We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't really live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I'm not sure if we got a bad room or if they're all the same, but the junior suite is very small, almost like a regular sized room that's just been turned into a 2-room suite. I was traveling with my girlfriend so we'd both like to use dresser drawers, but there were only 3 half-length dresser drawers because the other half of the dresser had the safe. There was one small trash can in the entire room, no luggage rack to put suitcases on, and ants that seemed to be attracted to toiletries...really hadn't seen that before in a hotel, and kind of worried about transporting them back in our luggage after checking out. The beach is small and really eroded and the beach chairs sit very unevenly and are tilted quite a bit facing down the steep hill to the water. We weren't really sure what the resort fee was going towards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,208 - 2,214 of 3,946 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great service, great location, Friendly and hidden in it's own perfect world, still close enough for anything we wanted to do in the Keys or to just hide out there. Perfect for us to escape and not want to leave.

Room Tip: We choose a suite with a water view, Really beautifully framed the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ccrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great location a bit away from the middle of Key Largo, but close to most of the better restaurants. Weather was too cool to get in the pool or enjoy the beach area, and the WIFI signal is erratic - fine in the main lobby and conference rooms, but spotty in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Hilton Key Largo Resort. The room was very nice, we had a great view of the water. It well worth paying the extra money for ocean view at this resort. The grounds around the resort make for a very nice walk. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious at the resort's restaurant, The TreeTop.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Key Largo Hilton for 2 nights as part of a 5 night tour of the Keys to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Let me start with the good... this hotel has a great location and unbelievable grounds- mangrove trees, cool little beaches, unbelievable sunsets and incredible views from the upper floor rooms. Even though the pool is in a strange location (across the parking lot from the hotel) it is a very nice double sided pool with a water fall. One side of the pool is adult only (which we greatly appreciated!!) with the other side being for families. The bar and restaurant are nice and we really enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour. Now for the bad...the hotel desperately needs some updating. It has an almost motel feel when going to and from your room with the hallways being outside and not well maintained. Also the staff could do more to keep the hallways cleaner- I saw piles of dirty linen sitting in hallways for hours and it just made the hotel seem kind of sloppy. Now for the ugly- the rooms are very in need of a major over hall. Bathroom has some mold in shower area and the carpet looked pretty worn out to the point where my wife would not walk around the room bare foot.
I gave the hotel a over all very good rating only because of the wonderful service, beautiful grounds, fantastic views and great pool areas but the rooms are in great need of some renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Key Largo Hilton as part of a 5 night tour of the Keys to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Let me start by with the good... this hotel has a great location and unbelievable grounds- mangrove trees, cool little beaches, unbelievable sunsets and incredible views from the upper floor rooms. Even though the pool is in a strange location (across the parking lot from the hotel) it is a very nice double sided pool with a water fall. One side of the pool is adult only (which we greatly appreciated!!) with the other side being for families. The bar and restaurant are nice and we really enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour. Now for the bad...the hotel desperately needs some updating. It has an almost motel feel when going to and from your room with the hallways being outside and not well maintained. Also the staff could do more to keep the hallways cleaner- I saw piles of dirty linen sitting in hallways for hours and it just made the hotel seem kind of sloppy. Now for the ugly- the rooms are very in need of a major over hall. Bathroom has some mold in shower area and the carpet looked pretty worn out to the point where my wife would not walk around the room bare foot. I gave the hotel a over all very good rating only because of the wonderful service, beautiful grounds, fantastic views and great pool areas but the rooms are in great need of some renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bob820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Well, the rooms were clean, towels nice and soft, mattress comfy, area safe, grounds trimmed. All important requirements for a hotel stay. But this is very much overpriced room. And on top of that a resort charge of $18. This was to cover use of pool, fitness Ctr (which was way way inconvenient and too far to walk to alone at night), Internet, grounds, parking. The internet only connected once after I used lots of battery juice and the 1-800 help number but after hanging up from help desk it went back to spinning again. The cell service was the exact same way. Room was waterfront but not oceanfront and we could barely see the water anyway. The pillows were feather and terrible and room noisy because of being open air to parking lot (just a pet peeve...folks must you really use a horn noise to tell them it locked). People with kids may get more enjoyment.

So I absolutely would not recommend. We feel like we wasted our money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
4.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Key Largo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Key Largo Resort

Address: 97000 Overseas Highway, Key Largo, FL 33037-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: £169 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Key Largo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel offers a Florida Keys vacation experience quite like the Hilton Key Largo. This pristine, 13-acre resort sits on the best private beach in the upper Keys — and while it’s only an hour from Miami, you’ll feel worlds away, thanks to the sparkling white sand, lush tropical greenery and exciting outdoor activities.Guests at the Hilton Key Largo can enjoy as much excitement or relaxation as they like. Activities include world-class fishing and water sports, jet skis, wave runners, and para sailing. Nearby attractions include Dolphin Cove and the John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park, which is home to the only live coral reef in the continental United States. Kids love the hotel’s Scout About children’s program, and the whole family can enjoy the two heated swimming pools, fitness center and lighted tennis courts. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with spending hours just relaxing on the gorgeous beach and swimming in the crystal clear waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Or enjoying quiet moments in the handsomely appointed guest rooms, each of which is graced with a private balcony — opt for a water-view room and you’ll have a front-row seat for Key Largo’s spectacular sunsets. This is paradise, made easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Key Largo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Hilton Hotels Key Largo
Hilton Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Grande Resort Beach Club
Hilton Key Largo Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing