We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Compared to a number of other hotels nearby, this one isn't bad - but that's about all. On the plus side - rooms have central AC which cools them down nicely and does not make much noise. Rooms are clean, and with tile floors - convenient for beach goers, divers etc. Beds are of decent quality, sheets/towels are clean. No bed bugs either, thank goodness.

On the other hand, furniture in rooms is extremely old and much of it is crumbling or falling apart. Bathtub, while not dirty, isn't sparkling clean. In my room it was of the "whirlpool" type, which did not work but did add a few grimy orifices to the set up.

Included breakfast is very basic, mostly carbs - bagels, muffins, cereals. It's exactly what divers need, but others may not be as satisfied with this selection.

All in all, compared to some awful places nearby, I had low expectations which this hotel was able to satisfy :) I.e. - if you don't expect much, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Old fashion Florida, simple but a great place to stay. Small but typically laidback like the keys. Easy access to your boat! Marina right in front of your room! Beautiful view of the Marina! pool right there by the restaurant. Everything close by!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecy_11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here in April 2012. The floor of our room was filthy. The showerhead dribbled to flood the room. The only chair in the room had tanning oil on it that I did not notice until it stained some of my stuff. The breakfast was nothing but breads. No fruit, yogurt, meat, eggs-- nothing but breads. Worst of all, my bed had bedbugs. Housekeeping confirmed that when they took the room apart. The place is poorly kept, grimy and in need of major upgrading. They took the bedbug issue seriously and said they'd be calling in an exterminator that day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at this resort in late April 2012, between trips out of the country to Caribbean Islands where we stayed at real resorts. The main reason for staying here was to access the Keys National Marine Sanctuary for snorkeling. That goal was easily accomplished.

The Marina del Mar is located on a marina in Key Largo and is next to the Holiiday Inn and across the marina from the Marriott. I think all three are somehow connected. I booked the Marina del Mar because I wanted some kitchen facilities rather than just a hotel room, and it was less expensive. By the way it is about one and a quarter hours from Miami International airport to the Marina del Mar using as much Florida Turnpike as possible. That part of the turnpike is now either Fast Pass or toll-by-plate where they photograph your license plate and send a bill to the address the plate is registered. There are no longer pay by cash booths on that part of the turnpike. Or you can go online and set up a an account using a credit card. Go to the Florida Turnpike website. I think rental cars have another way of dealing with the turnpike. Ask where you rent.

The Marina del Mar is an older facitliy that hasn't been maintained well. When we checked in I had thought to get a kitchen unit. We were able to look at several rooms before deciding and we opted for the 1 bedroom suite instead. The full kitchen unit was clearly out of date and, in fact, the dishwasher was out of order. We were given a 1 bedroom suite and when we inserted the key in the door (an older type plastic key with holes cut into the card) the key could not be removed, either by us or by maintenance (who responded quickly). So we were given another 1 bedroom suite where everything worked. The 1 bedroom suite had a microwave and full size refrigerator and had dishes and silverware but no cooking implements. We had a balcony overlooking the marina that in reality was part of the outside walkway between rooms, but the balcony was in a wide spot on the building corner so people passing by did not walk over us as we sat in the balcony chairs.

We were a short stroll down the marina from the Holiday Inn where the African Queen (of movie fame) is being restored. You can take a short ride on the African Queen for I think around $15. We didn't take the ride but the African Queen sailed past our balcony 3 or 4 times during our stay.

There are two nearby restaurants, one at either end of the Marina del Mar, but we only sampled one, Coconuts. Nice bar and the food was good. Plus we could charge the restaurant and bar bill to our room.

I chose Keys Divers for our shorkel trip. We went out in a boat with about 22 people, half of whom snorkeled and the other half did scuba. I think we were able to go further out on the reef than some trips that only do snorkel because of the scuba folks and that was good. We got out to the underwater statue of Christ. I don't think all of the snorkel boats go there. The snorkeling was awsome, some of the best snorkeling we have had in a while.

So would I stay here again? Probably, so long as I could check the rooms out before deciding. Might not work in really high season. The people were very nice and maintenance was right there when we had an issue. So they really tried to make it work. Someone just needs to invest a little money in upgrading the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our flight got in late and by the time we arrived the front desk was closed. But the resort management was friendly and helpful and Security go us registered and into our room. The room was very nice, very clean, and very peaceful. Breakfast was very pleasant on the patio next to the water. There are several very nice restaurants within walking distance AND coffee shops, too! The motel is perfectly located for ocean cruises, diving expeditions, etc. The swimming pool and hot tub are great. We enjoyed both while listening to the singer at a nearby small waterfront restaurant. There are so many things to do: there's a tennis court just across a quiet residential street. Overall we had a great time at a very nice resort.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickeyChevelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights with family of 4 in one of the Studio rooms. Room was dated, but clean and very spacious. Oddly enough, no bowls, pots or pans in kitchen. When we asked in reception, they only had one small pot to lend - which is not enough when cooking a meal...

Considering the price you expect better breakfast, it was very, very basic.

Very nice and quiet location, and our room had great view over the small marina. Children enjoyed the pool while we could sit nearby with a coffee / drink.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNomisFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very old room. The view was nice. Pet friendly hotel. However, our toilets did not flush and ac was broken. We had to switch rooms in the middle of the night after trying to call the front desk with the broken room phones. After explaining to the desk what happened, no apologies or concerns were given.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 20 in Key Largo
1,559 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
7.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Address: 527 Caribbean Drive, Key Largo, FL 33037-4342
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: £92 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to relaxation, make Marina Del Mar Resort & Marina your first and only stop on the first Florida Key. Our hotel next to Key Largo’s largest deep water marina is a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life yet provides easy access to the area’s most popular attractions. Gather with friends while docked at our 77-slip marina. Enjoy a romantic escape with your special someone in one of our comfortable suites. Make family memories while splashing around in our sparkling pool. Our 76 pet-friendly rooms complement your Florida Keys vacation with a cool coastal atmosphere. From standard-size rooms to three-bedroom suites with full kitchen amenities, you’ll have everything for short or extended stays. Ideal for longer getaways, our largest suites also provide full living rooms, private balconies and queen beds to comfortably sleep the entire family. With our favorable location by the marina, it’s easy to partake in diving, snorkeling, fishing and other sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing