We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint with great views but don't expect The Ritz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint with great views but don't expect The Ritz!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I was very pleased with the room they put us in- on the corner 1st floor with a view of the beach and hammock/water- it was a gorgeous sunset on our balcony. That being said, the moment we walked into our room the STRONG smell of bleach almost knocked us out. Even the bellman commented, I told him we'd just open the doors and let it air out. After the bleach smell subsided we realized that they were trying to cover up the SOUR smell that was in there. Towels, bathroom, rugs, all of it smelled like sour milk. Yuck.
Cute pool and hammocks, moody bartenders and a terrible parking lot. All in all, we still really enjoyed ourselves but it was certainly not the best hotel stay I've had.
**I also just remembered that there wasn't any room service or dinner available on site- their restaurant was closed and you had to take a shuttle to the convention center. It would have been nice if they told you this when you book the room considering we were looking forward to breakfast in bed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carshlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    797
    356
    137
    86
See reviews for
682
861
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

Stayed one night , third floor, corner room, with fantastic views. Excellent restaurant, and room service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlantis_514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord,MA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Juist back from a large business meeting at the Marriot Key Largo. The hotel is located right of the main highway- but this is not a problem (for sleeping) because the hotel is constructed in the "With stand an "A" Bomb and Hurricane mode. Solid concrete block overcoated with stucco- entrances are around smaller inner courtyards ala Holiday Inns from 1969 (which I guess is the age of this property). Don't get me wrong the property has gone through many renovations and the sleeping rooms are really nice in the Marriott fashion (four poster king bed- great mattressess, high count linen sheets, lots of fluffy pillows". Each room as a balcony- some facing the side of the resort, some facing the highway, some facing the water and beach.

The property faces the Gulf side of Key Largo- and the sunset(s )and water views are as good as it gets in Florida with the Key sweeping away to the south. There are inlet cutting into the property with boats for hire for snorkeling, fishing etc moored in them. Walkays over the inlets connect many of the hotel buildings.

The building for "main tent sessions" (room enough to seat 200 theatre style) is along the far north of the property on the water front but set incongruously behind an industrial looking dry dock- boat repair and storage company (reminds me of one of the building for repairing boats you might see on the east river in New York). However the views across the water towards the key on the South Side of this building are incredible. It is a haul from the hotel sleeping rooms to this building (at least 1/2 mile) but the hotel does provide covered golf carts ( five to six of the six seater variety) to transport people back and forth. Foods was fine for the sessions and we also hosted bbq and happy hours at the edge of the water just beside the water front restaurant.

Pool is fine- nothing special with a TIKI shack serving drinks.

The beach is not really a beach (sort of one but not really) and the photos on the Web Stie are misleading. It is a constructed beach with about 50 feet of ground sloping to the water- the rest is sand brought up onto the hotel propery with a four to five foot drop from the retainiing wall to the water. It has a lovely appearance but is NOT to be confused with a real Daytona or Clearwater Beach that the kids can run up and down on.

My only real gripe with the property (service was fine- but not "This is my job forever and I am proud of it service" one gets from the Four Seasons or Ritz) were the restaurants on site. They were dated and dirty. They had the appearance of one of those run down resorts in the Bahamas or Jamiaca that look okay in photos but gave me the worries when I was actually there. Windows grimy- last redone in about 1984 if I am not mistaken. The breakfast bar was really kind of sickening with huge covered dishes of warm or almost warm eggs and bacon fried "en masse" in french fry fryers. Ugh!

There are two restaurants nearby "Sun Downers" a seafood place and a Mexican Place whose name escapes me. These two restaurants have only one redeeming factor- the incredible views.

Fitness center in the main building was good- with assorted machines but did not open until 7am (I understand because of the noise factor). However the auxilary health facility could easily fit into a shoe box (and in fact appeared to be in a yellow painted shoe box) with no airconditioning and worn out equipment.

To summarize- for a business outing (with scheduled activities) this place is okay- our group had a great time- and Marriiott handled the meetings, the breakouts and the food/breaks with the normal and good service.

But it is NOT a place I would bring my significant other or family. There are too many other better options for a beachside resort in Floriday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

The trip here was great! The resort was nice and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and our entire experience was excellent. We wanted an on-site spa and loved the massage given in an open-air, private, tiki hut. We wanted a dive shop on-site as well and were happy with the shop right on property. It was great to walk out of our room and go down to the boat, board and be on our way for our snorkeling trips. The restaurants here were nice, as was room service. There were several nearby restaurants that were nice. We had a great time at The Marriott Key Largo Bay Resort on our recent vacation and are already planning to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

I had originally booked a standard room here for 1 night, but I was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor (platinum rewards member), so my review might be a little rosy because of that. The suite was VERY nice, full kitchen, large living room area, big plush beds. The balcony for the suite faced west over the pool and overlooked the resort beach and the water, and the balcony area was long enough that you could enter it from either the "master" bedroom or the living area.
The beach was smallish, and I wouldn't say it was a swimmer's beach, since the water was shallow for quite a distance out from shore. The pool was fairly large, with a few jacuzzis attached. There is a nice bar area right next to the pool.
The service here was top notch, everyone I talked to was helpful and friendly. We had to have the maintenance man come change out the lock on our balcony door (the lock wouldn't latch closed), and after we called the front desk their response was quick.
Parking is in a garage and is free, and our wifi was also free.
If you are looking for a place to unwind in the Keys and maybe do some diving, this would be a great choice. There is a restaurant and dive shop onsite.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hiker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

What a place! I certainly had better than average expectations for this place, but those well FAR exceeded by many factors - the staff, the amenities and just the overall layout and feel of the resort. And I used to work at a nice hotel in NC a decade ago, so I know what goes into running a hotel. It's a great spot because you honestly NEVER have to leave the resort for a moment, no matter how long your stay is.

We showed up as part of a wedding party and as the days went by (we stayed five nights), almost EVERYONE in the wedding party had something very nice to say about the staff - from housekeeping to room service to the bartenders by the pool. It was almost like you couldn't make them upset if you tried. On every single day but ONE, we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door until about 2-3pm. Then we'd call and ask our room to be cleaned/serviced and they accomplished it each time within 30 minutes, with a smile. They always seemed eager to please.

If you go, I realllly recommend an hour-long kayak trip along the waterside - if you go left you can check out a lot of cool houseboats. Another gem on the resort was one of the two large hammocks. Go to the one by the water AWAY from the pool and sand - the one near the restaurant that faces the water further out. If you go around 6:45p you can spend an hour in the hammock with your special mate watching the beautiful sunset.

Overall, a fantastic place and I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mynameismiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed at this resort on the way to Key West for one night and the experience was very good. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The pool area was great for everyone and they had quite a bit of activities for kids and plenty of areas for the adults to relax. We are pretty fussy about where we stay and will definitely stay here again when visiting the area. Try it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thorn054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
6.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
23.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort

Property: Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Address: 103800 Overseas Hwy, MM 103.8, Key Largo, FL 33037-2814
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheater Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle. Self-parking available for an extra charge of $15 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Key Largo Bay Beach Hotel Key Largo
Key Largo Marriott
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing