We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, a bit pricey”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We used Priceline to bid on a hotel and got Holiday Inn for $110 plus taxes and fees a night. I know the Keys are expensive so I wasn't expecting much. Reading an earlier review makes me think that maybe Hotwire gets better treatment than Priceline but I was told to upgrade to a poolside room would be an extra $60 - bringing the room cost to $170 - so we opted to stick
with the parking lot side room.

Pros:
* Very clean, comfortable rooms
* Super comfy beds and pillows
* Close to everything - esp diving
* Nice pools

Cons:
* Very strong deodoriser used in some rooms (see story below if you are sensitive to chemicals / scents)
* Very loud air conditioner units in the room even on low or fan only setting
* No microwaves in room
* Restaurant has *no* food options for vegetarians. We had to travel off site every night for dinner.

Re: deodorizer in room: The first room we were given had a very strong scent. I haven't been in a hotel recently that uses deodorizer so didn't think to request none in advance. A chat with housekeeping revealed that when people smoke in the room they use a strong deodorizer to cover up the smell of smoke. Anyway, after an hour in the room I developed a bad headache and asked to be moved to a room without deodorizer. They offered me poolside for $60 more a night. I wasn't going to be in the room enough so declined. They showed me a 3 other rooms - 2 which smelled just as strongly and 1 which was better. So we moved there. If you are sensitive, make sure you do a "smell test" before settling in. I had hoped the smell was just a mist in the air that would dissipate quickly but it apparently does not.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property and are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Keys. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and have spoken with housekeeping to ensure the proper amounts of order neutralizer are being utilized during the cleaning process of our guest rooms.
Please note we have a microwave located in the restaurant/lobby area available for guests complimentary 24 hours a day and our restaurant is happy to provide vegetarian options upon request.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    690
    333
    111
    46
See reviews for
433
655
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good overall hotel for the money. Close to John Pennekamp State Park and Publix which is a plus. There was a cockroach in the room but we are from Florida so this is understandable I guess. Kids enjoyed the pool and it was refreshing after a long day in the saltwater. This hotel had everything we needed: pool, wifi, small fridge and a clean room.The bathroom was a little small but overall I would recommend this hotel.
I wish there was a rating above average but below very good - that is what I would give this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room by the pool which was good for my kids and it wasnt too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyL5230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the onsite amenities. I apologize for any inconvenience with regards to the palmetto bug. We are an exterior property with tropical foliage.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lingfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great place to stay for being able to roll out of bed and get on your boat (two minutes). Ok hotel, in house dining at bogies very slow, two pools and a hot tub with bar in the middle, $5 for two sliders and chips.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noonespecial_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the onsite amenities. Thank you for bringing to our attention the service provided at our onsite restaurant. Our menu items are made fresh daily and prepared to order which may have caused a delay in service.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinellas Park
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We live in the St. Pete area of Florida. My husband and son are divers so we take a trip to the Keys EVERY year. The most stressful part of the trip is finding a place to stay that doesn't break the bank and is worth the ridiculous amount places in the Keys charge. This year, I waited too long and got tired of looking at travel websites and calling hotels. I threw myself on the mercy of Hotwire's Express Deal. We got a poolview room with two double beds for 4 people for $138 a night. During the high season, that price is not uncommon, however for $138 I was expecting alot. The room was a little small for 4 people, however, it was very, VERY clean and it smelled fresh, not like chemicals something very citrusy and the beds were super comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor so we had a great view of the pool area. There was a landing so we were able to sit right outside our room and enjoy some drinks. The pool area is great. The pool towels are nice and large and there were plenty of lounge chairs and tables. Everyone on the staff was very friendly especially housecleaning. The hotel is located on a marina so fishing, snorkeling and tour boats are easy to get to. There is a restaurant on the property but we found it too pricey. There is a Subway and a Dunkin Donuts within a 2 minute walk and a Wendy's across the street. Within a 10 minute drive you hit several little local restaurants and a strip mall with a Publix and a Kmart. The room had a medium sized refrigerator but it lacked a microwave. For $138, a microwave should be standard. This is the most we have ever paid for a hotel room so I was expecting a lot and while we were happy with our stay, at $138 a night, there are other properties I will check out for our next trip. I will just book waaaay in advance.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool or marina view. They are more expensive, but the other rooms face the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property and are delighted you enjoyed your time in the Keys. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please note we also have marina view accommodations with private balconies should you like for your next stay as well as a microwave located in the restaurant/lobby area available for guests complimentary 24 hours a day. We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILMINGTON NC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is older but clean, very family friendly . It has a tiki bar at pool with very friendly staff. The highlight was a glass bottom boat tour to Reef with Capt. Duffy. They are located at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOYSTERBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the onsite amenities and glad you enjoyed the Glass Bottom Boat. Please note we have recently received new queen size beds in our room accommodations.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs,Fl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

7/19/13-7/21/13-The staff was very friendly and helpful, service was spectacular. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and kids eat free. I would recommend this hotel. Was very close to baseball field, shopping center and many places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natmc33076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property and appreciate your recommendation. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am pleased you appreciated the onsite amenities as well as the friendly staff.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo. Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!
Sincerely,
Diane,Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived on July 21 and stayed to July 24th! What a great esperience! Staff was welcoming and friendly. We had a room by the pool on the first floor with a small patio. It was like being in a tropical paradise. We have spent quite a bit of time in the Caribbean and were truly surprised by the atmosphere here! Much nicer than one would expect from a Holiday Inn.
While the rooms could be a little brighter, they were clean, bedding was comfortable and since our weather was perfect we spent most of our time in the pool area. Food and drinks at the Tiki bar was delicious and service was friendly.
Hotel was very close to all the amenities offered in Key Largo and hotel staff was quick to help us decide where we would go for the best scenery, sunsets, fresh fish and things to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside as otherwise you will be overlooking the parking lot. First floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 527margaretp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keylargoresortsmgmt, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and stay at our Holiday Inn Key Largo. Our team is thrilled your experience with us was "wonderful". The staff takes pride in providing our guests with the atmosphere that is unique to the Florida Keys. We are so glad you departed Key Largo with the feeling of being in paradise.

I will share your comments with our Front Desk Staff, who assisted with local attractions, Tiki Bar bartender/servers for their wonderful service and housekeeping department regarding the clean beds.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next visit to Key Largo.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
948 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,410 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
557 reviews
3.9 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Property: Holiday Inn Key Largo
Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing