We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet Paradise”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Papaya Room for a week in March and found Kona Kai to be the perfect place for peace, quiet, and lots of sun. The owners and staff have created quite an oasis by providing not only impeccable service but by also building an incredible landscape that runs throughout the property. Everywhere you look, an intriguing and beautiful plant awaits inspection. The palm trees are breathtaking and really complete the feel of a tropical resort. In addition to the gardens, they have a great pool and, our favorite part, a bulk head turned beach that makes you feel like you're on the edge of the world. Watching the sunset while looking out across the bay and into the Everglades never got old. I highly recommend Kona Kai for anyone looking for peace and quiet and a romantic escape.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8eg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    46
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
340
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at Kona Kai for a week after a week at Disney with the grandchildren and what a contrast it was! It felt like a little oasis of paradise. The resort is of a very high standard and as it is just couples/adults it was very quiet and peaceful. The staff were very helpful and attentive, especially Tracey and Denise in reception who made us very welcome and offered good advice for getting the best out of our stay. We stayed in both the Breadfruit Suite and the Mango Room which were both lovely, although the Mango Room had no kitchen facilities apart from a fridge, which made it a bit awkward. Our recommendations for eating out were Sundowners and Snooks for both the food and their romantic waterside settings and Mrs Mac's Kitchen for it's amazing food and service.

Room Tip: A sea view room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our suite was adorable. You have impeccable attention to detail. We loved the heated pool; the beach is glorious, the botanic gardens are magical and everything is so neat and clean. Kona Kai is just so lovely!
Jamie and Barbara

Room Tip: Speak to the front desk to pick your room - they were very helpful
See more room tips
Green Features: Very consciously arranged with an amazing botanic garden throughout. They even offer an ethnobotanic tour of the grounds. They also have recycling bins, etc.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had already booked and cancelled 4 resorts in the keys after reading their reviews. We were lucky to seek this resort out. Fabulous. Everything we could ask for, upmarket accommodations, fine white sand (constantly raked) waterfront, dock, choice of many chairs and lounges plus hammocks! Comfort everywhere. Pristine pool and hot tub. Refrigerator with water and fresh picked fruit on site beside the pool. Wine hour from 5 to 6 pm, taken to the dock for sunset views every night. The on-site concierge was so helpful, perfect, from the greeting, the full property tour, to looking after any local reservations and printing off our boarding pass when we had to, had to, did not want to, leave. The grounds are actually a botanical garden. Very lovely, tended daily, with tours. Check it out on line. We only left to dine at night. The most relaxing intimate vacation destination ever. The glow lasted long after our vacation. Perfect for couples or those seeking peace and quiet in lovely surroundings. No children which does make that possible. We have grandchildren, love them dearly but it seems when we are away together, or dining out, we do not appreciate other children's antics like we enjoy our own! It seems that while we, and most of us no doubt, find our own family children are endearing, others are often annoying when we are sans children. How sadly often true. That is why, when we travel, we like that opportunity to simply enjoy lovely places and peace and quiet. This was the best resort ever for that.

Room Tip: You have a choice of a housekeeping room if you wish to cook or suites which have coffee makers and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaotsuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Kona Kai was amazing. It is the definition of a relaxing resort. Tracey the manager was extremely professional but also made you feel like you were right at home. She took care of anything we needed and gave great recommendations for day trips and restaurants. The grounds are beautiful, as is the beach. Not to mention the sunset view from the dock is spectacular. They have kayaks and paddleboats on the property if you want to venture out, but you also can lay in a hammock or relax by the pool and hot tub if you rather do that. We are avid travelers and have high expectations but would definitely recommend Kona Kai and cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We had the Pummelo room (smallest on site, only one we could book) but it was quite fine for my husb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenMark05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Kona Kai is an awesome place to stay in the Keys. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the suites are very clean, comfortable, and beautifully furnished. We loved having our own private beach and dock to watch the best sunset we saw in the Keys. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is not a B&B...there is no breakfast, but they do provide coffee maker in your room. They also offer complimentary wine in the evening and bottled water and fruit near the pool each day. I must repeat that the gardens and grounds are so beautiful you don't want to leave. We felt like we were in the Caribbean! There cannot possibly be a prettier place in the Keys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Mill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

When you find yourself at the end of a day on vacation, after having your fill of the fun and the sun, saying let's go home … that's how you know your staying at the right place. We've stayed with Kona Kai three times so far and each visit brings a new found love of the place. First time: the gardens and grounds say it all. Second Time: I was unfortunately feeling ill and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Third Time: The ease of feeling at home makes the whole experience. Thanks to everyone for making our vacations truly a holiday!

Room Tip: We've stayed in three rooms … haven't had a bad one. Suite is nice for extended stays with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amysflws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Back in 1991, when we were first looking for a "tag line" for our newly owned small "mom-n-pop," motel, we said we were like " your home away from home." Nice to hear that 23 years and lots of improvements later, we are still thought of as "home." Thank you Amy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
5.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Property: Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing