We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Most Amazing Underwater Sights We Have Seen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Dry Rocks

North Dry Rocks
Ranked #30 of 70 things to do in Key Largo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reef is a small maze of large limestone ledges that come up to 5 feet below the water surface, making it an excellent dive site for beginners.
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of the Most Amazing Underwater Sights We Have Seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

If you are a snorkeler or diver you have to do this. The amount of sea life and the obvious conservation efforts of this reef is beyond amazing. We could have stayed all day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DixieGirl1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be prepared for crowds !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Of course, this has to be the biggest tourist attraction in Pennekamp. Unless you get there early in the morning on a private boat, be prepared for a massive crowd of inexperience snorklers on the surface. They all crowd around the Christ Statue kicking their fins and talking. You WILL be smacked in the face by someone's fins. I don't know how they can see anything in the water without putting their face in. I sure wish the dive operators would give more instruction on common courtesy...swim up to the statue, take a look and your pictures then move away for someone else to have a turn.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Reef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lots of color and life. Worth a dive, especially since its perfect after a deeper dive. Also check out the reefs around this dive spot. you may also venture into the Spiegle Grove dive wreck before hitting North Dry Rocks..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SALM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots of wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were able to see Christ of the deep. Nothing spectacular, just another tourist attraction. We dove the area (scuba) I think you could of seen most of what it had to offer by just snorkeling.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank weagejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice for beginners and occasional divers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Ok so I have hundreds of dives logged and am a bit jaded. This is a good dive site but if you are an advanced diver it could get a bit boring.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Dry Rocks also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to North Dry Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing