We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Cove laid back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset Cove laid back”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our room was near the beach, clean, and convenient walking distance to local restaurants and great live entertainment. The included beach access, kayaks and fishing from the pier were all enjoyable. The rental included a microwave and refrigerator, but coffee was only available with "breakfast" which was packaged Danish, OJ and coffee from 8:30 AM to 10:30 Am which was a little late for us.

Room Tip: Our room was near the beach, clean, and convenient walking distance to local restaurants and great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    158
    59
    36
    27
See reviews for
96
202
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here on the way to Key West had a great time, It's by no means the Ritz but it is rustic and welcoming. The views are stunning from the waterside. The staff are friendly all rooms have fridge & microwave and some of the larger ones have cooking facilities. They great thing about this place is every room is different so plenty of choice for everyone. There is a great bar next door that has live music. There is a bar across the road that is near the dive centre called Sharkeys which sold great food and had a brilliant choice of craft beers. Tried key lime pie and the key lime freeze at Mrs Macs great choice of food at a good price. Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second night after visiting key west.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This place is just GREAT. No, it's not the Ritz. I stayed in both an RV and an Airstream trailer. I loved it. In regular life I admit to being a bit high maintenance.. I like really nice things...but this place is just idyllic for hanging out and relaxing in Key Largo! I had everything I needed including cooking options and the BEST location on the Gulf. You can wade through the super clear waters and enjoy all of the various fish and other ocean life. There are several tiki huts and plenty of beach chairs, plus a large dock. There are kayaks available. It's quiet, relaxing and wonderful! There are tiki hut areas for bartending, grilling and hanging out and some goofy cement animal statues spread around. It's a kitchy, GREAT place. You can walk right over to the restaurants and bars right next door - with live entertainment. I will certainly be back... for longer next time!

Room Tip: There are several options ranging from RVs to cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodyjoyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We reserved in advance and took the manager's advice, selecting the Pelican Room. It was ideal. Though Sunset Cove is right on Highway 1, the Pelican Room is just a few yards from the water, and we enjoyed quiet neighbors. The room had a full size refrigerator, microwave, and TV with a DVD player. There is plenty of waterfront with two nice Tiki huts and a dock, where my sweetheart was delighted to see a manatee swim by close enough to touch. We tried a number of Key Largo restaurants nearby and would recommend Ballyhoos; we liked it better than the Pilot House (terrible service), Mrs. Mac's, and the Fish House Encore. One drawback: the kayak leaked. We discovered this too late and ended up swimming back to shore with the kayak in tow. We lost a camera to the water.

Room Tip: Ask for the Pelican Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reliabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed one night, went down to key west, too crowded down there, came back up to key largo and so glad they had a room for us again. Got a kayak and had a ball. We had a room with water view. I will recommend, if you are Hilton person you might not like the rustic feel but fine for us.

Room Tip: Suite 9, water front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaBlueDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre Dame, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Manager was both worldly and friendly. He actually checked with another local hotel to see if he could find me a better rate and presented both rates, giving me a rundown of the differences in the two properties! Was also able to offer a great deal of helpful and valuable local information!

Definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but for what it is, and what you pay, it's a great atmosphere and excellent value!

Room Tip: Even if you get a room by the road, with windows and doors closed, noise is not noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legodeuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We loved it here. I love small quaint privately owned hotels. This one has it all! It's a great place to stay. I will stay again! Not your everyday chain hotel. Everyone was very friendly and there is a bar right next door with food, music, and good times.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 2008OklahomaCity_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Address: 99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Beach Hotel Key Largo
Sunset Cove Beach Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing