We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pools, nice pool bar and close to some nice places to eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed 27 November 2009

The hotel rooms mostly overlook the three hotel pools and the pool bar, which are nicely set out and usually busy. The rooms are fairly basic, but fulfil basic needs. We stayed here on our way down from Naples, to go snorkelling at the John Pennecamp State Coral Reef Park, but before tackling Highway 1 to Key West (a very slow road by the way, 45 mph tops and it's mostly single lane). Key Largo is stretched along either side of Highway 1 which means that there isn't really a "centre". However the Holiday Inn has a pool bar, a bar/night club (which looked pretty seedy), but is close to some of the better places in town, including Doc's Diner (highly recommended for the American Diner experience - and breakfast!) and the Conch House restaurant serving excellent local fish dishes, both of which were in very short walking distance.

I would stay here again to break up the journey between the Everglades and Key West, nothing wrong with the hotel, but I was left feeling a bit uninspired by Key Largo itself.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoughPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,143 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed for 5 days while diving with Rainbow Reef Divers. Had poolside king room; nice tropical setting for these rooms, just a step away from the pool, comfortable. Only negative note was a bathtub that drained poorly that they tried to fix twice without success; however, Anne Marie at the desk was very nice and made a fair compensating adjustment to our bill. Had morning buffet one morning and it was very good. General friendliness of all of the staff from desk to grounds to restaurant was outstanding and that really makes a hotel stay ever so much more pleasant. Overall, excellent place to stay in Key Largo.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncdiver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

After a 10 hour flight from London, we didn't want the 3 hour + trek to Key West, so we booked in for one night at the Holiday Inn. Check in was quick and efficient and we had a large, quiet room in an outlying block. The pool area and bar were very nice and it was great to sit out and enjoy a beer. We didn't like the look of Bogies restaurant, so settled for a burger elsewhere. There is a local Pulix nearby which was great for getting breakfast and sandwiches for the journey ahead.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

The room was lovely although I admit the carpets have a strong smell from the renovation, and the windows can't be opened. So we called the front desk and they upgraded us to a wonderful room with a balcony, overlooking the harbor. The pool iwth the waterfall is as refreshing as it looks in the photo. What came as a total surprise was the quality of the mahi mahi sandwich we ordered for lunch. It was fantastic! (and reasonably priced) The hotel is very peaceful and has a good vibe. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tg94901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I stayed in the Holiday Inn in Key Lago with my wife room rates change by the day you can get abetter rate from the hotel reception staff than booking on the net.

Best rooms are located aroung the swimming pool the rooms near the canal smell from the fuel used on the diesel engines from the boats moored and some rooms very dark check the type of room before you accept the key
Stay no more the 3 days Key Largo ig for fishing and snorkling more entertainment in Key West also too expensive for room rates

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverjet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in July and not having visited the Keys before we were looking to stay somewhere mid range in price and comfortability and based on the trip advisor reviews picked this Hotel - but we feel very disappointed and didnt feel this is value for money as its clearly not a mid range hotel qualtiy wise. This is what I would describe as a motel - our room - on the ground floor was very small for three people and opened directly onto the gardens which had a very tiny outside space furnished with 2 chairs and although we had booked a smoke free room sitting outside was not possible as our smoking neighbours were so close we felt we were smoking also!
In fact smoking was a bit of an issue at and in the pool also - several people smoked while actually in the pool - yuk! not sure what the Holiday Inns policy is here but I found it pretty horrible. Also although there are signs around the property advising that the pool was for residents only I witnessed one local arriving after a days work -he then proceeded to removed his filthy t-shirt and shoes and then jumped straight into the pool filthy work shorts and all! I dont want to sound snobbish - but please change and shower first! Ive no objections locals using the pool if its quiet but while we were there the pool are was very busy.
This incident put us off big time and didnt spend much time there only returning to sleep. The decor in the reception area and the rooms was all a bit tired. On the positive side the room although small was clean and its location is easy to find as its right on the main highway!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Wonderful food at Bogies (hotel restaurant), beautiful landscaping with a waterfall in one of the pools, clean rooms and great service. What more could you ask for? We stayed at the end of August which is not peak season so we were told. The pool was sort of busy during the day and early evening but we pretty much had the restaurant to ourselves everytime we ate. The next time we visit the Keys, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HellsBells820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
6.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,524 reviews
7.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
596 reviews
7.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Key Largo

Address: 99701 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker #100, Key Largo, FL 33037-4324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Price Range: £119 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the ideal Florida Keys location for families and individuals looking for an experience worth repeating in a breath taking locale. Absorb yourself in all that we have to offer! Stroll along our marina and paved pathways through lush foliage to find our two heated outdoor pools with Tiki Bar, cascading waterfall, Jacuzzi and spacious pool deck. Sip a tropical cocktail at our Tiki Bar, or savor delicious local fare at Bogie's Cafe and Garden Terrace. With spacious, well appointed rooms overlooking our tropical paradise and marina, the Holiday Inn Key Largo Resort is the perfect place for exploring the many wonders of the Florida Keys. Discover the enchantments of the Coral Reefs when you snorkel or dive. Experience our famous waters aboard the Glass Bottom Boat, on a fishing excursion, or even toast champagne on a sunset cruise. Try your luck on the Casino Boat! Located only 55 minutes from Miami, the Holiday Inn Key Largo is truly a world away. From the moment you arrive, you will know you have reached your destination; Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Key Largo Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing