We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why all of the good reviews?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
127 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Why all of the good reviews?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I personally don't understand how anyone could like this hotel. BEWARE - The "double room" means 2 DOUBLE BEDs, not 2 separate rooms as it entails. Seems like False Advertising to me.

To start off it's parking area is TINY. Maybe 20 spots, and if you get there later in the night, there is nowhere to park. Don't even think about going out for dinner, because your spot will not be there when you get back.

Second, the beds are the worst beds I have ever slept on in a hotel. I have stayed at some "questionable" places, and these beds were worse. So hard, and uncomfortable. I have never had back problems, and yet the first night I slept there, my back hurt for hours after waking up.

The view could be nice, but there is a thick wall of palm trees separating you from the docks on the second floor. Paid the extra money for a "marina" view, and could barely see the boats as they went by.

Lastly, the area is lovely, but dead. In the middle of summer, there wasn't anyone around. It was almost like a ghost town, but I definitely see why.

Again, I have no idea why this hotel has all of the good reviews. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: "Double Room" means 2 double beds No point in getting Marina View VERY hard beds Small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    239
    206
    114
    62
See reviews for
225
281
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We were a group of 5 that got together for some diving with Ocean Divers, which is very conveniently located right next door. We rented a suite which had two bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with two twins. There was also a fold out couch and a Murphy bed, kitchen and two baths. When you split the price between 5 people it is really a good value and we really did not feel crowded. The maid was great about bringing us extra linens.
The pool was well maintained and clean with a large concrete pad and lots of lounge chairs. I have stayed here before and had a similar positive experience. I know they run a lot of specials with Ocean Divers so it would be helpful to ask ahead for this discount if you plan to do some diving. Being on the marina, they are very convenient to diving, fishing, etc. Overall very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing find! We booked this island find from a website only 30 minutes prior to arrival. This was a great way to start off our vacation. The view is perfect. The pool is terrific. We went snorkeling and on a sunset cruise for additional charges. The breakfast was complimentary. A perfect way to end the evening with a swim. Loved!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I am satisfied with my stay at this hotel. The staff was always helpful, and friendly. The building was dated but kept up. Great location, and view of the marina. If you have a boat, you literally can dock 30' from your room! My only complaint was my mattress was absolutely wore out. I had a great time there but didn't sleep well. I would stay there again, but wouldn't accept that mattress!

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room on the Marina side not the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our marina view room was great and the staff was very nice. The hot tub is weird with a violent jet that shoots straight up. Also the say there is a tiki bar on the premises and there is not. You have to walk to the Holiday Inn for that. We were misinformed by the desk clerk that the tiki bar opened at 11 am but the bartender was emphatic that they never open until 11:30 (she also had a very caustic personality and did nothing but complain about tourists). Also even though they own the property they have let "Coconuts" deteriorate to ghetto like conditions. The awning is coming down and rotting since the last tenant vacated a year and a half ago. When we asked the manager he just shrugged and said nobody does anything with it. He apparently doesn't care either. It is really an eyesore that could be taken down in less than 2 hours.
Loved the room and view but it was very overpriced considering the half-hearted upkeep of the property.
I would only stay here again if the prices were right.

Room Tip: Marina view is your best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This property fits into the low end of mid-tier properties. The beds and room are OK, furnished with lower mid-tier decor. Bathrooms are dated and done fairly cheaply. However the good news is the hotel is located directly on a marina canal, so its a great place to sit outside your room with a drink and look at the boats. Includes a basic continental breakfast.

Also located right next door to Sharkey's which is a dive bar with pretty good seafood and basic bar food. Farther down the canal is the original Africa Queen from the Bogart movie.

So if the price is right this property is worth considering

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This dated hotel was relatively clean. Great location, views. Nothing to eat at the included breakfast. The biggest drawback was no hot water which meant no comfortable shower:( I would not stay here again since there are so many other hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for water view, not parking lot view. Check to be certain your room gets hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
8.9 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina

Property: Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
Address: 527 Caribbean Blvd, Key Largo, FL 33037-4342
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo Hotel Key Largo
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing