We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
palm city,fl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just spent another weekend at Kona Kai- this is my all time favorite place to go in the Keys!
You feel like it is your own resort. It is small and quaint and has just the right amount of ambiance!
The staff is very friendly and you see the same faces year after year! The gardens are breath taking and not to be missed (it's hard to miss all the beauty)! The pool is delightful and the bay is
amazing (perfect place to watch the sun set). We always meet nice people when we visit too! Tracey and Denise- we will be back! Thanks again for making my Birthday special!

Green Features: They have a Botanical Garden- do I need to say more?
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpseph172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    46
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
340
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This property and the staff (Denise and Tracey) are amazing! I took my girlfriend and her 3 sisters here for a surprise 50th birthday party. The staff made sure that all 5 of us were happy every day. With the property being a beautiful as it is, it would be really hard to not have an excellent time.

I will be back for sure

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We had done several powerfully exhausting days of scuba diving while staying at a different hotel that had a lodge/dive package. Not wanting that to be our entire trip, we sought something more decadent and a bit different for the remainder of our vacation week. Surfing online Kona Kai stood out from the rest. And it was a combination of the helpful reviews and their very comprehensive website. Tracy was both a delight on the phone and in person. In fact the entire staff was extremely helpful. As we swung in a hammock on the beach, Veronica brought us starfruit and bananas from their gardens to sample. So cool! We loved the Papaya Suite and took Tracy's advice on where to pick up fresh fish to grill outside by our tiki hut. We found a quiet, tropical setting to energize our spirits and enjoy a romantic time together!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Tropical Grrl: Our entire staff would just like to say "thank you" for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent Memorial Day weekend at Kona Kai. We had the Mango room as I recall. It was very quiet, clean and pleasant. The grounds are beautiful. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We have a son in the area. He and his fiance visited us one day and were made to feel a bit unwelcome. They were not loud or obnoxious. They just hung out on the beach with us for a few hours and swam in the pool a few times.So for this reason, I cannot give the resort a 5 rating. The only other complaint that I had, and I have this complaint at other smallish/older properties is the ac. I don't care for the units that blow out of one vent and are a bit noisy. But, all in all, this is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJ21_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your birthday with us and that our staff was both friendly and helpful. We regret that our "registered guests only" policy made your son and fiance's extended visit a bit unwelcoming. Please understand, if each registered guest invited one or two family members to enjoy our beach and pool, our resort would no longer be the private, peaceful retreat it is. We try to avoid these situations by noting with each confirmation: "Kona Kai Resort facilities are for registered guests only. If friends or family plan on spending the day with you we would be happy to recommend local parks and beaches where everyone can enjoy the day together."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent several days at the Kona Kai Resort and it was heavenly. From the moment we pulled into the property we were struck by the beauty and peacefulness of this place. Denise checked us in and was incredibly welcoming and helpful. Throughout our stay Tracy managed to be quietly saying hello and checking to see if we needed anything at all. The Key Lime cottage we stayed in was pristine and full of all the little things you would like to have but most places don't provide. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you would want. The bed was perfect and the A/C quiet. There are plenty of beautiful things to see and do on Key Largo but our favorite was coming back to our cottage and enjoying the gardens, the pool/hot tub and the beach overlooking the bay. They even had a botanical tour with a private botanist to answer all your questions. There is nothing more peaceful than a private beach cottage surrounded by coconut palms and a south Florida sunset. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and with a feeling of seclusion. Easy access to the pool area and plenty of clos...
See more room tips
Green Features: Thee is a real abundance of gardens and wildlife for a property on the Keys. You will particularly enjoy the effort put into naming all the plants and trees....truly the extra effort here.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillJohn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in April and was overwhelmed by the beauty and tranquility of the place. We did not do the garden tour due to our busy schedule but the landscaping and plants are truly stunning. Back of the property has uninterrupted sunset into the sea views which is a must every evening. Has good sized pool and relaxing spa, use of several kayaks, table tennis, fresh fruit, bottled chilled water and two-person hammocks between the palm trees - all of this is no extra cost. Plenty of different lizards wondering about which I also loved as wildlife was the main feature of our time in the Keys. Excellent room with own fridge and I loved the rowing oars on the bed headboard!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stopped at Kona Kai on our way to Key West. We met Tracey at check in. She recommended restaurants based on what we liked. She walked us through the quaint resort and showed us the amenities. I've never felt so welcomed anywhere. Our room was cute and extremely well appointed. The grounds are spectacular and perfectly maintained. Other resort owners should come here to see what excellence looks like. Next time, we'll just stay in Key Largo and let Kona Kai Resort spoil us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We value our Trip Advisor reviews, believing they are important for the traveler as well. Review writers who write accurately do a service for everyone and deserve a "thank you," so "thanks," to all of you. Here at Kona Kai, reviews keep us "on-our-toes" and provide a traveller benchmark for the next guest. Our reviewers have set our "benchmark" pretty high. We'll continue to do our best to not disappoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
5.8 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Property: Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing