We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Key Largo Kampground and Marina
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall a great experience. Well taken care of campground with security that truly enforces the quiet hours - which with young kids is appreciated. Pool was wonderful & couldn't ask for a better location. Tent campsites are tight, but that seems to be the norm in the Keys.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed over a couple of days of our Spring Break. Brought our 25 ft travel trailer. Nice spot with small trees between spaces. Shade was appreciated. Interesting mixture around us of tenters, park models tht must have had residents tht were out of town and pop ups. Location and security were excellent. Lots of amenites including cool pool, etc. Swingsets for kids. Dock area. Very cozy. Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night here, in a tent, but enjoyed it and we'd probably go back! We walked out to the water late at night and it was just beautiful. The showers were clean and the landscaping was nice around the property.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A party of 6 stayed in April 2013 in 2 tents. Space is quite restricted on the sites reserved for tents, but we were fortunate not to have anyone in one of the sites next to us, so it didn't seem too claustrophobic. The ground was rock hard and it took some effort with a hammer to get the pegs in - we gave up after several of the pegs simply bent in two. The site itself was ok, electricity and water was shared with the neighbours and things were fairly quiet by night. The bathrooms were a 2 minute walk away and were in decent condition and clean with 3 showers for either sex. This clearly is an RV campsite though and not really for tent camping. There were no special facilities for washing dishes etc - just the tap shared with your neighbour - and there were warnings in place for those who dared to use the bathrooms for this purpose. Other positives include the pool, accessible wifi and good location, although the site is really for RVs and not tents. Overall, we had a decent stay here, but this may have been as it was fairly quiet - I wouldn't have liked to have been here in a busy season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oohbratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very nice campground for RVs. Sitting on the dock of your waterfront site, looking at the sunset is just perfect. The pool is nice and the location in walking distance to the shopping center is very convenient. With a boat it would be even better. We have been there before and would go back there again. Go for the waterfront sites if you can.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank WorldTravelers2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

If you are looking for a place to tent camp, avoid this campground. This is actually not a campground, it is a motor home and RV park that has "converted" some space into what they label as "tent" camping. In fact, the tent sites are the parking spaces for the owners that have lot's there and they rent them out to cut costs on their association fees. I was horrified when we pulled in to see that we had a tiny little space for our tent barely enough room for our tent and our car. It was on a gravel parking type space and the ground was so hard, we had to borrow a hammer to get our tent stakes into the ground. They advertised it as water and electric, however there was actually no water. There were about 3 water faucets spread between all the tent sites for everyone to share. You actually had to go several spaces away and walk on someone else's site to get to water. When you turned on the water, it flooded that persons site. The worst part was that there are no restrooms. There is only 1 restroom facility for the entire campground. So, you had to literally walk halfway across the entire place to get to the bathroom. With 5 children,, this was a nightmare. On top of that, if you wanted to walk through a shorter route in between two RV's, the owners would come out and yell at you that it was "private property" and that you had to stay on the road, making the walk to the bathroom even longer. With that said the bathrooms and showers were dumpy and dirty, I made my children get dressed inside the tiny shower. We were told there was a marina with plenty of dockage so there was no need to "reserve" a boat slip. However, when we came in with our boat the dock slips were taken so we were given a space along the sea wall. There was no way to hold my 20 ft boat off the wall and so I had to get up at night continually and walk down to the marina to check my boat. The person occupying the space in front of me actually had his boat 2 feet over in my space, making it even more difficult. The managers at the front desk didn't have any solutions. They also had no idea of the waterway which was difficult at best to navigate. They couldn't even tell us how to get to a cut in order to make it to the Bayside. They were completely clueless! When we needed water on the boat or to rinse the boat, you had to walk all the way around the recreation house to the back side and put quarters into a slot to get the water to turn on. I'm fine with paying for water, but it would only take 2 quarters at a time. So you had to put in two quarters, run around the building to your boat, run the water for about 60 seconds, then jump off the boat to go put in more quarters, back and forth and back and forth. The same applied to the fish cleaning station. This place was a logistical nightmare, it felt like sleeping in a parking space, with no aesthetic beauty to be found, everything was a hassle, from trying to get the boat in the water off the ramp, to not having water for the boat or at the site and especially not having a restroom. I can't believe they call it a camp ground. It made perfect sense when one of the owners told me they rented the tent sites to save money on the association fees. If you love to tent camp and want to enjoy the beauty of the keys, find another place to camp. I wish I had taken the time to read some reviews before I took my family here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kellipalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed in a monthly rental trailer in the campground. The staff is very helpful and fun. There is a great pool. There is a small general store that is not particularly well stocked, but this is not necessary as you can walk a block to Kmart and Publix for everything you need. Set far enough back from the road to kill the traffic noise. There are special activities that are fun get togethers like the ice cream social, bingo, coffee and donuts, potluck. There are also sites for tents here that can be hard to find in the keys, and they are well kept sites. There are shuffleboard areas and a volleyball area. There is a small playground for the kids. There is gated security. Overall, this is an extremely friendly place to stay with good facilities..did I mention the boat ramp> I would recommend to all campers, trailer and tent, as well as for monthly trailer rentals. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ratnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,585 reviews
10.7 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
663 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marina Del Mar Resort And Marina
3.8 mi away
Riptide RV Park & Motel
Riptide RV Park & Motel
#14 of 20 in Key Largo
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Largo Kampground and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Largo Kampground and Marina

Address: 101551 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4546
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Key Largo Kampground And Marina Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing