We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate- very rude ladies at check in...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate- very rude ladies at check in...”
Reviewed 3 May 2009

My husband signed up for the MS 150 miles bike ride from Miami to Key Largo. This hotel was listed on the MS bike ride's website as a preferred hotel. Its not a hotel but individually owned units. We arrived around 130 pm and was told that our room would not be ready until 4pm. I asked the lady if any thing could be done as my husband bike 75 miles from Miami and is tired and would like to take a shower. She very rudely replied that check in is at 4pm and that was it.

Other people were able to get their rooms but our room was not avaible until after 3pm. If this hotel is one of the preferred hotels for this race, I wondered why they could not appoint more staff to get the rooms ready for 1 pm since they know riders from the race would be staying there and coming in around that time.

I was not the only person that complained. The three ladies working there are not very friendly and not at all helpful.

As for the room, it was ok. I stayed in a one bedroom townhome. The bathtub did not drain properly, the bed was not very comfortable, it creaked with every turn I made. There were blowed light blubs. I am a very easy going traveler but i thought for the costs it was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    101
    45
    37
    44
See reviews for
203
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My girlfriend and I booked 10 days at the Mariners for her 30th birthday after an aborted holiday booking to Thailand due to civil riots… but that’s another story. We go by the reviews of the travellers a lot on Tripadvisor which is largely why we ended up at the Mariners.

Firstly the grounds around the accommodation are really beautiful, the two pools are fantastic the business center with free access to the internet is great. The fitness center is well equipped and the Mariner and small lookout pier are both really nice features.

The whole place is marketed as a ‘resort’ but its not really. There is no real on site restaurant facilities or bar so really it’s more like self-catering plus amenities. The Mandolin restaurant next door is accessible via a gate from the mariner, but this was locked the first night we went, meaning we had to walk along the road, which we felt was a little dangerous (especially if you have small children). The restaurant is OK, some of the staff were a bit rude, the food is a bit hit and miss to be honest, but the atmosphere was good and there was live music.

Our condo/apartment was part of a three story town house and our 1 bed apartment was on the ground floor. The top two floors were self contained and there was a family staying above. The entrances to the two apartments were next to each other and there was an adjoining door internally so that our apartments could be combined into one larger apartment (hope that makes sense!).

Anyway, we were really pleased upon entering our apartment. It was well appointed, nice big bathroom with shower over bath. Kitchen with hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dinning area, large lounge with TV and very large bedroom with TV. The whole place was reasonably clean and tidy with nice big windows in the bedroom, unfortunately the balcony outside the bedroom was unusable as there was no furniture, it was too small and next to the air con units… not that it mattered with the great swimming pool!

This is where things went down hill on our stay. We were there for 10days and not once was our apartment serviced. We had our own towels anyway so it wasn’t so much of a problem, just a bit much considering how much it cost us to stay there. We would have expected for our bathroom to be cleaned and a change of bed linen at least!!

Secondly, the noise from the family was unbelievable. They had a ‘hangbag’ pouch that seems so popular in Florida and the thing barked at every opportunity (I am sure that pets are not allowed?). The family would go out some evenings and leave it whining and barking at their door, which was right next to our adjoining door…. So basically it was like having it in our lounge.

You could hear every single foot fall from upstairs to the point that I was convinced the whole family must have been wearing clogs. Most days at 6am they would start to play shuffleboard with the furniture, grinding their chairs across the floors all the time dancing around in their clogs on the staircase and floors. This went on sometimes until 1am in the morning. It got to the point where we would turn the TV up to drown them out or move into the bedroom for some peace.

We would have asked to be moved but at the start of the week they were very quiet and they just seemed to increase in volume during our stay to the point where we couldn’t be hassled with moving.

The final thing to mention was our bed was so soft that it gave both me and my girlfriend back ache and it was so rickety and creaky that whenever I even breathed it would creak and wake my girlfriend up.

Maybe we were just unlucky with our apartment, I would honestly say that by the end of the week we felt a bit cheated considering the overall cost. If the place wasn’t so noisy then I would have marked the it a lot higher.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frazbobsquarepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

With two couples and a teenager to please, villas and condo rentals seemed preferable to hotels. we stayed here a few days before going up to Kissimmee for the theme parks, but I wish we'd had time to stay longer. The town house we rented was spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and with a beautiful view over the pool and out to the ocean. The whole site was impeccably maintained and attractive. This was the perfect start to our vacation and set the tone for the whole trip - relaxed, luxurious and fun.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We had a 2 bed suite for 2 nights at the end of our holiday. It was a lovely setting, great pool and very quiet. They were well kitted out and spacious with quite a few amenities.However, it was VERY expensive, we enjoyed it here but will never stay again, it was too pricey for us. The final straw really was when I asked if we could have our suite for an extra hour or two they refused even though they weren't busy and there were many empty suites, this seemed very mean to me as does an 11am check out and a 4pm check in. They then said can we have our resort fee please?!!! Obviously they have a nerve!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taliababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2009

After a hectic winter season, my wife and teenage son (and his teenage friend) were seeking a warm location for relaxation and fun for spring break. We were not interested in a "Spring Break" locale that included noise, traffic and crowds. After searching the Web, we found Mariner's Resort in Key Largo.

Mariner's is exactly what we wanted in terms of a place to accomplish our objectives - rest, relaxation and recharge. Our son and his teenage friend rented jet ski's next door on two different occasions. The staff at the rental was very helpful and friendly, and they also were very strict on following the safety rules which we liked.

Our condo was quite large, very clean and opulent. It actually could be the nicest condo we've ever rented! Upgraded appliances and furniture made the condo feel very upscale.

Call Mariner's direct for potentially the best deal. I felt we received a great deal from Travelocity but once we arrived the reservations desk was quoting lower prices based upon current demand. It's a tough recession, so prices change daily folks.

I will go to Mariner's again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECUKappaSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORAL GABLES, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Me and my husband spent the weekend at the mariner's resort , and we love it , awesone pool, but the customer service it really bad and one the office staff some one but the name Fatima Da silva was very rude with us ! but other than that it was really nice place to stay! maybe you will have a better luck !!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IARTURO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

This location represented very poor value for money. If it was positioned as a 2/3 star venue then it would have been very good. The pool area in particular was poorly maintained with loungers that were very dated. Our room was like a connverted garage with no outlook or light. The aircon system in our bedroom sounded as if a chainsaw was running. Perhaps our expectations were too high based on the reviews we had read on this site

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.2 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
584 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina

Property: Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina
Address: 97501 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-4012 (Formerly Mariner's Club Key Largo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina is a gated oceanfront resort featuring luxurious villas that surround a stunning marina with direct access to the Atlantic Ocean. The Resort offers 2 swimming pools, resort activities, tennis courts, a calming Jacuzzi grotto and Adventure Concierge to arrange activities including diving, boating and. Mandalay Bay Restaurant offers extraordinary dining on local, fresh cuisine. Enjoy a vacation experience as unique and relaxing as the resort's island location. Relax and Enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariner`s Resort Villas & Marina Hotel Key Largo
Mariner`s Resort Villas And Marina
Mariners Hotel Key Largo
Mariners Club Key Largo
Mariners Hotel Marina
Mariner's Resort Villas & Marina Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing