We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back family fun!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Vero Beach FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laid back family fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Out side of road noise, we were close to the highway, this is a great relaxing and CLEAN place. Wonderful "Kid" animal statues. plenty of space to grill, lay in the sun and kayak. If your'e looking for upscale luxury this is not for you. If you're looking for a fun , clean, relaxing and friendly place to be a base for Florida Key activities you can't get any better. We're coming back!

Room Tip: Close to the bay is better than close to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjkazz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    155
    58
    35
    28
See reviews for
95
199
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I had reserved a cabin at the Sunset Cove Beach Resort on line for one night on our way to Key West. We arrived late in the afternoon and were assigned cabin #8. It is a small "mom and pop" motel with cabins on either side of a road that runs perpendicular to the main road (Route 1) and runs down to the water's edge. There are several units that actually face the water and they seemed like they would have been fine. What we didn't realize was that we would be so close to the highway which had semis traveling it all night long. In order to try to drown out the noise of the trucks, we tried the air conditioner and it was so loud it was even more annoying....and when you weren't listening to either of those, the toilet dripped constantly. The unit we stayed in is the only one I can speak to but based on other more recent reviews there may be others that are in similar disrepair. After walking down the street to have some dinner, we returned to find the television did not work...cycled through colored screens and the wifi gave us the message "out of range". When I tried to call the office (around 8:30 p.m.) the call went to an answering machine. I reported our entire experience to the clerk at the office in the morning and she apologized but that w3as about it. Did it kills us to stay there? No, but it wasn't free...$140.00 for one night. At the price, I couldn't even say...well you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If this is a place you are considering staying at, make the reservations directly with the resort an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbatMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Sunset Cove Beach Resort is a nice little retreat away from the hustle and bustle. This is definitely a place for "low key" easygoing vacationers. Not a fancy place. The grounds are very clean and neat - with a beautiful outside Tiki Hut to sit at and have your evening drink or your meals. The rooms are small - but pretty clean. The small beach area has chairs, kayaks, paddle boards (hourly fee for those). Nice restaurants within walking distance. Can hear the band from the open bar next door while sitting by the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesun1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

If you're looking for cheap and convenient - and don't mind sacrificing glamour - this is the place for you. The landscape is mostly large statues that look like they escaped from a putt-putt golf course, mixed with tiki huts. It's right on the beach; although not all rooms/cabins face the water. Our room had a VHS player and they offer free VHS tapes (remember, I said kitchy, right?). The bathroom was so small that my head and knees stuck out the door. The room door fit so poorly that wind rattled the shades on the window.
It was clean, the bed was comfy, it's a laid-cak kind of place. It made a good story.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is actually an old airstream trailer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougM879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed here one night on a girls trip through the Keys this past week.
We are very easy going when we travel and take the good with the bad and get something positive out of anything. Seriously.. there was nothing positive here with the exception of the warm weather and the outdoor band we were listening to on Feb 22nd from the bar/restaurant next door.

We knew this was an older typical Keys kind of place - we weren't looking for opulence or top of the line, but we didn't expect:

our beach cottage to be just a room with double and twin bed - walls were dingy, the window air conditioner was a 747 airplane in my ear all night and we HAD to have it on all night to keep the moldy musty smell at bay. The bathroom was SCARY. Not big enough for barely one person and the door didn't close all the way.. probably due to the humidity.
The tile was stained and cracked and the grout was black and the shower was something I saw once in a horror movie. Rust stains everywhere. The shower curtain was old and musty and stained as well. It was a very conscious effort not to have your body touch it while showering.
It seemed like the bathroom was added on to the room as an afterthought. Right next to our bathroom was a public bathroom - so it was a bit un nerving to hear people just on the other side of the wall at all hours of the night.
The beds were lumpy.. the pillows were the flattest I have ever seen.

Their continental breakfast was coffee and OJ but the peice de resistance were the muffins and patries that were more than likely bought at the local gas station weeks ago off the shelf. You know the kind.. the 2 for 99 cent deal no name cellophane wrapped artery cloggers.

We paid $140 for one night. It isn't worth half that.

Now, I am not a person that demands creature comforts and I rarely complain as you get what you pay for.
I expected it to be clean, comfortable and not have a 1970's window airconditioner keep me up all night. I expected the bathroom not to give me nightmares.

Now, there were other 'cottages' here of course and I don't know what they were like so it could be that we got the short end of the stick.. but I doubt it.

This was our first trip to the Keys, so caveat emptor.. spend the extra money to get a clean room elsewhere.
Save yourself the headache.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose Deep Six. That is the pink 'cottage' we had. Stay away from it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our room was near the beach, clean, and convenient walking distance to local restaurants and great live entertainment. The included beach access, kayaks and fishing from the pier were all enjoyable. The rental included a microwave and refrigerator, but coffee was only available with "breakfast" which was packaged Danish, OJ and coffee from 8:30 AM to 10:30 Am which was a little late for us.

Room Tip: Our room was near the beach, clean, and convenient walking distance to local restaurants and great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here on the way to Key West had a great time, It's by no means the Ritz but it is rustic and welcoming. The views are stunning from the waterside. The staff are friendly all rooms have fridge & microwave and some of the larger ones have cooking facilities. They great thing about this place is every room is different so plenty of choice for everyone. There is a great bar next door that has live music. There is a bar across the road that is near the dive centre called Sharkeys which sold great food and had a brilliant choice of craft beers. Tried key lime pie and the key lime freeze at Mrs Macs great choice of food at a good price. Enjoyed it so much we came back for a second night after visiting key west.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Address: 99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Beach Hotel Key Largo
Sunset Cove Beach Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing