We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pelican
Ranked #5 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Love , Love, Love this place! Once on the property you would think that you were on a deserted island! The property is clean and well taken care of. We stayed in the banana room and it was wonderful. It was clean, freshly painted and simple. I cant say enough about this place. The water front is so pretty with a big hammock and cahirs for lounging.The common areas were covered by huge Tiki Huts that were just beautiful. Around the property there was lounge furniture, tables and chairs and even a lg TV outside.IDid I say that I just love this place? This is what I imagined the Keys to be like.I will be back to the Pelican again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

As other people have said, yes the room was small and out dated but, there was a table and chairs outside on the porch. Right across from us was a huge thatched hut with many tables and chairs for relaxing. The rooms are very clean and the staff was outstanding. The breakfast room had many self serve items that were always fully stocked and fresh. Sunset on the dock was very nice. In the morning there were people doing yoga on the dock. If you want lots of noise and a big room go somewhere else, if you want to relax before and after your days in the Keys the pelican is where I will go back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We loved our tiny cottage, the Banana. Very clean. Looked brand-new inside. The bathroom was sparkling and spotless as if the remodelers had just left. A relaxing place with plenty of outdoor seating to just soak up the warmth and ambience of Key Largo.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MechbgPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This motel like most places on the Keys is near the road, they have done a lot of work on the outside spaces and these are great with free good wifi and free help yourself perfectly adequate continental type breakfast with fresh coffee. The chalet type rooms we saw need work for not much money spent on them and with a bit of thought could be a lot better, the ones near the road need attention paid to sound proofing. The beds creaked terribly but overall the place had a nice ambiance and left you with a good feeling. The price includes free cycle hire and free kayak hire. Plenty of eating and entertainment within walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the road. We got the last two rooms so book early to get the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metalworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Location is great and the sunsets spectacular. Unfortunately it was windy and cold when we were there so we could not really enjoy the water front. But that is not the fault of the motel. Cost reasonable for the area but not really cheap. And the room was SMALL. we were in Flamingo room. Barely enough room to turn around- my husband and I had to plan our moves. Good albeit small shower but the toilet was prone to making horrendous noises though the night. My husband fixed it a coup,e of times but tough to do such things at 4 am. We had a nice protected outdoor sitting area that somewhat counteracted the small interior. Breakfast was included from 730 am but 2 of our 3 mornings the breakfast did not open until much later. This is tough for divers who need to be at the boat on time. Even 730 is late for starting breakfast for a place that wants to attract divers but to not even be open at 730 is not acceptable. We may be looking for other places next time.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank happytoretire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel is located just off the Overseas Highway, but once stepped into the property, it's very quiet and peaceful. Several cottages were placed along the little path that connects the highway and the ocean, and at the end there is a small beach with lounge chairs and beach umbrellas for guests.

We arrived a little bit early for the hotel's check-in time, so we waited at the beach till our room was ready. It was mid-afternoon in August and there were no other guests on the beach, which was nice. (Note: "beach" is a bit of an overstatement here, it's a small area facing the ocean with a deck.) Later on, we took a hotel kayak that you can rent free of charge (huge bonus!) into the ocean - it was great.

We stayed in Starburst room which was the first cottage as you enter from the highway. The room was small and outdated. The mattress was springy and uncomfortable. Ventilation in the bathroom was not effective, and the room felt dump. The noise from the highway didn't bother us, but the rattling sound of the old air-conditioning unit did.

The breakfast was included in the price. They had a variety of packaged pastries and stale cereals, and coffee was from a machine (not a fancy espresso machine, it's the kind you may see in cafeterias or gas stations). We decided to eat breakfast somewhere else on the way to Key West.

We only stayed here for one night, and we thought the place was acceptable. I feel the price was not cheap considering the facility conditions and services, but it was one of the most affordable options in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This place is charming and is very inexpensive. Although the pelican is right off the highway, it is very peaceful down by the dock. I stayed in the Gator room, which was quiet and clean. It was a little on the small side, and I could see a large person being uncomfortable in the small shower. I will probably stay here again, but next time would book a waterfront suite. The breakfast was not really worthwhile, I'd recommend making other plans. Mrs. Macs is a great restaurant next door to the pelican.

Room Tip: I didn't notice road noise in the gator room, but still you may want to choose a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voytko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

We appreciate your feedback!! You would definitely enjoy a larger room on the waterfront with views of the Bay (and sunsets) and hope you come back soon again. Mrs Macs is definitely a great breakfast spot along with other numerous waterfront places. Our continental breakfast is really just a "grab and go" setup but includes fruit and waffles on more relaxed weekends. Thank you so much for your input!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £97 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo
The Pelican Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing