We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't want to leave and we will be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave and we will be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Upon arrival, check in was quick & easy. The room was very clean and had a gorgeous view of the bay. The bed was very comfortable,, shower was great and there was a small frig in the room. The resort grounds were very well maintained and the pool was clean and refreshing. The beach was a typical bay beach with lots of chairs and shade if you wanted it.
We ate at all the restaurants for different meals and they couldn't be better. No matter where you were on the resort grounds the staff was extremely courteous, very friendly ,and helpful. Location was convenient to the upper and middle keys with Key West a 1 1/2 hour beautiful drive away. Our vacation couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    789
    348
    134
    85
See reviews for
666
853
31
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

We stayed at the Marriott Key Largo at the end of March. The location is a little off-putting at first (right on top of highway 1) but we were not bothered by highway noise.

The resort is good for older kids/teens with the open air ping pong/shuffleboard/air hockey area under one of the buildings. The pool is nice with a welcome hot tub early in the season that is open till 11PM. The bay sunset view from the beach is wonderful.

We did not use the snorkel trips from the hotel as there are equivalent ones on Key Largo that are less expensive. There is an especially good rate for a 1-hr trip at John Pennecamp park concessionaire. They discount for teens all the way up to 18. (but they make you BUY your own snorkel--supposedly more sanitary). We utilized those snorkels on other trips though.

Gus's breakfast could use a little more variety. We did not eat dinners at Gus's, and the front desk people were very helpful in recommending other places that we could visit for dinners to get a little variety. The pool tiki bar was fine for being a tiki bar and the bar tender was friendly and accommodating. We did not eat any meals there.

All around a good place for a family vacation. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

We came down for one night in hopes of snorkeling the following morning. We got there early thinking we would just change into our suits and lounge by the pool. Well, they had our room ready within an hour. We were one of the lucky few who had a bay view in the Sugarloaf building. It was BREATHTAKING! We had a view of the bay and the amazing pool area. We headed straight down to the pool/beach area for a long afternoon in the sun. There were a few lounge chairs available in the sand (which was nicer than I expected) right on the water's edge. Waiters came around to take food and drink oders, but we opted to BYOB. The pool was comfortably warm and refreshing. It was crowded with kids and families, but it was big enough to escape them. We stayed out there until 7 at night! That evening we opened our balcony door and ate dinner while watching TV. Indoor/outdoor living at it's finest! The shower was fabulous. The whole bathroom was updated and clean. The bed was so big and comfy. We could have stayed there all day if it wasn't so beautiful outside. We requested a late check out since we were not sure what time we would get back from snorkeling (which ended up getting cancelled), and it was no big deal! Very friendly staff. Overall, WONDERFUL experience. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed here for one night on the way back up from Key West to enable us to take the first snorkel trip of the day at John Pennecamp Coral Reef State park and for that it worked well as the Park entrance is just a couple of miles down the road. We ate dinner at Sundowners next door which was very good, and looked better (and much busier) than the hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrevsterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

After a few days in Key West, my husband and I decided we'd like to move on to the Upper Keys. He found a great kayak trip for us in Key Largo, so we had to look for a hotel there. As I'm a Marriott Silver Elite member, and the Trip Advisor reviews for the Marriott were okay, we booked a room there for two nights. While the hotel isn't anything special, I loved the pool area. It's huge, has lots of chairs and is in the sun for hours - all great attributes when you're visiting Florida from the cold Northeast. While small, the hotel also had a well equipped exercise room. A feature that I didn't expect but appreciated because I needed to do some laundry was an on-site washer/dryer area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Ok so as expected there are some good and some bad:
Good: Rooms with a view, but as mentioned earlier alot of bay view rooms are blocked so ask for an unobstructed view if you want a real water view. Stick with levels 3 and 4 in the sugar loaf building - Room 403 is probably the best room in the place but it is also the pricey penthouse--rooms 301, 302 and 401, 402 are unobstructed water views--it's a great way to wake up in the am
Good: Breezers - 1/2 off happy hour for both drinks and apps, great place to unwind and prep for dinner
Good: Gus's Grille- limited menu but still fine dining, ask for winsome, she makes her own drinks and makes an incredible Bahama mama.
Good: Watersports "it's a dive" - this place is one stop shopping, from the docks you can jetski, para sail, boat ride, scuba /snorkel tours--we took out the jetski on multiple days, this may have been the funnest part of the trip
Good: the location is great for pennekamp park
--now for the bad
Bad: Room Temp - yes your in the keys its going to be hot but the ac was basically ineffective, it never once got below 75 degrees in the room, we are from Florida so we adjusted but i can picture non-southerners being very uncomfortable
Bad: Comfort of the bed - this was the primary reason why we left early - pillows and bed were uncomfortable and we had trouble sleeping
Bad: Parking is limited close to the elevator, try to go during slower periods

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floridarules9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Stayed here as a stop over from Key West to Miami. Hotel is in a nice position and even though on highway1 the rooms were very quiet. The pool is very nice and beach is small but clean . Bar staff very helpful and keep you topped up with drinks. Room very clean and a good size with 2 very comfortable beds. Dinner was great at Gus's. Service very good and food was excellent. Breakfast is very good value and has loads of choices. Take advantage of happy hour and watch the beautiful sunset. Staff very friendly and helpful and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disappointedvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
11.3 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
11.6 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing