We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scuba Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Only stayed 1 night here but it was worth it for what we were looking for. Good location right on the water way where all the Scuba Shops are, which was exactly what we needed. We were due to stay 2 nights but our 2nd day of diving got cancelled due to high winds. We headed to Orlando for the DEMA show and did some cavern diving up in High Springs. Overall the stay at the Holiday Inn was what we needed. They accommodated a roll away bed for us and ground floor room due to 3 of us having a bunch of Scuba Gear. If I get back to Key Largo for some diving I'll be staying at the Holiday Inn Key Largo again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T7776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I would rate this 3.5 stars if I could. This hotel was a bit better than I expected, but isn't resort quality. I'll lay out the good and the bad:

The bad: You'll have to keep a sharp eye out to find this place from US1 (northbound side), they have very little road frontage and not the kind of signage that you'll notice automatically. Our room was fairly standard inside and though we were fortunate enough to get a canalside room the sliding door to the balcony had some sort of bent up lock that made the door hard to open/close/secure. The blow dryer in the bathroom had such a short cord that it was hard to use. The tiki bartender was a bit inattentive and seemingly not interested in being there and serving customers. Someone else mentioned in their review that the a/c sounded like a blender, we must have gotten the same room because ours did too and it was really distracting. But that noise was drowned out about 11:30 when someone in the room above ours decided to start moving furniture around (apparently). Fortunately the noise only lasted about 30 mins then was done.

The good: The front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The pool/sauna/tiki area is very nice for a non-resort hotel. It had lit tiki torches, 2 pools (1 with waterfall feature which our daughter loved), sauna, and tiki bar. The canalfront had much more to offer than I'd realized when booking. The original African Queen boat from the movie, a glass bottom boat, scuba boats, and sailing cruises all dock here. Had I known a glass bottom boat was available here I would've booked it instead of going to Pennekamp. It was cool to watch the boats depart in the morning while watching from our room.

Summary: I'd stay here again if I'm in the area. There were some things that need fixing, and I'd hope that they get fixed, but that's not uncommon and there were redeeming features that I'd like to take more advantage of.

Room Tip: If you can get a canalfront room it's scenic and close to the activities. Get 2nd floor rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0bot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Walkable to activities and many restaurants, this was a good choice for a place to stay. The pools were beautiful, two pools. One seemed to have more families around it, and the other adults, with an excellent bar in between them.
For a place near water, they could have had better drying capabilities. The bathroom had a beautiful shower, but could have used a closet rod across the top to hang things. As it was, I was wary of putting a hanger on the shower head.
I read a helpful hint in another review that they don't have an elevator, so I requested a ground-floor room.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for a ground floor room if you will have heavy baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aquazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is definitely showing its age. Rooms are fairly large but, nothing special. Tiki bar poolside was a typical....well...tiki bar. The pool itself was quite pretty with a roomy deck around it. .
We had picked this hotel because as two single ladies, we did not want to be driving around looking for a place to eat.The day we arrived, we asked about the restaurant for reservations and were told that they were having a buffet that night and there would be no other menu choices. I can't remember the price but, it was outrageous. We asked about nearby restaurants and were told about a restaurant "just down the way and across the street." <How about 8 blocks "down the way" and across highway 1...a four lane highway with very few crossing areas! Not interested in staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Thelma0313,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the hotel's condition and over the restaurant food selections during your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as this would be forwarded to the management. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and because we'd heard that it was one of the nicer hotels in the area. The location was perfect and the pool area was very nice. The room was what was the most disappointing aspect of the hotel. The air conditioner unit sounded like a blender running all night. Our sink did not drain well and the room just did not feel "fresh & clean". We even had a large cockroach run across the floor one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Kevin A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see the high score for Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed in this poor, far overrated, far overpriced and depressing hotel out of necessity (everything else around booked...) It's basically a motel, stuck between a gas station and a mall on the side of the only (ugly) road. And my room was for sure a $ 50 motel room.
But the worse is that a few weeks after my stay someone started to use my credit card numbers to buy stuff on the web !!! And for various very simple reasons, it can only come from this hotel.
So on my next trip in FL, next month, I'm going to press charges (since neither the Bank not the merchants will do it), but meanwhile make sure to stay away from this horrific place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IcaroFliegender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear IcaroFliegender,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Key Largo.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Couldn't be happier with this room. It was clean, nice, and extremely comfortable. The staff was great and the location is very good and convenient. It was a little steep but all rooms are that way during March.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,523 reviews
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
596 reviews
7.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £119 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing