We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Palm Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pelican
Ranked #7 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Palm Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Check in was smooth and friendly. In fact, everyone working there was friendly and very helpful. It's an older place, but that's part of its charm. Free use of dock, hammock, kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Nice, relaxing stay. Walking distance to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldywoman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    198
    89
    38
    49
See reviews for
122
260
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
437 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Pelican was pretty nice and a great value. The room we rented (Sunburst) was small, but clean and very cute. The grounds were well-manicured, and the place had an overall cozy, calm feel to it. We were a bit disappointed by the "beach," which wasn't much of a beach at all. It was still a relaxing atmosphere, but it didn't live up to the picture I had painted in my mind. There are a couple piers, each of which have some nice chaise lounges, where you can sit and watch the boats or the sunset, if you're lucky enough to get one. If you are looking to have fun in the water, bring your own pool toys - floats, or whatever. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay; if we ever go back, we'll know to bring some of our own fun along with us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chester110105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have stayed here before but unfortunately discovered termites, as a Florida home owner i understand wood floors or wood ceilings its just one of those things and no fault of the property owner, but as soon as we reported it to staff at 1am they had us in another hotel within minutes, and lets just say they satisfied us financially so we were not out of pocket, they were more than fair, thats why we came back, and further more i have recommended to friends who are getting married here in July.
Very clean, very friendly.
I will be back in July too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanpro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Pelican for two nights during the Bogart Film Festival. The room is on the small side, but everything we could ever want in a small cottage setting. The dock is great, with chairs, kayaks and a canoe. The continental breakfast was nice, and enjoyed outside. It was just so picturesque when we turned off the highway and down the drive-way. The sunsets are awesome. If I make it back down to the Keys, I will be back to the Pelican. nice for the price, and convenient to everything.

Room Tip: pay for the larger room, near the water. well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maye19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

On our way into the Keys, we stopped at the Key Largo Tourist Information Center, mainly to collect literature for a future visit. On impulse, we decided to spend the night, and were rewarded with this piece of the past on the shores of Biscayne Bay. The cottage rooms are as basic as you can get and the bathroom provided the necessities, which for us, was all we needed since we didn't stay there for luxurious accommodations. Good mattresses and very clean room met our needs nicely. A casual, carefree resort atmosphere was what we wanted, and we weren't disappointed. Kayaks, canoes, grills, a boat ramp and docks are available to guests. The large thatched hut type gazebo was a great place to enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast or watch the outdoor TV in the evening, only after the sunset over the bay. No need to experience it at Key West - it's here too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We appreciate your positive input and recognition of our staff's efforts to make your stay enjoyable. Please come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We rented out most of the rooms at The Pelican for three days for our wedding and it was gorgeous there! The atmosphere, rooms, and scenery were a vision of paradise. Rain or shine, the area was beautiful and our wedding was one for the books! Thank you so much for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Go with the larger rooms as they offer a view of the ocean and definitely worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stayfrosty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
We always enjoy having weddings on the property and are appreciative of your kind words. Hopefully we have posted one of your wedding pictures on our website to share. We hope to see you soon again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

we stayed here two day,s and was quite surprised how nice and comfy it was. bathroom,s are a little small but everything is nice and clean. they offer kayakes, canoe, fishing poles, lounge chairs, and a nice hammock all included in the overall price. nice little continental breakfast in the a.m. we would go back again.

Room Tip: they have bigger rooms right at the water,s edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edhosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Property: The Pelican
Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo
The Pelican Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing