We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botanical garden paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Botanical garden paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the perfect time. Off peak season and a couple weeks after hurricane Issac. Kona Kai felt like it was ours for an entire two days. Very peaceful and quiet environment if that's what you are looking for in a vacation. We highly recommend taking the botanist tour (free for guests and approx $20 for visitors) Rick is the botanist\tour guide and was very informative. He really took his time and explained the various vegetation and exotic plants growing throughout the botanical garden. An entire fruit garden is at the front of the resort where you can pluck fruits right off the tree! Before the tour I was completely oblivious to the many different beautiful species that surround you at Kona Kai.

Don't feel like you need to book the more expensive room to have a good time here. There isn't a bad location at this resort.


Kayaks, Ping pong, tennis courts and a well mantained pool\spa await you at this wonderful resort. Book this paradise and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    46
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
332
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

LOVED this place! We got food and some beers delivered to us and then we just hung out at the dock until late late at night. We watched shooting stars and the most beautiful sunset we ever seen. On top of that, beautiful rooms, the staff was awesome and the vibe was great.

We were so impressed with the whole experience and have told everyone we met about this hidden paradise!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We planned a week long trip to the Floriday Keys, and this was our first stop, as my sister was getting married on the property. It was a little expensive, but since we were only staying for two nights, we were hoping it would be worth it. The first thing we did after checking in was get out on the water in the kayaks they provided. (Word of warning, watch out for jellyfish when getting in the kayaks. They are fascinating to look at as long as you don't step on one). They had a dock with a ladder for swimming. There isn't an actual beach, but there was a large sandy area with lounge chairs, hammocks, tables, and even a ping pong table. The pool and hot tub were great. There was even a fridge full of water and fruit a few steps away. Our room (Kiwi, I think?)was a decent size, and was nice and cool. The bathroom has places all over to hang wet towels and swimsuits. The bed was very comfortable. We took the garden tour in the morning, and we got to eat all sorts of fruit right off the trees! There's also a tennis court out next to the parking area. It is true that there are other properties on each side that are quite close, but they were usually pretty quiet. As for road noise, I didn't hear anything from our room at all. It really felt like our own place. I didn't even have to put shoes on I was so comfortable there. We were sad to leave this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We just got back from 5 nights at Kona Kai and - stayed in one of the suites. The suite was great - large, very clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated - great AC. The grounds are amazing. The place is wrapped around incredible botanical gardens with plants from around the world's tropical regions. Do not miss the free garden tour by Rick - the on staff botanist. The amenities are excellent: garden cabanas with grills, private beach, very nice pool/Jacuzzi (free fruit and bottled water poolside) and a pier with cabanas. No breakfast though. Kayaks and paddle boat are free. Snorkeling right off the ladder on the pier is pretty good, given it is bayside. Best fish are around the piers. Tracey and Denise at the front desk provided outstanding customer and concierge service - their restaurant recommendations were right on. We have placed Kona Kai on our "must return" list.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, 2 of them have private outdoor sittign areas, vice public cabanas - I'd go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Seven of us headed to Kona Kai for a special birthday celebration. Our group included mid-twenties newlyweds to an 80-plus mobility challenged person. We enjoyed everything the resort had to offer: the oh-so-comfortable pool, the botanical garden tour, kayaks and pedal boat, and the flat and clean-swept paths that wound through the perfectly planted and meticulously maintained property. Every age group had a wonderful and relaxing time. The staff was fantastic: helpful and friendly. The rooms were beautiful, with original artwork and carefully thought out amenities and furnishings. Thanks again to everyone at Kona Kai!

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have great views and are near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear J H: Glad you saw Kona Kai as we wish all our guests to see it: as a great place to relax for folks from their 20's through their 80's. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Kona Kai recently and LOVED our stay! We will stay here again for sure. The grounds are beautiful and so relaxing. Every detail is perfect such as the hammocks on the small “beach”, grills, bottled waters, landscaping, kayaks, decorations, etc. We got the least expensive room which was basic, but the intimacy of the resort and amenities were worth the price. The staff was very friendly and we can’t beat the sunset we saw from the beautiful dock!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runnertri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My husband surprised me with a birthday trip here. What a fabulous piece of paradise! If we didn't have to eat, we would never have left the Resort. Everything was wonderful, even the tiniest things were taken care of. Lovely, restful, charming. Can't wait to return. The staff were all amazing. One of the best birthdays in my life! Thank you!

Room Tip: The rooms/suites are all so terrific it doesn't matter which one you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nonieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock Reef Resort
Rock Reef Resort
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Property: Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing