is included in our menu. At times we do have whole red snapper, hogfish and grouper but since we only sell fresh fish, it depends on the season, it's availability and our fishermen's catch. We are sorry to hear it was not available during your visit but we are glad to know your overall experience was very good. Again, thank you and hope to see you again. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    132
    76
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go for the fried key lime pie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The food was average, they were out of ingredients for some of the drink specials, the service was a bit chaotic...overall, an average bar atmosphere.
I would recommend going here for the fried key lime pie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Last Year”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

One of our favourite places last year when we visited but sadly that was not the case this time. Last year the waitresses appeared older and were much more friendly - this year it was just a matter of orders being taken and the food appearing. The food was OK but again our memory of last year was much more positive. A real shame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Although this is a Sports Bar (in all the sense of the word) with TV's everywhere and loud music, the food was surprisingly good and tasty, I ordered one of their burgers and it was cooked just like I liked it, some of my party ordered a bucket of seafood for two and it was very good too.

If you don't mind the sports on TV all over, the loud music and bar atmosphere, give it a try for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariasol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central missouri
Level Contributor
206 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Update from an earlier review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

It's been a year since I've been here. Still just as good! The bartender, Cindy is a hoot! She'll make sure you have a good time. The fish tacos are so good, and you get a very generous serving to boot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobkat1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D-Hooker also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing