We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect simplicity”
Review of The Pelican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pelican
Ranked #5 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What a lovely surprise! Conveniently located near the start of the Keys (which means a shorter drive from Miami International or, in my case, a 5 minute walk from the Greyhound station), The Pelican nonetheless offers the sought-after seclusion and charm Key Largo promises.

Tucked away from the road, the private dockside allows guests to relax on lounging chairs, a hammock or at a shaded table. While the 'beach' is very small (I'm not even sure it qualifies...) this is a common feature in Key Largo, and I found that there was more than enough space to unwind while also being able to swim. Kayaks are also provided for guests' use.

The rooms and facilities are basic, but offer everything you need and are spotlessly clean. I stayed in the Pisces room, which is small but comfortable. It also came with a microwave, bar fridge, television (with a wide selection of channels), wifi and super efficient aircon!

The staff are friendly and helpful, ready to assist with any query. The continental breakfast (a selection of three cereals, toast and pre-packaged pastries) was a welcome bonus.

As I did not have a rental car (which makes life a little difficult in the Keys!) I was happy to discover a CVS pharmacy, Starbucks, Subway, Burger King and several dive operators within easy walking distance. For a more authentic experience, Snooks, The Bayside Grill & Mrs Mack's Kitchen are also at close range.

While by no means the lap of luxury, The Pelican is perfect for anyone looking for good value for money and a low-key, relaxing stay in Key Largo. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyVCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

Was looking for a nice, laid-back place to stay during my visit on Key Largo to scuba dive at the nearby Horizon Divers and this was perfect. Quiet and a place to relax, good shower to rinse off scuba gear after a dive and nice outdoor lounge and room to make coffee and a light breakfast. I stayed at the cottage Egret, which was very handy as could back my vehicle almost right up to the door and unload/load the heavy dive bag and gear. Will definitely stay there next time I visit Key Largo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed in the Pineapple room. Small, but clean and comfortable. We were only staying here one night before moving on the Key West. We wish we had booked an extra night or stopped on our way out of the keys on our way home. Really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff and the island atmosphere. Great restaurant right next door where we enjoyed an awesome meal with reasonable prices. For people looking for a resort environment, this is not the place - no frills. But for people looking for a great place to chill and enjoy the local atmosphere, this is the place to be and the price is right!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keywesters, General Manager at The Pelican, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

We appreciate your kind feedback and are happy you were able to enjoy Mrs Mac's next door plus the waterfront. The Pineapple connects to the Bird of Paradise to make a comfortable housekeeping suite. We hope to see you sometime soon again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the Pelican earlier this month. I was there to do some diving with some friends but found the time to enjoy their free kayak rentals and even did a little bit of pier fishing. We loved the waterfront cottage (the Dolphin suite) and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay at the Pelican again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gh0sthunt3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Check in was smooth and friendly. In fact, everyone working there was friendly and very helpful. It's an older place, but that's part of its charm. Free use of dock, hammock, kayaks, canoes and bicycles. Nice, relaxing stay. Walking distance to many restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldywoman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Pelican was pretty nice and a great value. The room we rented (Sunburst) was small, but clean and very cute. The grounds were well-manicured, and the place had an overall cozy, calm feel to it. We were a bit disappointed by the "beach," which wasn't much of a beach at all. It was still a relaxing atmosphere, but it didn't live up to the picture I had painted in my mind. There are a couple piers, each of which have some nice chaise lounges, where you can sit and watch the boats or the sunset, if you're lucky enough to get one. If you are looking to have fun in the water, bring your own pool toys - floats, or whatever. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay; if we ever go back, we'll know to bring some of our own fun along with us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chester110105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have stayed here before but unfortunately discovered termites, as a Florida home owner i understand wood floors or wood ceilings its just one of those things and no fault of the property owner, but as soon as we reported it to staff at 1am they had us in another hotel within minutes, and lets just say they satisfied us financially so we were not out of pocket, they were more than fair, thats why we came back, and further more i have recommended to friends who are getting married here in July.
Very clean, very friendly.
I will be back in July too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanpro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0 mi away
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
Sunset Cove Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Key Largo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican

Address: 99340 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 99.3, Key Largo, FL 33037-2435 (Formerly Hungry Pelican Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: £90 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Pelican 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 32 of The Pelican's clean and quiet cottage rooms offer different options for relaxing and enjoying all that the Florida Keys has to offer. From experiencing the unique, laid-back bayfront atmosphere, to trying your hand at world-class sportfishing, diving and snorkeling , you are sure to find an activity that suits your tastes. And if that sounds too active, head to our small bayfront beach, where you can enjoy glorious sunsets, gentle breezes, a nap in a hammock or watch manatees and dolphins play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hungry Pelican Hotel Key Largo
Hungry Pelican Key Largo
The Pelican Key Largo, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing