We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly sail and snorkel trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EcoKeys

EcoKeys
Ranked #80 of 120 Tours in Key Largo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an adventure ecotourism agency that provides a way for you to participate in a variety of activities that not only make for a memorable vacation, but also give you an opportunity to observe, learn about, and actively help in the preservation of the majestic Florida Keys. Our ecotours include SCUBA, snorkel, kayak, dolphin encounters, sail and Everglades trips -- all with an ecoconscious twist.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eco friendly sail and snorkel trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you want to experience the the spectacular coral reef off Key Largo, book a trip through Eco Keys. The marine biologists who run Eco Keys have put together great ways to experience the natural beauty of this unique reef, and do it in an environmentally responsible way. We had a wonderful half day -we sailed out to the reef in a beautiful sail boat and snorkeled for over an hour. The captain picked a place where few tour boats go, so we had the reef almost to ourselves. Saw fantastic fish, coral, plants, a giant hermit crab and possibly even a turtle! The experience of going out under sail power is so peaceful and quiet. We had the boat all to ourselves, a neat experience. Soft drinks and water were provided, and the was a cooler for food if you want to bring something else. We did rent wet suits (it was December), and were glad we did. Quite a different experience from the larger tour boats. Eco Keys is a friendly, customer oriented operation, great to work with. We would love to go again and highly recommend them. Know there's a sunset sail, I bet that is spectacular.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerfieldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Had an awesome time and would do the trip again with EcoKeys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Sarah set us up with an evening "Sunset Kayak Tour" and we had a blast. We went with a total of 12 people (6 adults, 6 teenagers). We arrived at the launch site and everything was ready. We took off after some preparation and everything went as planned. Sarah, our guide, was EXTREMELY well-educated on the surroundings and her marine biology experience enabled her to teach us all some things we didn't know. She is very passionate about the Keys and her knowledge is excellent! And in the end, most of all, we had fun! I would highly recommend EcoKeys to anyone who was interested!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank wawachik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awesome snorkeling experience for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

This was the perfect snorkeling experience for my family with an 8 year old and two teenagers. Sarah our EcoKeys guide and instructor was awesome. We started the day with a classroom instruction learning about the reef and the coral. It was a great foundation for what was to come in our afternoon snorkeling trip. Sarah remained with us as our personal snorkeling guide. She was extremely patient and helpful with our 8 year old who was initially apprehensive about getting in the water. Sarah stayed by her side and swam with her in water. By the end of the trip our daughter was snorkeling by herself! Sarah was just as engaging with our teen boys who are avid swimmers. Together they spotted various fish and sea life and helped document the coral bleaching areas we had learned about that morning. Sarah has and extensive background in marine studies and is a marine biologist, also is an instructor with Marine Lab in Key Largo. Her comfort with children was apparent and my kids had a great time snorkeling and learning from her. The learning opportunity of the morning classroom definitely made our snorkeling more interesting. Upon getting off the boat at the end of our day they were already asking when we were coming back. Overall this was a truly exhilarating experience that we definitely plan on doing again with EcoKeys!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Would highly recommend this one of a kind experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I went on the EcoKeys kayaking, resource management and coral reef tours. The guides were not only personable and fun to dive and kayak with, but as marine biologists are extremely knowledgeable about the mangroves, reefs, fish, and conservation efforts that are going on in the Keys. I loved being out there and being able to have all of my questions answered as we went along. As a part time Keys resident already familiar with the environment, through this experience I have a much greater appreciation for the marine life, reefs, and efforts being made to preserve this beautiful area that we have! Through the certifications that I received during this experience I will be able to actively participate in the ongoing research and data collection that will assist in maintaining the reefs---which for me is just a great excuse to dive more often! I would highly recommend these tours to anyone interested in exploring the Keys. Locals especially would learn some new things and benefit from this experience. It was really awesome!! Thanks Sarah, Martha, and Jesus.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank marytravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Wakeforest and USF Masters-degreed marine biologist Sarah was the ideal, personal guide for our tween and teen family. She provided an enthusiastic morning "ground school," setting the stage for what we would see and do in the afternoon. Then, she accompanied us for a full afternoon of snorkeling and diving at Molasses Reef, explaining, assisting, enhancing our safety through her attentiveness in the open water, and answering throughout. Waterproof clipboards in tow, she helped us identify and note more than 33 species of fish and sea creatures on the reef. Her long experience as a (continuing) instructor at a nationally acclaimed Keys habitat education center was apparent in her approach to the day-long tour with us. We wish only that we had allocated multiple days to spend with her. We will be back with that itinerary. Highest recommendation for any who want to learn, and have fun doing it.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Adventurefamily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EcoKeys also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to EcoKeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing