We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view/Silly management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have stayed here twice for one night each on the way back from the parrothead convention in Key West. Upper rooms have a great view. Each time they have some new charge that is just silly. Last time it was a $10 parking fee for a parking lot that is only used by the Hilton. Yet, there are signs posted that parking is at your own risk! This time it was a "resort fee" of $18 for use of the tiki bar, pool and watersports. The bar closes at 5pm. Check in is at 4pm. Watersports was closed due to wind. $18 dollars to use the hot tub. Maybe this would make better sense for a stay that is more than one night. I am a Hilton Honors member and I felt taken advantage of. Just give me a price and stop the unposted extras.

Room Tip: Get an upper room on the left side of the hotel as you face the hotel from highway 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandfever40RKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,285 - 2,291 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotels' room seemed a bit run down (cobwebs and TV system not working) but the service is custom Hilton and very good. Excellent beach location as well as good pool and hot tub area. On site restaurant is a bit pricey but food is high quality and service again is excellent. Hotel removed our resort fee charge in recognition of room issues so we were happy with this compromise. Recommend room on ocean side as rooms on road side can be noisy.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Girly-Avanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have recently returned to the UK after spending 8 nights at Hilton Key Largo. We had the most wonderful time, beautiful room overlooking the beech/woodland trail. Staff were helpful at all times. Breakfast at Treetops was most enjoyable on the two occasions we dined. We would definatly go back again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Excellent all around from the location, to the staff, to the check-in process, to the comfort. We greatly enjoyed the sweeping views of the sea and the secluded feeling of the resort. This is where we'll stay from now on when we visit Key Largo.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have just returned from a stay the The Hilton Key Largo – never again!

We arrived late morning after a long overnight flight and we were told in no uncertain terms that there would be no early check in – despite being Diamond Level members with the Hilton Honors programme. We gave our cell number and the receptionist said she would call us when the room was free – but she didn’t.

When the room was finally free, we were horrified at what greeted us. The rooms are not even up to the same standard as a typical American motel room. Our first room had badly stained brown carpet, there were holes in the bed sheets and the room had an awful mouldy damp smell. The rooms are also configured in a weird way, with the bedroom and bathroom divided by an artificial wall with a (cracked) sink in it.

We went back to reception to complain. In fairness to the reception manager, he showed us two other rooms (and offered us a free cocktail at the hotel beach bar). The rooms were exactly the same as the one above, but at least they didn’t smell so badly. As we were so tired, we accepted the room and went to sleep.

The breakfast is expensive if it is not included in your package and as with other reviewers’ comments, the wifi didn’t work very well during our stay. The open corridors also have a soulless motel feel about them. And the swimming pools are positioned in a rather strange location between the car park and the No.1 Highway!

The manager informed us that Hilton has only owned this property for a couple of years and there is a renovation programme due. I would suggest bringing this forward as soon as possible as it could be such a fantastic and wonderful resort with its two beaches and pier. But, as it stands, I would recommend that readers carry on down The Keys and stay at one of the smaller private hotels or B&Bs – some of which look really charming – and, much more in keeping with the absolute beauty which the Keys represent in absolute abundance.

Finally - the 'resort charge'. What a total scandal and a rip off - I agree with previous reviews about this unnecessary surcharge.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a sea view and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear London69,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. As a loyal rewards member and as our guest, we appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with conditions of your guest room and property decor. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve and undergo future renovations. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Stephen Brower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Property was in a beautiful area. Is a little older and needs some upkeep. Some of the staff is foreign and have problems communicating. The rooms that don't face the water are kind of noisy, considering this is a resort. It's nice for the chairs to be included in the resort fee.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The rugs unraveling, wood furniture was scratched up, love seat, worn and not clean, closet had musty order , internet had lousy connection, room had ant infestation ! We checked out a day early, the MGR. did not charge us for our early, unexpected departure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Brower, Front Office Manager at Hilton Key Largo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Jamie R,
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this issue to me and allowing me to follow up with our housekeeping staff, internet service provider and local pest control company, ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. If I can assist you further, certainly let me know.

Kind regards,
Stephen Brower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,569 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,373 reviews
4.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: £164 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club
Hilton Key Largo Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing