We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Harbor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Harbor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is lovely. The grounds are immaculate, rooms are very clean and modern. It's a small resort. Staff were friendly. Relaxing time. Although the cottage slept 4, it was really too small for 4 people. While we were there, the Travel Channel was filming a special about the resort.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a waterfront room. The views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prhdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    134
    17
    5
    15
See reviews for
151
376
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I went to this lodge for a few days in late March of 2014 to get a break from the long Ontario winter. If you read the reviews and do your homework, you will find this to be great place to stay in Key Largo. We were in room 15 and it is small, as advertised. It is also very clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and the morning coffee and scones were a nice touch. Apparently the owner makes them and they are by far, the best I've ever had. It is a small property so all rooms are close to the pool and the waterfront. The grounds are nicely kept and were manicured daily while we were there. The atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable. It is a short drive to a variety of restaurants and things to do. I regularly stay at chain hotels and was looking for something quieter and less busy. This was it. They lend kayaks and a SUP at their little beach. While fishing from the dock on our first morning there, a manatee swam up to within about 15' of us. We had a great time and would definitely return but would try to get one of the beachfront cottages or a room on the ground floor as the balcony was tiny. Very nice for couples.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodd I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I cannot safe enough about this quaint lodge. The grounds, rooms and beach are beautiful and immaculate. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The location was perfect and the scones in the morning were just the icing on the cake! With so many places to choose from when visiting the Florida Keys, it can be overwhelming. Let me make it easy for you, STAY HERE!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
849 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had had a hectic time touring Florida and trying to fit as much sightseeing into the day as possible. We needed a rest and our 3 nights at Bay Harbour Lodge provided that. We had a self contained cottage overlooking the bay, with it's own patio. You could sunbathe, swim in the pool or sea, take out a kayak or pedillo or just do nothing. The owner bakes fresh scones of all varieties, each morning for breakfast and there is coffee and tea available until 11am. It's not cheap, but it's paradise on earth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
343 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in cottage #3 for 5 nights. It is perfect!!! #3 has the best location, right on the waterfront. It has a sitting room with seaview, a patio with table and chairs overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, a fully equipped kitchen, a bedroom with double bed, and a nice bathroom. It is perfect for 2, but a familiy with 2 children could also rent this cottage. I wouldn't recommend it for 4 adults. The location and view are spectacular. We saw dolphins swimming from our patio! There are manatees too, but we didn't see any. The water is cristal clear and it's the perfect temperature for swimming. When we were there we had to watch out for jellyfish, there were many of them, but they were easy to spot and avoid in the clear water. If you stay at Bay Harbor Lodge you can also make use of the canoes, stand-up paddle boards and pedal boats. There is also a nice swimming pool. The people at the reception are very helpful and have local knowledge, so they can help you plan your excursions, shopping trips and give you tips on where to go for meals. At the reception you can get free coffee, tea and scones in the morning.

We loved Bay Harbor Lodge!

Room Tip: There are many different rooms and appartments. Check the website or ask the staff to help you pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP-Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

When planning our trip to the Keys we first planned on staying in Key West. We are so happy that we did not stick to that plan. The Bay Harbor Lodge is the perfect place to stay if you want a lovely and quiet place at the water but also a good starting point to go diving, visting key west... We went to Key West for a day trip and it took 2 hours both ways. But I guess it takes longer in the weekends. We also took a glass bottom boat tour which was really ok with a baby. There are several places that offer boat rides. Make sure to compare prices. We went to the Pennekamp State Park. You have to pay an entrance fee but there is plenty to do and the boat ride is the cheapest I have seen on the keys and takes 2 1/2 hours.
At the lodge We booked unit No 25 and it is really great. It has a big and private patio where you can sit in the evenings and watch the sunset. It is also pretty spatious which was important for us since we travelled with a baby of 10 month.
The place offers everything you need: sun chairs, beach towels, beach toys for kids and kayaks.
For breakfast you get free coffe and scones. The owner bakes the scones every morning and they are really good!
The staff is just wonderful, (especially the lady in the reception). Very kind and helpful. Our patio door did not work one day and even though it was weekend it was fixed in a very short time.
All in all we had a really nice stay here and would book again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vl1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

having just arrived from a suite in a five star hotel I wasn't too sure I would like this the cottage looked a bit economy after my luxury suite, but 30 mins later I was chilled and relaxed just watching the sea and geckos running about.
It really is a great location the cottage was more than we could have asked for and wish we could have stayed longer.
We will certainly return here next time in Key Largo, Thanks to all who made it a great stay.

Room Tip: not saying it may be booked next time we want to come
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,336 reviews
5.7 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
5.4 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
0.0 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Harbor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Harbor Lodge

Property: Bay Harbor Lodge
Address: 97702 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2297
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Harbor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bay Harbor Lodge, a cozy bay front resort situated on 2.5 acres of lush tropical foliage. Whether you are planning a relaxing get-a-way or an action packed vacation, our amenities and location put the Florida Keys at your fingertips. With 15 rooms, there is never a crowd and customer service is never a problem. Coconut Bay Resort is our sister neighboring hotel with 6 additional rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bay Harbor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Harbor Hotel Key Largo
Bay Harbor Lodge Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing