We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend the day”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to the park. Last time we were here we went snorkeling from shore which was disappointing. I would recommend that you take the boat out if you want to snorkle. We did all the trails in the park and loved being able to identify all the trees. We enjoyed a picnic lunch at one of the tables overlooking the water.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Boatelboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    43
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
57
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Nice Campground close to the marina and dive shop. Clean facilities and friendly staff. Comment for campground administration: Why close the toilet/showers for 3 collective hours of cleaning starting at 9:30am when guests are getting ready for activities/check-out? Why not clean between 1pm and 4pm when guests are most likely to be out and about?

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Revmike4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenai, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Starting out, our campsite is large enough for our 36.5 ft RV and we can park our car in front of the RV. There is even some space behind a tree for more room to place our car hauler. The site is #36. This is one of the few Florida State Park campsites we've found that has full hookups including sewer dump. Although we haven't been to all Florida State Parks, this is the first I've seen with full hookup. This does provide 50 and 30 amp hookup. There is a boat dock here as well as a chance to purchase separately a tour on a glass bottom boat. There is a playground for the kids and also a visitors center with a free aquarium to visit. Nice touches. The park is quiet and sheltered by lots of trees so no traffic can be heard whatsoever. Grocery stores and other restaurants are near by as this is on what I believe is the biggest Key in the Keys, Key Largo. Great place to stay and we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiskenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere, FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Find the time to visit John Pennekamp state park and do yourself the favor of booking a snorkeling trip. The campsite loop is packed tightly but not to worry, the rest of the park has plenty of space to breathe. We put our kayaks in the water as soon as we arrived and enjoyed paddling the mangrove lined canoe trail, a fairly easy paddle. The campsite was large enough for two tents and two cars plus fully equipped with electricity and water. The bathhouses were the nicest I've seen in any state park and they even have a laundry facility. The on site aquarium is quite a treat and well worth a visit. We booked snorkeling tours with an outside company called Reef Runners, inexpensive and top notch staff! Thank you FL state parks for allowing us to enjoy this beautiful piece of the Florida Keys!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gypsykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had looked forward to our camping trip to John Pennekamp in Key Largo for over a year and had planned to stay four nights. We set up camp on a site which has a stream behind it. At first I thought this would be a plus but it was NOT. Apparently the stream contains sewer water, or at least gray water, and the smell was horrible. It kept getting worse as the campground filled up with more people, to the point that we left on the third morning of our stay. It was intolerable and was obviously unhealthy. An even worse problem were the "no-see-um" mosquitoes. We could not be outside our camper without them covering us with painful bites. Apparently they like the smell of insect repellent. The night before we left I was awake all night due to the itching and discomfort of at least sixty bites. I understand that when you go camping, it is natural to encounter pests; after all, it is their terrain. However, other places we've visited sprayed for mosquitoes since they are such a health hazard. I was extremely disappointed because the park is known for snorkeling and has a lovely view of Largo Bay. Other than the problems mentioned above, the park is well maintained. Nice bathhouses and ample parking. The campsites are large with a picnic table. There was no wifi and no television hookup. The smell and the mosquitoes were a deal-breaker for us so we returned home. The staff were nice as we left and gave us a refund for our remaining nights for which we had paid. I can't recommend a campground or state park which smells like rancid sewer water.

Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint James City, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I and our 5 cats arrived towing a 34 ft. 5th wheel on Sept. 28th to celebrate my Oct 3rd birthday! I had read the reviews and some of them were not very good! Well I am here to say they were way off! Our site #24 was clean and came with ample room for our awning and chairs! Complete with a picnic table with tiki roof! Also the campground guests were appropriately quiet every evening. The roads were recently paved. The beach was beautiful and had ample shade and benches. Yes the beach is coral! Do your homework people! The Keys are all coral! Go to the Bahamas if you want sand beaches! The swimming area is very natural and yes you need water shoes! People were all out practicing snorkeling and enjoying the natural beauty around us. Yes at one point there were mangrove pods floating in the water, not a problem! The 30,000 gallon aquarium is awesome! In the next room is a theater with all the underwater scuba/snorkeling film you could ever watch! The concession store next door was filled with great gifts and friendly people to help you get tickets to paradise! If I was going to complain about anything it is that a traffic light for the entrance to the campground would be beneficial especially in the winter months!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilze, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Although nature is just great around the Keys, ocean life was a bit disappointing. Especially when you visited the blue hole is Dahab... But we had a great time, nice captain on our boat.. Just another lovely day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniquekruiningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,493 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Amoray Dive Resort
Amoray Dive Resort
#3 of 17 in Key Largo
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds

Property: John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds
Address: 102601 Rte 1, Key Largo, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds Hotel Key Largo
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing