We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO FRILLS BUT FRIENDLY PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NO FRILLS BUT FRIENDLY PLACE”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at the Sunset Cove with a spur of the moment reservation. We found the staff at the front desk very friendly and accommodating. The room we had was waterfront. It is not a luxurious place by any means, but it is clean and just what you would expect from a 1950's type resort. There was a dock and tiki huts and chairs to lounge on. Overall, it was just as we expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mab6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suncove, Front desk at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our property. We look forward to seeing you in the near future when you visit Key Largo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    158
    59
    36
    27
See reviews for
96
202
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a nice surprise this place turned out to be. It was like luxury camping, with that laid back vibe you get at camp sites. The cabins were all different, ranging from cute to spacey. We loved it! Our cabin was called Deep 6.( the thought of crossing out the 6 and writing throat, did come to mind, ha ha.) Clean, comfy, small fridge, tv, and an ok bathroom. Situated a stones throw from the beach, we were well happy. There's free coffee and danish in the morning at reception. A bar and grill is right next door, serving a great fish and fries in a basket, while you enjoy the famous keys sunset. All i can say is Hakuna Matata.

Room Tip: As close to the beach as pos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suncove, Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We do appreciate your words And we look forward to seeing you soon when your back in Key Largo !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were only there for one night, but enjoyed ourselves. Don't go there for luxury, but for a relaxed and uncrowded waterside experience. They have little cabins, each one with it's own character. And if you are with kids, they are bound to love the giant animal statues.

Room Tip: We liked our little cabin close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Sunset cove is the perfect place for a bohemian couple (or small family) looking for something a bit off the beaten path. The humble resort has playful grounds with a host of animal sculptures, great pier with water and kayak access, a bar-next-door that is perfect to watch the sunset (or play catch the lobster), and a very good location in key largo (close to john pennekamp state park), walking distance to a CVS and also near Mrs. Macs kitchen, a fantastic food stop. The rooms are modest and a bit on the older side, but if you plan to not spend too much time there (why would you?) and you don't mind a bit of antiquated charm (aka- it's not a carpeted cookie-cutter Mariott) then it's totally the way to go.

I've stayed here twice and my only other observation is that this place can get quite packed and noisy on holiday weekends.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suncove, Front Office Manager at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Glad that Sunset Cove Beach Resort is your favorite place to stay. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My daughter and I spent 2 nights in cottage 9. It was roomy and nicely decorated and most importantly, clean! This cottage is right on the beach and tho' the beach area is small, it definitely accommodated our needs. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with a lovely and very large common area. There is a great restaurant right next door that has good food, good drinks and live music every evening. Very nice. Would loved to have stayed longer, maybe next time.

Room Tip: All of the cottages are very cute, but if you want to be close to the water 9, 10(upper) and 7 are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmae46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suncove, front desk at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Key Largo that was dog friendly as our previous favorite place has become a bit less pet friendly and unpleasant to register with. From the moment I placed my first phone call to them I was hooked. When I think of the Keys this is a classic example of a place I want. Not a big fancy hotel, but a typical FL Keys hotel. If you are looking for fancy rooms, this is not it. If you are looking for a fun, clean Keys like atmosphere, this is AWESOME! Registration offered fast and friendly service yet he was very patient while I went on line and looked at the pictures on their website for the available rooms. The place has great grounds with funny animal statues. Great Tiki huts and several grills that can be used. It also has it's own little beach (bayside) and pier. At night while you watch the sunset the restaurant next door is playing live music so you get to enjoy that while you watch the sunset.
The cottage we stayed in was awesome! It was two queen beds, a bathroom, a full sized refrigerator, a small table, a gas stove and a sink. Small but perfect! A few little sugar ants were in there but again, this is the Florida Keys and you would be hard pressed not to find an ant in a hotel room! It was awesome! Very clean. The housekeeping staff drives around in the mornings and if you don't want housekeeping will offer you towels if needed. Beds are super comfy! There is no swimming pool but I do not see a need for a pool.
Lots of places to eat within walking distance, and I highly recommend Mrs. Mac's Kitchen as well as the Conch House. One night we got take out from Mrs. Mac's kitchen and sat under the big Tiki across from our cottage and had dinner there with a fabulous breeze blowing and the waterfall in front of us. Just perfect!
I simply cannot emphasize enough how much we enjoyed our stay there! Even our dog was so excited and happy he didn't even want to sleep past 7 am or eat for failure of missing out on fun! When he went to sleep each night he was exhausted!
Thank you so much Sunset Cove! It was just an awesome stay that I simply can say nothing negative about.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suncove, Front Desk at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the Great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed what Sunset Cove is about! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Very professional staff, nice getaway, free kayak was a plus, amazing sunsets. I am from Florida, and I will stay again. The cottage was a little small, but appropriate the for a resort of that size.. they had a dock where you could go fishing or just watch the sunset. I can't say enough about the staff. the staff cater to our every need, towels, parking, bedding, not a problem.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suncove, Front desk Clerk at Sunset Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your review. Sunset Cove is very glad that your stay here was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Address: 99360 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, P.O. Box 99, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Beach Hotel Key Largo
Sunset Cove Beach Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing