We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Key Lime Pie...YUM-O”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Key Lime Cafe

The Key Lime Cafe
Ranked #3 of 134 Restaurants in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nothing fancy , just good seafood and burgers .
acebaby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Key Lime Pie...YUM-O”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to make a stop for some frozen key lime pie! They get them from Key West. The cafe closed by the time we got there at 5:30 so no fish tacos for us but the pie was AHmazing. We ate it right outside on the picnic tables out of the tin; they will give you plastic spoons and a knife to indulge. There are key lime gifts and lots of cute junky and artsy souvenirs too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    98
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool roadside place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

A must stop roadside shack with outside seating. Excellent ands fresh fish, chicken and fries. Either going to or coming from the keys, stop in you won't be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank MIchelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Real Florida, real food at a road-side stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were looking to avoid franchises, and just liked the look of this Mom & Pop stand for food, Mexican pottery, and tropical tchochkes.

The kitchen is an open-air structure with picnic tables. The cook had that genuine friendliness that tells you "this is not a rehearsed line from HR, this is my life."

I had the fried conch basket, with fresh conch, a light crispy coating. Just the right degree of chewiness, without being tough. My friend had fish tacos, and the fish was also nice and fresh. They came with real cut fried potatoes, home-made cole slaw, and dip. It's not grande cuisine, doesn't pretend to be, but for a casual lunch, ideal.

A perfect light lunch on a warm, not hot, November day.

I highly recommend this place for a taste of "Authentic Florida!"

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value - and flavor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We didn't even realize this place had food, because we pulled in to get some souvenirs, and this sweet & sassy woman Janelle behind the food counter was there to meet our needs! My mom, grandma, & I all had mahi tacos which were to die for! Super flavorful and fresh, and the batter tasty but not overwhelming. You sit outside in this "garden" of beautiful art pots & garden decor, so that was fun too. Janelle, the cook/server, encouraged us to try this frozen, chocolate-dipped, key lime pie on a stick, which was a great recommendation because it was sooooo good! You can't compare it to "regular" key lime pie; it's just in a class of its own. Definitely stop in here because it's great food, and a really great price. Plus the souvenir shop is cool too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Starbuck441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“We stopped twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent key lime smoothies and seafood fare! Great place to stop for a quick lunch! We stopped there on our way to and from Key West! Friendly and knowledgable staff! I am still craving another key lime smoothie!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denvertraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Key Lime Cafe also viewed

Key Largo, Florida Keys
 
Key Largo, Florida Keys
Tavernier, Key Largo
 

Been to The Key Lime Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing