We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dive resort with a great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amoray Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amoray Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good dive resort with a great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We let the Hotel know we would not get in until midnight so they taped our key to the front door and told us to let ourselves in. My first thought was we landed in Mayberry RFD. I was not far off the rooms while older were clean comfortable and reasonable. In the morning we were greeted by the staff and our dive boat was but 50 yards away. After two great dives we returned to the resort and relaxed on the hammock on our deck. I can not say enough about captain Mike and his crew or the employees. I highly recommend this place for a dive vacation

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    237
    81
    42
    30
See reviews for
175
236
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had a great time at this resort. They took care of everything, the diving, advice on where to go/eat and if there were any problems they were sorted straight away. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amoray to anyone in the future.

The dive boat is comfortable and Captain Mike is a real star. There were 10 of us in our group and he ensured all our needs were taken care of on the water. The staff back on land were great too; Sandra and Rihanna were particularly very helpful.

All rooms have a kitchen with full facilities i.e. cooker, microwave, sink, fridge freezer, pots and pans, plates cutlery etc. Showers are good too - the hot water never runs out!

The quayside has a beautiful view during sunset but keep to the pool for a dip over the sea as the water in Key Largo on this side of the island can be a little silty (that's not a negative of the Amoray, all establishments on this Side of the land are affected by this - you need to travel offshore to avoid this).

Overall a lovely place for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Amoray dive resort and by "we” I mean a group of 10 soldiers from the UK over on a diving course. I really cannot fault the place: the office staff were extremely helpful and friendly; the two rooms we stayed in were clean, well-furnished and had all the amenities we needed; the location is fantastic, with an array of great dive wrecks only a short-boat trip away, and, lastly, Captain Mike and his deck crew were amazing and went out of their way to accommodate our needs and look after us during our stay.

As well as being a very knowledgeable skipper, it was evident that he knew all the dive sites really well and was therefore able to drop us off at each dive site at just the right spot to minimise wasted time (and we each did 17 dives). He and his crew also had a great sense of humour, were thoroughly entertaining, and made us laugh!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit the Florida Keys to dive and/or snorkel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very bad service, they gave us our room keys at 5:00pm when we got there at 11:00am. The owner/ management hsd horrible manners, they kicked us out at 3:00pm next day with 10 minutes nitice even when we were told that it was ok to stay till sunset. On mother's day. We are a family with kids and grandparents.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unidentificable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Good points:

* The hotel is in a beautiful location, right next to the water
* The staff at check in were extremely helpful to us and gave us an extensive guide of the local area
* The rooms were a good size, with full kitchen facilities (fridge, microwave, oven etc)
* They also offered us a complimentary late check out after we went snorkelling in the morning

Not so good points:
* The rooms were slightly dated, I did feel like I had walked into Florida in 1993.
* We also put a do not disturb sign on our door and when we came back from our snorkel trip someone had been in our room and tidied up minimally

Overall this is a great place to stay if you're looking for somewhere with all the facilities for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelmay847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

If you're willing to tour and dive Florida Keys, one great cost-effective option is Amy Slate's Amoray Dive Resort just off US Overseas Hwy 1 at Key Largo.

We've planned on staying for 3 days in the Keys. So we pulled over the parking lot of Key Largo's tourist's information office and had informed about Key West stay & dive options… Pricy!

So we figured out we'll start heading South and see what we can get ourselves.
A short drive and our eyes caught Amoray's sign in the right side of the road.

The surrounding looks nice and the stay price was even better.
Michelle welcomed us in her special own way and we'll later find out that the entire staff and crew are doing their best to make us feel comfortable.

We booked 3 nights and so we could drive for a complete visiting day to Key West, have great dives the day after to the USCG Duane and then a 2nd shallow dive to the "aquarium Reef" from their well-equipped vessel.
Thanks Capt. Mike for the briefings and boat rides.
For divers who need guided dives, Justin, along with another instructor are on board and will guide you on your dives.
I enjoyed the day out with you guys, it was superb!

The room is basic.
We had the "Black-Tip-Shark" room at the 2nd floor and despite warning us from the road noise – nice attitude Michelle – it wasn't disturbing what's so ever and regardless, the amount of traffic on the road during the night hours drops down. the 2 double queen beds are comfy, wireless, fridge, just all we needed. There's also a warning sign in the room to keep food away from the ants by using the fridge. Nice attitude too.

There are some restaurants within a short proximity, we tasted the Fish House Encore and Mrs. Macs Kitchen, nice options for Dinner and breakfast as there are no dining options at Amoray… (The ants, eh…? ;-) ) If you wish for self-cater, there's a nice spot on the private beach.

One of the best Carrot cakes that gives "Cheese-Cake-Factory" a real challenge can be found at Sugarloaf food company's little and partially hidden bakery off US Overseas Hwy 1 at Summerland Key.
We made a U turn out of curiosity when spotted the road sign that we passed in the right and found a terrific nice little place to grab something tasty on the go. The other pastry assortment looks really promising... You may sit inside or on the little balcony behind. A place not to be missed!

All and all, Amoray Dive Resort and their staff at the Office, at the diving gear counter and on the boat are doing their best to satisfy you.
Again, thank you all for your great work!

Room Tip: 1st floor room will avoide lifting the luggage to the 2nd one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkOnRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

OK, if the word "resort" conjures up visions of marble tiled bathrooms, chandeliered ballrooms, grand buffets, his and hers cabanas at the spa, and 18 holes of golf, Amoray is not what you are looking for. What Amoray is, is a collection of nice, clean, affordable and well furnished rooms on a waterfront property with a swimming pool, beach, barbecue, and a full service PADI dive shop at your service. Most divers I have met are the beer cooler and beach chair type anyway, so its a perfect match. I spent every morning sitting on the deck looking across the water with a cup of coffee, and every afternoon on the jetty under a tiki hut with a cold dring watching the sunset. Within walking distance of the world famous "Caribbean Club" and several other bars and restaurants, this bay side resort is perfectly located for relaxation and adventure. I plan to return in the summer of 2013.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency and pack the fridge with drinks and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duchessvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowboy321, Front Office Manager at Amoray Dive Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
We are looking forward to your return! Thank you for choosing Amy Slate's Amoray Dive Resort in Key Largo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
6.3 mi away
Rock Reef Resort
Rock Reef Resort
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoray Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoray Dive Resort

Property: Amoray Dive Resort
Address: 104250 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2901
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amoray Dive Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Amoray Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoray Dive Hotel Key Largo
Amoray Dive Resort Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing